We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in Moreton-In-Marsh”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moreton-in-Marsh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acacia Bed & Breakfast
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in Moreton-In-Marsh”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this B&B as we was attending a wedding down the road at the Manor House Hotel. This B&B is situated just off the high street near the train station.

Check-In, Simple and straightforward. Dorothy called us to tell us where the keys were and we let ourselves in.

Room, We had room 1 which was a twin en-suite. Perfect-ample room which did its job for a night which was clean and well presented. There was tea/coffee if you desired it.

Breakfast, We had a lady (sorry we did not catch your name!) serving us who is Dorothy's house-sitter when she is away. She did us both a splendid English breakfast with plenty of tea and toast to set you up for the day. I would say this is probably one of the best breakfast's we have had in a B&B with plenty to eat!

Overall, For a reasonable stay in Moreton-In-Marsh, you can not beat Acacia. The only downside is that there is no parking at the B&B, so if you are travelling by car, you have to make do with parking on the road (limited timings depending on which days you are staying) or in the nearby car park, which is payable. If you are arriving on public transport (especially the train), the B&B is ideal. We would recommend Acacia to anyone!!

Room Tip: Room 1 en-suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lala_Tink2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed just one night in Moreton-in Marsh at the Acacia Bed and Breakfast. Our room was quiet, bright and sunny, up 1 flight of stairs. We had an en-suite room with 2 twin beds. Our friends were upstairs from us. Their room had a shared bathroom, which wasn't a bother for them, as it was just one night. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Our hosts were helpful and friendly. It was a short walk to the main street where there were several choices for lunch and dinner and some good shops to peruse - if you need to buy toys, check out the toy store on the main street. It has a great selection! For us, as we didn't have a car, the Acacia was an ideal location, just around the corner from the train station.

Room Tip: We liked the en-suite room, 'tho it only had twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victorians51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived weary after a 20 mile walk through the Cotswolds and were given a very warm welcome. The room was quite basic but very clean and comfortable and suited us perfectly. We were permitted to bring our dog too which was great (and very brave of the owners as I wouldn't be keen to sleep somewhere if there had previously been a dog on the bed... needless to say, our exhausted pooch slept on the floor on his own blanket and hopefully didn't leave any trace of his presence for the next guests).
The English breakfast was very good and I think the price was a bargain for such a great location. We did not have an en-suite bathroom but the shared facilities were very clean and we never met anyone else using them.
I think many people expect hotel facilities for B&B prices and there is a real gap in the market for a slightly old fashioned style of accommodation like this. When on an active holiday you can end up paying for a lot of facilities that you have no opportunity to enjoy. A warm welcome, hot shower, comfortable bed, great breakfast - what else did we need? Nothing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lckgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a lovely stay and would be keen to recommend it. We're thinking we might go back as there were other things we didn't get a chance to do in a weekend.

Our room was very clean and simply furnished. The bathroom was across the hallway and was also perfectly clean and close enough to feel easy. Breakfast was very nice and the dining room was bright and pretty. There is normally a lounge for guests which was being redecorated during our stay - the owners were very accommodating and happy for us to use the dining room to play a game on a rainy afternoon.

It is a perfect location for the station (about 100m) and just around the corner from the high street.

It is a attractive old Cotswold stone building - so one note the stairs were very steep and not good for any with limited mobility.

In summary we had a really lovely weekend and enjoyed staying at Acacia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_kfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I managed to find this b and b even though it wasnt the first option on google. it doesnt come up on accomodation but does on b and b's. I was looking for rooms for my party guests and was delighted when I found this. I am writing on behalf of my father in law and sister in law who both said that the guesthouse was super. Their rooms were not ensuite but the shower room was next door and they managed perfectly fine. The rooms were warm, clean and had all the in-room facilities you would expect. The interior design wouldnt probably suit young couples as its not 'boutique' style but it is a good old fashioned b and b. Apparently the breakfast was superb too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillTonyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

As a solo traveller, for many years, I was delighted by the warm, friendly welcome from Dorothy - the owner of Acacia B&B. I immediately felt that I had known her for years.
Her B&B is homely, comfortable and spotlessly clean. She even has a lounge for guests to relax in (a rarity in B&Bs).
Her breakfasts are delicious and the portions more than ample. They should set you up for the day ahead. I do not have a car, but this was was no problem, as Acacia is situated just a few minutes walking distance from the railway station.
Another few minutes down the road is Moreton-in-Marsh High Street, with its many differing cafes and restaurants. You can also take buses to various nearby Cotswold villages or travel further to Stratford or Cirencester.
To sum up, this is an ideal B&B to choose, especially if you are travelling by train.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We travelled by train and as the B&B is in the next road to the railway station we didnt have far to carry our bags. The owners were very pleasent and helpful.
Breakfast was well presented and delicious and lots of it!
The rooms were very clean and comfortable with all that you would need, coffee making facilities, shower, hairdryer etc. They are very dog friendly and we took our border terrier with us for our short break. There were 5 other dogs staying at the same time as us but they were very quiet.
It is 1 minute from the local shops, tearooms, restaurants and the local buses run from the high street to bourton-on-the-water, stow-in-the-wold, cirencester.
Overall a very nice B&B close to all amenities and attractions and very nice hosts. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank His_Girl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#5 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfast
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Acacia Bed & Breakfast
Address: New Road, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Moreton-in-Marsh
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and inviting bed and breakfast set in a central location close to shops and Pubs. Ideal as a base for exploring The Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acacia Bed & Breakfast Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing