We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing break”
other travelers have booked this property
view overlooking Somerford Lagoon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view overlooking Somerford Lagoon
front of house lake view bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
view overlooking Somerford Lagoon
front of house
lake view bedroom
en-suite with walk-in shower
lounge
lounge
lounge
open plan kitchen
lounge window over stream
Kayaks
lower deck view
sun rise with swans
lake reflection
lake view from lounge
Art Spa swimming pools, gym, sauna, steam room
Kingfishers perch
Nice comments from Darren Sutton & Rachel Pendered
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing break”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our stay at this house was amazing. The property is well maintained and spacious. We were a group of 8 with 6 adults and 2 children and could not have asked for more. I must admit in the lead up to the stay i was nervous that there would not be enough space but the pictures do not do it justice...the house is perfect. The kayaks provided made it so easy to get on the lake for a morning or evening paddle and with the swimming pool and bike hire there was plenty to do. We did a big shop in Cirencester before we got there (5 minutes drive) and then never left the estate! Terry and Joy were perfect hosts leaving plenty of kitchen supplies and even some wine in the fridge!! The only thing to say (as mentioned before) is definately take a sleeping mask if you dont want to wake early in the double rooms!! Otherwise a perfect stay and we were sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW46_72
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil and stunning views”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our first visit to Lower Mill Estate and really didn't want to leave and can't wait to return. The house is located in the most stunning of locations where you are not over-looked and where it sits on Somerford Lagoon. The 2 double bedrooms face out towards the lake so you wake up to the most amazing sunrises (but take sleeping eye mask if not your sort of thing because as the property description states, the blinds are not blackout). The house is also well located for both the Spa and it's pools and the other outdoor pool (all well heated) and other village amenities such as the shop (as you would expect, prices always higher than at supermarket but good for essentials and all the supermarkets located around 5 miles away). The house is well equipped for the stay and the owners really helpful in answering any questions in the lead up to holiday and were there to meet and greet us leaving us some essential provisions such as milk, tea, coffee, wine and biscuits. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet stay in very comfortable accommodation and with many activities to do close by, I couldn't recommend this highly enough

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed our most favorite place & home.
Look forward to welcoming you again
Terry & Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smkaterkc
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for variety of activities or just relaxing with a view! Best position in this 'village'.”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a family gathering (all over 18 so not in school holidays). We were not sure of the 'mill village' thing as had not experienced 'gated holiday' place before; luckily this property has the best views (over lake full of bird-life) and best privacy. All made full use of tennis courts, pools+saunas, kayaking, running/walking routes and a few excursions further afield. Property is spacious and well stocked, helpful owners and thoughtful touches to welcome us. NB thin window blinds so be prepared for bright mornings - didn't bother the early-rising oldies but bothered the younger ones trying to sleep in! Twin rooms adequate but some complaints from our (tall but very slim) sons re comfort of beds. However, getting a large family party in one place can be tricky and this worked very well for us.
I don't think the photos on trip advisor show it off to its best advantage - outlook is great and you could just sit on the balcony and enjoy watching the swans/cygnets/terns/grebes/egrets/herons etc if that is your thing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kayaking from garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shitalLon...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing views and great location within lower mill estate”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We came to the house as a party of 8 with 6 adults and 2 young children and the rooms were well equipt. Terry and Joy had left complimentary milk tea coffee and biscuits which was a lovely surprise. The views from the lounge were fantastic and we all agreed that the location and position of the house was fantastic and were not overlooked at all. The only negative point was the outdoor space. We had 2 children wanting to explore the gardens and balcony but the gardens front and back had not been looked after and the grass was over grown. The doors and windows had cobwebs around then so when you opened them the cobwebs all flew into the house along with the dead flies. However it's a great house and We would certainly return again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2016
Hi Shital thanks for your review to explain the garden areas associated with our house are maintained by ourselves to provide a haven for the wildlife i.e. Bees, birds & butterfies we believe in nature conservation & have the agreement of the estate to create our own wildlife haven. Also When you have a house on a lake insects come in with the deal our house has bi annual spider control to keep it in check.
Pleased you like our house & may return in the future you will be most welcome thanks Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: It was quite hard to find the house once inside the complex
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen R
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely settings and view”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed the best part of a week with our friends family (7 in total) and had a lovely time. The lounge was big enough for all of us and the bedrooms suited our needs too.
Lovely pool and gym complex on site too which keeps the kids entertained.
A lovely retreat and nice area to explore too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views
Liked least: No proper curtains and when it became daylight at 6am, we got woken up.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2015
Thanks for your great review look forward to future bookings Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing