We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
rotherham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is by far the best we have ever stayed in. The service from all members of staff is next to none and nothing is too much trouble for them. We booked a 2 for 1 night special which included the evening meal on the first night. The food was amazing and the staff knew every ingredient which was explained when they brought each course. The staff on the reception where lovely and we were showed to our room by Emma who was lovely. The room was very nice we stayed in the Superior Double Room 4 we had a lovely en- suite bathroom with lovely toiletries The breakfast is very nice with lots of choice from buffet breakfast to start then full cooked english, kippers, eggs benedict and many others to choose from. The break was so good we are going to return in October for another long break.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutttifrutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    283
    81
    38
    19
See reviews for
139
628
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed for four nights on business. The room I was given did not have sufficiently well placed sockets for working at a computer - I mentioned this and another room was found immediately. The staff here are really excellent both in reception and in the dining room and the food is good too - especially breakfast. The room I had was quite small but well appointed. I was at the top and it took a very long time for the water to run hot. The weather was at its winter worst with deep snow and the log fires were very welcoming. I wish I had been there for pleasure rather than work!

Room Tip: New extension rooms have a lift. My colleagues in 18 and 19 found them noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during the bad weather. We booked the overnight stay plus the 8 course tasting menu. As the weather was so bad we tried to re-arrange the booking which was rudely declined twice. I cannot understand while a hotel with such a good reputation cannot accommodate a simple date changed. We had to travel 3½hrs to get to this hotel. On arrival the reception was very warm & friendly but the damage had been done. We decided to visit the other hotels in the area & spend our money there. So not only will we not be returning but we spent our monies in the other (& better) hotels in the areas. There is a reason why this hotel is bottom of the pile & with attitudes like this it will stay there.
Regarding the food..over priced…bland…..but service was lovely…

Very disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iveco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that your initial contact before arriving at the hotel detracted from your stay so much and clearly has left a bitter taste.

As you would expect, we are more than flexible regarding moving reservations due to adverse weather conditions however we are only able to do this when those adverse weather conditions have actually arrived. Unfortunately, we are not in a position to be able to offer refunds or transfer reservations on the basis of a weather forecast and if we did, our understanding would soon be taken advantage by those wanting to cancel without a valid reason.

I was also sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy the food and would be delighted to discuss this in detail given the opportunity however I suspect that in a situation like this, we were always going to struggle recovering when as you say, 'the damage had been done.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent one night at The Manor during which our party tried almost every cocktail and every one was delicious and beautifully presented. In the evening we had the tasting menu which was fantastic and excellent value. The service was faultless and everyone from reception to the bar to the restaurant staff saw to our every need. I have stayed at a lot of places and eaten in many restaurants and I considered it 5 star service.

The rooms were small but lovely with everything you could want. The hotel had a lovely courtyard and lawn although we couldn't see it as it was covered in snow which made it look even more fairytale like.

The breakfast was first class and the brilliant service continued to the point you left. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to relax in a quiet environment and be waited on hand and foot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Befan Orks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The building is lovely and we had the cottage in the grounds which was very nice but the heating could not be controlled so it was far too hot and therefore it was very difficult to sleep. And the television in the bedroom bizarely had to be controlled from the bathroom!
The staff were very nice and helpful but all very young and lacked gravitas.
The big disappointment was the food. The Mulberry restaurant menu was pretentious but the food didn't live up to the pretence. The brasserie menu was more realistic but while some dishes were OK a lot of it was just not good enough e.g. fish which was cold and in soggy batter and chips which were virtually inedible two nights in a row.
So overall while it has a lot going for it we would not return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of The Manor House and its surroundings.

The heating in the Apple Cottage is very similar to a domestic heating system and works on a variable thermostat that can be controlled by the guest. This should have been explained to you when you were shown to your room and apologies if it wasnt.

The Sky tv system is linked so that it plays in lounge, master bedroom and bathroom however it can be individually controlled in all areas for your comfort.

Clearly the most dissapointing thing about reading your review is the fact that we didnt get the food offering quite right for you during your stay with us. It is true that The Mulberry offers guests a slightly more formal setting in which to enjoy their evening while the Beage Brasserie serves more traditional dishes such as steaks, pies and fish and chips.

Please rest assured that while it is difficult for me to invesitage your comments with any accuracy, your feedback has been taken on board and put to the team.

We hope that the beautiful surroundings may just entice you back so that we can prove to you the levels of service and food that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Arrived early for lunch and spent a lovely hour with newspapers, roaring fire and coffee. Lunch itself was delicious - well presented, just the right size portions and lovely flavours. Can't comment on accommodation as we were only visiting for lunch.

Room Tip: Didn't stay - only visited for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just passing by this Hotel which looks charming from road around 2pm.
Thought we would have a spot of lunch and we were not disappointed.
Were sat in the Conservatory area, which was very cosy, bright and great decor, as well as charming staff.
Set lunch for around 14 to 16 pounds,which was a bargain for beautifully cooked food, which was freshly cooked and nice and hot.
Desert was sublime, dark chocolate homemade torte/cake with ice cream !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,095 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
999 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing