We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lovely August Bank Holiday break. Booked late & thought would have to take our 2 dogs with us, comment on booking.com replied to immediately & arrangements duly made. Then changed our minds, no problem, emails exchanged & placed in lovely room on top floor with a large corner bath, my request & again not a problem. Found the mattress too firm on the first night & noticed in guest book an offer to put a foam topper on the bed if required. Again, no problem & boy did it make a big difference :) Had very nice meal in restaurant on first night, good choice, good food, good service. Breakfast was plentiful with something to suit everyone. Staff deserve a shout out as all encountered were very friendly & welcoming. Stairs were pretty steep to the 3 rooms on the second floor, so wouldn't be suitable to all but the hotel is aware of this. Nice beer garden to rear of hotel, plenty of parking & free wifi throughout. Cirencester is limited on eateries & not as charming as its other cotswolds neighbours but did provide a good base to explore from. Recommend a visit to Bibuy, just up the road & truly beautiful. Easy journey to Stow, Moreton & Bourton but watch out for enormous steep drop in the road enroute - thought I was in Blackpool on a coaster for a second or two! Corinium proved a good choice & wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can't manage steep steps make sure to request the ground or first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zymotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Kind regards, Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 321 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have never eaten here, but my parents have a number of times and always enjoy it and return regularly. Living just up the road it is a great location just on the outskirts of town to have a nice wander down to, so we all went down for a drink one evening. It was a colder night (in the earlier months of the year) and it felt very cosy. Great atmosphere in the bar, lovely comfy seating and friendly staff. It also has a lovely garden to sit outside in the warmer months. I will definitely return and this time make sure we try out the food!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks very much for your review and very pleased to read your kind comments. Hope we can welcome you back for that meal soon. Kind regards, Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has parking which is a plus but they have made a real effort the staff are excellent friendly funny and professional . My room was veey small but nicely prepared but the bar and food great. Very pleasant place to exlpore heavenly cirencester

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireodeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We do have a few smaller rooms, but also a number of larger ones as well.
Hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Regards, Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just had two nights due to local business and when visiting old places like this you have to take some issues into consideration. I was in room 8 at the top of the stairs and initially thought that noise from adjoining rooms would spoil my stay, I must have been blessed with considerate neighbours as I had two good nights sleep, other hotels have to offer a guarantee! The wi-fi was particularly useful and not limited to 30 mins, friendly and a particularly good breakfast. What more do you want from a small hotel especially as it includes friendly staff like Margaret who may mistake you with someone else particularly if you wear glasses. When next in the area it will be my first choice to stay.

Room Tip: If you are less able ask for a room that does not require climbing the stairs, I am sure they will o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Corinium Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this place. We rocked in without booking and they were able to accommodate us. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable Just need to watch the beam above the dunny!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks very much for your review and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us, despite the low beam in the bathroom!
Hope to welcome you back. Regards, Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came across The Corinium almost by accident while looking for a bed for the night in Cirencester, and were fortunate to get the last four-poster room available. This is a very nice little hotel, with ample free parking and WiFi, within a few minutes walk of the town centre.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the stairs to the top of the house are very steep, but help is on hand for those who need it. The owner and manager were helpful and welcoming, the bar is cosy and friendly, and the hotel has a nice relaxed atmosphere. No complaints

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks very much for your recent review and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do hope that we can welcome you back here again in the future.
Regards, Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very enjoyable one-night stay, remarkably quiet for a Friday night close to the centre of a very interesting town. The bedroom was clean and complete with TV, Wi-Fi, coffee making, iron and hair-dryer. We should have realised that "compact" meant limited space around the bed and an en-suite that would be difficult for a large person. Having said that it was fine for us. There is a delightful well-kept garden to enjoy when the weather is favourable. It is a pity that the inside communal area is less inviting. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. There were full buffet breakfast options with attentive staff. We would overall recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siphrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we were pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. It was a bit surprising that you felt the public areas were not as inviting as we normally hear it has such a warm cosy atmosphere. Thanks again however and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.3 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
593 reviews
4.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,653 reviews
11.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinium Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinium Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 12 Gloucester Street, Cirencester GL7 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range: $135 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corinium Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful grade 2 listed privately-owned Hotel enjoys a quiet location, yet it is only a convenient five minutes walk to the town centre.Built in the 16th Century, the Corinium provides fifteen character bedrooms with every modern facility, a locally renowned Restaurant offering both modern British and European dishes and a cosy well-stocked bar that are all full of Cotswold charm. Whether visiting for business or leisure, you can always be assured of receiving a warm welcome and attentive friendly service.The Corinium also has the benefit of an attractive secluded garden and ample free car parking. It makes an ideal base for touring the beautiful Cotswolds region and is easily accessible from both M4 and M5 motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Corinium Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinium Hotel And Restaurant
Corinium Hotel Cirencester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing