We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Country Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairford
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely Country Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have recently stayed for two nights for the first time. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and it was lovely just looking out onto the square. The room looks like it has recently been refurbished and was very clean and comfortable. Again same for the bathroom, nice to have a bath and good shower facility. Comfortable bed with wonderful clean fresh covers.
Nice bar with traditional ales. We ate twice in bar area and menu was good.
As we are not 'big' traditional breakfast eaters it was lovely being able to specify what we would like with no trouble.
Have already booked to stay again !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    47
    22
    25
See reviews for
20
124
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, Tuesday. Reception staff really helpful and friendly. Room was lovely and warm overlooking the square. It's a lovely hotel and I would recommend to couples ", singles. The village in itself is small but very warm and the locals are list helpful. My only regret is that I couldn't stay another night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dskinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We were forced into staying bmdue Tina shortage of our normal accommodation due to the Cheltenham festival. It's a very traditional pub with rooms. Everything in the room works, the beer and food is fine but don't expect anything contemporary. Beware parking could be an issue and it's market day Wednesday so expect an early start.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GurryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is situated in the village of Fairford with the buildings made of Cotswold stone. It is situated in the main square, parking in the village appears to be free and you maybe able to park right outside the hotel. They have about twenty rooms. Mine was a family room with a huge bathroom. They sell a selection of Arkells bear's amongst other things. The food selection is good and the quality is fantastic even if it is above what other places in the village charge, I could not fault any of the meals or breakfast. You should try eating here you will not be disappointed.
The staff are very engaging and nice, the hotel has fishing rights on the River Coln close by.
There is a local market right outside the hotel on Wednesdays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

what a fantastic old place, we had room 24, four poster bed and ok its uncomfortable, but i have only found the odd hotel to have a comfortable new bed and the fact this is such an old property and quirky, it did not matter,It was like going back 50 yrs, and yes the odd cobweb here and there, but the staff were well dressed and smart with the tweed ties, very helpful, good food selection, good breakfeast, it was an enjoyable break and we would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

You have heard of 'the hanging gardens of babel on' and the 'grand canyon ' Well bring on the BULL HOTEL!!!!!
Amazing...it hits you as soon as you walk in to the lobby. A beautifully well hung mirror with lighted candles. Staff well dressed and helpful.
The rooms where spacious, airy and undulating!!
The food menu had a wide collection and boasted the rare but mighty 7oz Bull Stake!!
Breakfast was also a delight,(thou best get the table nearest the kitchen) providing piping hot coffee and the full english down to just the simple egg on toast (toast optional) with self melting butter.
The lads holiday was a success and we have all vowed to return again in the near future!!
You have to try this place if just only once, it is such a eye opener!!

LONG LIVE THE BULL

Room Tip: Room 5......... U get more for your money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemattymetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairford UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Following a previously bad experience at The Bull Hotel in Fairford, I wrote a review on Tripadvisor and was contacted by the owner, Iain. He listened carefully to my feedback and assured me that it is not how he would like The Bull Hotel to be thought of and would like an opportunity to remedy my past experiences. My husband and I were invited for dinner and I have to say that I was impressed from start to finish. The service was so much better and the food really was outstanding! The difference was so huge that I decided to book Christmas lunch at The Bull Hotel for my family and again was not disappointed. I really feel that Iain has managed to pull things around and I would urge local people to return to The Bull so that Iain can demonstrate to all that it deserves a place at the heart of our community again. Thank you Iain for restoring my faith and for such a wonderful meal - We are booked in for dinner again this evening!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs_PughFairfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairford
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
8.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
8.7 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: Market Place, Fairford GL7 4AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Fairford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Fairford
The Bull Hotel Fairford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing