We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairford
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night a second stay after a really present first.. And on arrival the staff advised us of a upgrade of room free of charge as they had some available... Beautiful quirky room another lovely bed and hands on service at breakfast.. Staying again Xmas eve can't wait and in a room with a 4 poster bed... Review to follow

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    64
    53
    24
    27
See reviews for
28
131
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

What a great hotel stayed two nights with breakfast and an evening meal. The room was great even had a four poster bed ,our breakfast and evening meal was superb and the staff were very nice and very welcoming. The area around the hotel is very pretty and the locals friendly. If you want a relaxing break with peace and quiet this is the place to stop. We have had a great time here enjoying a meal and drink in the friendly bar in front of the open fire and look forward to staying at the bull again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priceynikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Visited the hotel for a two night stay with my wife in mid September.

If it's peace & quiet you're after look no further. Fairford is very quiet. The Bull Hotel is very old but very comfortable. Our room was great and I have paid much more to stay in hotels with less facilities and far less character than this one.
The staff were smart, friendly, helpful and did everything with a smile. Our breakfasts were cooked to order and made with good quality ingredients. We had one evening meal here and that was also good value, good quality, fresh and above all, tasty.

No compaints at all from me and I will return if i'm looking for a quiet Cotswold break.
Cirencester 10 miles (well worth a visit) Bourton-on-the-Water 8 miles (hasn't changed in 30 years) Oxford, 25 miles, were all places we visited whilst using Fairford as a base. A great weekend and would happily have stayed for a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the market square. I felt a bit like an extra on Trumpton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJisaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After being let down magnificently by a near by B and B I was very stressed and upset being my 30th birthday and a wedding the day after arrival.. The bull hotel was amazing they understood our frustration at the other place and did there upmost to assist us to make a bad situation into a good ons..with a warm and friendly welcome stayed 2 nights and the lady that checked us in Christina really was so friendly and helpful she kept appologising that it was only a small room which was not the case i loved the room was adequate for what needed and toiletries was provided the bed was one of the best I have slept in ( and with a back issue I struggle). The room very clean and the room service was again very polite... The breakfast was wonderful as well offering a wide range of choices... I would stay again and am looking to stay at Xmas for a few days.. Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariebristolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just stopped off for a quick pint while passing through and there was no problem with the location, staff or with the beer all was as should be.

We sat out the front looking out on the square/parking area and if I have to have a gripe it would be to try and keep the frontage of the place up to scratch. There were caps from the barrels and general litter about within the confines of the low wall. Also PLEASE will someone do the gardening as there was an abundance of weeds to the far left as you exit the hotel, this lowers the tone as one reviewer put it “Poshest place in town”?

Thank you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Chuckie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A big thank you too all the staff at the Bull
My husband and I went walking in Fairford and stopped at the Bull for Sunday lunch, What a treat. Food was delicious. I had beef and it was cooked to my liking. Wonderful puds. A big plus for Fairford

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a lovely supper of fresh salmon capers and bubbly. Jamie was very attentive and entertaining. The manager, made his presence felt and was very friendly and had lots of advice to offer re the fishing and other local activities.

A warm and welcoming pub for us and our little dog Freddy who was welcomed too and given water and attention.

We highly recommend the venue and will be coming again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairford
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
891 reviews
5.7 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,468 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
470 reviews
6.5 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
8.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: Market Place, Fairford GL7 4AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Fairford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Fairford
The Bull Hotel Fairford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing