We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“feels like home”

Chastleton House and Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Completed in 1612, this is one of the finest and most complete Jacobean houses in England, with scenic gardens and a topiary that are truly Jacobean and Elizabethan in style.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“feels like home”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Was left as the last owner had left it ,it did fell like an family home

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank garyold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    161
    21
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely old house in beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Well worth a visit to see this lovely old house and garden. Unlike any other National Trust property we have visited - really interesting and unchanged for generations. Limited opening times so need to check first. Nice walk through the fields from carpark to the house. We were lucky it was a beautiful day - took a picnic.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank June-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unusual and thought provoking NT property”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Essential structural work aside, it seems the National Trust has left this property much as it found it, and rightly so. Though built in the 17th century the design (if it can be called that) harked back to the middle ages, so it must have been an uncomfortably primitive place to live, especially for its last incumbent who, hard to believe, was still struggling on there in the 1950's. The top floor is an astonishing surprise.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very scruffy and not like most National Trust properties.”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It was extremely dusty and scruffy. I know it was old and that a fortune would need to be spent on it, but !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely house”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visited Chastleton as no. 3 National Trust property in a day, and shot in at 3.50pm (last admission was 4!). We did have time to see all over the property and really enjoyed it - it's a beautiful house and there were plenty of guides around with information and some conservation work in action to see. It was raining so we didn't bother with the garden. As there's no tea room we also enjoyed a cup of tea and fantastic cake at the little church by the entrance, which was raising money for the local primary school - nice to see the local community getting some benefit from the house too.

Our only gripe was that we waited to buy a guidebook until the end of our visit (we only buy one when we know we liked the house and want to find out more about it), but the ticket office had shut and cashed up so they couldn't sell us one! The same with the plant stall. Surely if a property shuts at 5pm (even if last admission is 4) the shop part should stay open until then too? Had to order the guidebook off Amazon in the end.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisydaisydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chastleton House and Garden also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Stourton, Shipston on Stour
 

Been to Chastleton House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing