We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Delightful"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moreton-in-Marsh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Railway Cottages and Apartments
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Railway Cottages are a little Gem,easy access by road or rail.We stayed in"The Gallery" for three nights.The weather was dreadful so we did spend quite sometime in the Cottage.There are a couple of things that could be improved.The Lounge suite is not so comfy and with four adults was inadequate.Also the glass table was a concern as we had a four year old child with us. a larger screen TV would improve viewing on those not so good weather days.Apart from this everywhere was spotless and the Shower is really something to enjoy. The Cottages are located just off Moreton High Street, and there are plenty of eateries and pubs, also supermarkets.Do try the local Cheese from the Cheese Shop.Superb! Emma is there and always pleased to advise and help should the occasion arise.

Room Tip: "The Gallery" has an attic single room, access via a steep safe staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffsLass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I took our 4 month old child baby D for a nice long weekend and we were not disappointed.nthe venue was amazing, a real home from home, the bath and shower blew us away, Daniel loved the bath....! Great base to travel round the local area but also nice to sit in and just listen to the birds..... Looking forward to going back with other members of the family and having another great stay..! The welcome hamper was a nice touch....!

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

A large party of us occupied all of the cottages for 2 nights in March and all of us left impressed. All the cottages were clean and bright and certainly well equipped for any length of stay. We found the fridges and cupboards stocked with the basics which was great when you arrived and needed a good cup of tea. The selection of well stocked bookcases meant that i will have to go back and finish the book that i began reading. The town has a veriety of historic and eating establishments well worth a look at, and you can even hire bikes from just over the road. Many thanks Emma and family you have an excellent business with many years of us visiting.
The only point that i should make though is if you are in the minstrels fabulous suite then make sure your windows are shut in the morning as the local post office staff arriving at 5.30 in the morning make a terrible din!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186424Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 2 days at Railway Cottages (Cottage 1) in January. What a fantastic place we didn't want to leave!! The cottage is beautifuly decorated and clean. The steam shower and spa bath are great to unwind in. Emma was brilliant, friendly warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The location is great with pubs, shops and resturants all within walking distance. Idea for walks in the lovely countryside or just putting your feet up if you are feeling less energetic. A perfect start to the new year. Would not hesitate to recommend Railway Cottages to anyone. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed three nights in Cottage 1 and the only thing I hated was leaving! The Railway Cottages are modern yet retain the area's unique style and history. Emma was the perfect hostess, even machine dried our clothes (there is a washing machine and clothes rack for drying in cottage however).

Everything else is at your door step (except noise). We arrived & departed by train and used the local buses to go Stow/Bourton-on-the-Water one day, and Stratford-Upon-Avon the next. The travel information office was right around the corner and gave us the current schedules of the buses. We arrived on Tues and spent time at the weekly farmers market (and pub). The buses do not run a good (any?) service on Sunday so that would be the only thing to watch. Also, the early morning and late afternoon buses have lots of (well-dressed and polite) school kids

If you want to see some of the Cotswolds and don't want to drive/hike it CAN be done! Staying at the beautiful, comfortable, convenient Railway Cottages in Moreton-in-Marsh was a fantastic choice for us!

Room Tip: Cottage One
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeidiTitusville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent 4 days at the Railway Cottages (we had the Gallery apartment) - 2 adults 2 kids. The apartment is very pleasent, clean and spacious, with every thing one may need for such a vacation. Emma was very hefpfull and welcoming. The location is great, esp. for people traveling without a car - we had lovely walks around Moreton (to Bourton on the Hill) - took a short bust drive to Bourton on the water, and from there walked to Lower and Uper Slaughter, and spent a day at Oxford.
We would love to come back !(maybe without the kids next time...)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoazH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is an old pub converted into a few different apartment accommodations. We hired two of the options. Very modern, no expense spared in the decoration, free computer and internet, garden, parking right in the middle of Moreton in Marsh - easy to explore all the surrounding villages. Great welcome basket with eggs, bread, biscuits, tea and coffee etc and a very clean cosy environment. The only thing we mentioned to the owner was that in most of the rooms were white blinds which didn't keep out the light and the room became very hot in the morning, but they have that on their list to do. Would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the centre of the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: There is a great description of all the room types on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suitcasedwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#6 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Cottages and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Cottages and Apartments

Address: New Road, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: $145 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 charming cottages and apartments sleeping from one to eight people. All in the centre of Moreton in marsh - the Cotwsolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Cottages And Apartments Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing