We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last night 18.8.12 we found it excellent. 5 minute walk into town. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and unlike your chain hotels they had a sense of humour and we felt like people & not just a number. The hotel had bags of atmoshere & plenty of olde worlde charm. It was clean & had everything you needed in the rooms. Some of the reviews say it was dark but if you want bright and plastic without atmosphere then this is not for you. Without a doubt we would stay here again.

Room Tip: For a romantic night ask for the four poster rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcarwaller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lovely place! when we arrived we were met by the lovely,very accommodating Margaret! We were a little tired and she offered a pot of tea and it was delivered with biscuits and a smile! Most of the staff was excellent. Room was cleaned every day we were there! Excellent breakfast,buffet on some, but we were offered a cooked for us breakfast. Dinner was nice and again service was excellent. The chef did not have the salmon with pak choi I wanted so I suggested use the sea bass, lol never rdreaming he would do it. It was excellent! Attention to detail, this place is nice. We were staying a few days for the air tattoo and if we go back next year we will stay here!
Mark & Alexandria Manchester

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcarwaller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Many thanks for your review and very pleased that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next year for the Air Tattoo.
Kind regards
Tim waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A charming period building in a good position, clean and with ample parking. However, although our room was full of character it was very small and furnished with some cheap, mock antique, furniture. The bed was small and the mattress very uncomfortable. The cooked buffet breakfast looked dismal – we just had toast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowyer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcarwaller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

I was most concerned and sorry to learn of your disappointing stay with us. Although some of our bedroom furniture is indeed not antique, I have to say they are of good quality and were not cheap. A few of our bedrooms are indeed smaller/compact and more cosy than others, but we do mention this in our details.

All of our mattresses are regularly checked and in good condition. The softness/hardness of mattresses is very much down to personal choice and we take the middle ground here. However, the bedroom information folders do advise guests that mattress toppers are available if they like a softer bed.

I was also disappointed about the poor buffet breakfast as this is normally always kept refreshed. I do wish that you had advised us at the time in order that we could have remedied this. Menus on the tables do advise guests that 'a hot buffet is offered at our busier times in order to assist speed of service. However, if you prefer anything else or require table service, please do not hesitate to ask'.

Once again, I was sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but do wish that these issues had been raised at the time, so that we could have rectified them for you.

Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Simple, small but very pleasant rooms (though not a very good shower). Excellent breakfast. Very attentive staff (passed the quick coffee at breakfast test on a sunday morning with flying colours). Good value. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel as it gets the basics right!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Review_Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcarwaller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had a two night stay with friends last weekend at ther Corinium. Very clean and friendly hotel with a good bar and great breakfast. Our waitress Margaret couldn't do enough for us. Extra tea/toast never a problem. Very nice small hotel and close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mig7ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcarwaller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and the rating. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Tim Waller
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of the town of Cirencester with loads of free parking at the back of the hotel. I got a great B&B deal through Booking.com for one night mid week.
The hotel is an old and historic building and I understand there are newer rooms - the room I stayed in was certainly in the "old part" so if you are looking for unusully shaped rooms, sloping ceilings with open beams - then this is the place for you. I was told that the beams in the bedroom came from Gloucester docks from ships broken up shortly after the time of the Spanish Armada !.
The welcome was friendly and the staff helpful - the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I didn't eat at the hotel in the evening as the restaurant wasn't open - however there were a few people eating in the bar area.
The breakfast was included in the overall tariff and there was a good variety on offer including a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcarwaller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thanks for your review and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Tim Waller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I go into this hotel alot as a customer when i am passing in cirencester. I have found it to be a very friendly and a very Quiet place for a meal or just for a drink, From your review i take it you were in the day of the the historic parade of the olympic tourch through Cirencester, I feel that on such an occasion children are very excited, and rightly so, People with children should be able to go into a child friendly hotel and should be able to control them and family pets. As i have always found to be the case. I feel your comments were unfounded due to the fact it was a one off occasion.This hotel is a very well run establishment, where i have always found the staff very friendly and professional and on the whole a very quiet and guest orientated place to visit, would very highly recommend to all .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcarwaller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Many thanks for your welcome comments following earlier review on this matter.
Much appreciated.

Kind regards
Tim Waller
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.3 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
592 reviews
4.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,653 reviews
11.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinium Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinium Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 12 Gloucester Street, Cirencester GL7 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range: $135 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corinium Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful grade 2 listed privately-owned Hotel enjoys a quiet location, yet it is only a convenient five minutes walk to the town centre.Built in the 16th Century, the Corinium provides fifteen character bedrooms with every modern facility, a locally renowned Restaurant offering both modern British and European dishes and a cosy well-stocked bar that are all full of Cotswold charm. Whether visiting for business or leisure, you can always be assured of receiving a warm welcome and attentive friendly service.The Corinium also has the benefit of an attractive secluded garden and ample free car parking. It makes an ideal base for touring the beautiful Cotswolds region and is easily accessible from both M4 and M5 motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corinium Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinium Hotel And Restaurant
Corinium Hotel Cirencester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing