We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 123 Restaurants in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The New Inn is a lovely Cotswold pub with good-sized rooms and delicious pub food in the charming village of Coln St Aldwyns, and just 2 miles of riverside walk from Bibury, the home of the world-famous Arlington Row. The landlords Leanne & Chris will make sure there's a warm welcome for you, with well-kept beer at fair prices, and a can-do attitude from their staff.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped by here for pimms in the summer, it was great. The pimms was fresh and bursting with summer fruits. I would definitely recommend the New Inn. The staff were polite and the food looked great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    15
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sirloin to die for!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having read some of the past reviews for the New Inn at Coln St Aldwyns I should start by saying that it has been under new management since July. It is no longer a 'gastro pub' which is a huge relief. The food is first class quality at seriously reasonable prices. We had a family lunch there last Sunday and quite frankly I had the most delicious roast sirloin of beef that I have ever eaten.
The food is unpretentious and delicious, the service is very good and improvements are taking place on a daily basis. It has great atmosphere, a charming and efficient manager and great outdoor eating area as well as the elegant recently decorated interior which never forgets that it is a Cotswold pub. I will return on a regular basis!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Lovely stuff'”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

10/10 for this little gem. Food, service, ambience the lot. New management has seen what used to be yet another over priced Cotswold pub rise from the ashes into a beacon of culinary expertise. I have now eaten at the New Inn three times and it is hands down the best pub in the area. My only concern is how long the pub can keep going... this is to say that I have no idea how you can sell such high quality food at such low prices! Finally the good people of the Cotswolds can go for for a pub supper without needing a loan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top roast!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Without a doubt, THE best Sunday lunch. Upbeat, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and delicious food at very reasonable prices (highly recommend roast beef!)... As a local, I visited under old management and it was more of a drinking pub than somewhere to eat but total change, the menu is great just really tasty pub grub at fantastic value. It will definitely become a regular stop off for me.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a difference!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We returned to the New Inn recently and were delighted with the food and the service since it has been taken over by the Cripps Barn Group. It is exactly what a good local pub/restaurant should be serving - the best ingredients simply prepared and good value for money. I had the fish and chips which were excellent and my children both loved their duck confit and chicken pie. Look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 
Barnsley, Cirencester
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing