We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

You could not find a better hotel to stay for a Romantic Weekend. The hotels rooms are very comfortable, clean and beautifully furnished. You every needs can be catered for you only have to ask the girls on Reception and they will try to do it for you .
I can,t praise this beautiful old hotel highly enough.
Keep up the very good work

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labaker-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you are looking for a typically British hotel with bags of character then here it is. The staff are so welcoming and helpful. We ate in the brasserie on two consecutive evenings and we were both delighted with the food. A special mention must go to the breakfasts on offer. The eggs benedict is fantastic, as is the smoked salmon choice. We chose a superior room for our three night stay which was perfect, though it has to be said the bathroom size was slightly disappointing. For anyone not familiar with the Cotswolds please do not miss a visit to Burford and also the village of Broadway which is stunning.
We cannot wait to revisit both the area and more so Manor House.
Thanks for an excellent stay. 10/10

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

stayed here for a few days break for my birthday. It is nicely decorated with two open fires one in the lounge one in the library. Room was small but with everything required. All the staff in the hotel are accomodating & friendly. Breakfast was good with a fair selection of choices. Drinks in the bar a little over the odds (over £7 for a large glass of wine). Only a couple of minor points stopped this from being an excellent stay; the hotel welcomes dogs but its a little disappointing on arrival to be told the dogs arent allowed in the bar area. Also the shower isnt very powerful & the bathroom is very small (although does contain nice toiletries). the stand outs are the service & the welcome you get. The area is a lovely village, further enhanced by a little snow during our stay. Overall we were happy & would recommend others to stay here, however would say that £100 per night a little bit on the high side when staying in a smaller room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for my wife's birthday, having had a simply excellent bar meal previously when passing through. The hotel was very nice with a good ambiance and nice furnishings, surroundings etc.,
The staff were invariably polite and attentive, and the food was excellent too (We ate in the reasonably-priced Basserie rather than the £40 a head restaurant). Breakfast was also good, with a good choice, and small, but adequate buffet.
Like other reviewers, though, we were disappointed a little by the room. It was clean and very nicely-decorated, and everything worked (if I was being churlish, the water was literally blistering-hot, but that's easy to accommodate.)
What we couldn't really relax with was the size of the room. Being in the roof, it had a 45degree slope on the ceiling which literally cut the room in half, and it was impossible to stand by the side of the bed. Despite the "mind your head" sign, I rapped my head on the beams at least three times before aversion-therapy set in. On the other side of the bed was the wardrobe, so between this and the sloping ceiling, I reckon the room had an effective width of seven or eight feet. It was just too claustrophobic.
I hear the management's comments about the quirky, old building, but at £100 on offer for bed and breakfast, this is not a cheap hotel, and the room was not consistent with the price. The last 4-start hotel I stayed in in Cheshire gave me a suite for the same price, and threw in a bottle of wine. I think that if rooms have restrictions, they should either be publicised at the tIme of booking or discounted, not explained-away afterwards. It was the feeling that we'd been allocated an inferior room at regular price that was most irritating.
Having said all that, the hotel has an awful lot to commend it, and I would say don't let this review put you off staying, just be aware of the room you're booking. To the management, I'd say well done for your reasoned replies to some over-harsh reviews, but I think you need to be a bit more upfront at the time of booking, or offer a reduction on what really isn't an acceptable size for the prices you charge.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tommyt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in the Manor House December 2012 for the Christmas package. We arrived Christmas Eve in the afternoon. All the staff were amazing we received the warmest of welcomes from the minute we arrived. The reception staff were very courtious and knowledgeable the check in was fast and your cases were carried up to your room. The room was compact but very well decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was modern with Molton Brown shower gels and creams for your use during your stay. They had very good tea/coffee making facilities. I can only drink de-caffineated coffee and that was bought up to the room every night. The food was excellent and very varied. They had a good stocked bar with delicious cocktails. The bar and restaurant manager I think his name is Chris was outstanding nothing was to much trouble, as were all the staff, they made you feel so welcome. The package was very well thought out the only thing was the Christmas Day lunch could, for me, been a little more traditional. on boxing day there was a dinner and dance! The food again was excellent. It was a black tie do, and every one got dressed up, the evening after dinner was very disappointing the group and singer were quite awful there was no variation in the songs at all. We were both looking forward to dancing the night away! Alot of people went to bed, us included. All in all the stay was very good the staff , food, room and hotel were excellent. We love the Cotswolds and have stayed in the Coswold group of hotels on a few occasions and we would recommend The Manor House to anyone. If we stay again at Christmas perhaps they could change the group!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here the weekend when it was really bad weather. After a nightmare journey incountering blizzard conditions, we finally arrived and it was the perfect place to spend a snowy day infront of a roaring fire! Reception were very welcoming, we had a standard room that was ok but the decor was a bit dated and the bathroom nothing special. Although the full size Molton Brown toiletries were a real treat. The room was very clean and cosy.
The public areas in the hotel are lovely and we spent a lot of time infront of the fire and the bar sampling the great wine available.
We had dinner here in the evening, the set menu. Food was good but not amazing. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice.
All in all we had a great overnight stay and experienced great service from all the staff.
We will definitely choose one of the Cotswolds inns again when we're are next in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We wanted a weekend away from London with easy train access and this was perfect. We did the two nights for one deal which made it more affordable as a little more expensive than what we'd usually spend. The Hotel is beautiful, an old coaching inn so some fairly low ceilings for those tall people and the lounges with open fires were a great way to spend some time. They do a great afternoon tea and the breakfast in the conservatory is very good. We had dinner one evening in the restaurant and did the tasting menu which was just as good as those we've had in London - the cheese course is fabulous and was very well explained - service was spot-on throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, a junior suite, which had a seperate sitting room and coffee making facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,171 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,064 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: $161 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing