We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

The Thames Head Inn
Ranked #9 of 142 Restaurants in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good quality traditional Sunday Lunch, service a little bit slow but then it was very busy. A very good alternative to “cheaper carvery “ options, the roast beef was perfectly ‘medium’ the vegetables perfectly cooked and the gravy tasty but not overpowering, topped off with a yummy Yorkshire pudding. Deserts we’re home made and delicious. A great overall experience, very friendly staff and good wholesome food.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank saraho121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here one night before embarking on the Thames Path. Booked a couple of months in advance through Expedia. Hotel helped me arrange taxi from Kemble. Check-in smooth and easy. Room very clean and comfortable. Had all I needed. Lovely evening food and breakfast. They even did me a sandwich for lunch on the walk. The bar was quite popular with locals.
The only minor issue was only having a hand held shower over bath with no shower curtain. Fittings were excellent but water went everywhere. Provided soap and shampoo etc.

A great start to my walk. Thanks.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank PeterCGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped by for a mid-week lunch. Enjoyed the scampi and chips. Portions were extra large so very filling, and food arrived piping hot and fresh.
One criticism would be the service; the waitress who served us was very timid and we could hardly hear her despite the pub being relatively empty at the time. She was very nervous and also only brought one of the two sauces we asked for. Also didn't bother to check up on us after serving our food which was a shame. A bit more training wouldn't go a miss.
Overall, If you're after a simple spot of pub grub, this place is a solid choice.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited last night for a birthday celebration.
There is ample parking space. The decor is pleasant. On arrival the bar staff were welcoming. There are plenty of tables and it was busy. On offer is a fairly standard pub menu.
Four of us shared the scotch eggs to start which came out ice cold, Dull, grey, under seasoned poor quality meat hugging an overcooked egg. The piccalilli was not far off frozen !
If you break it down, a Scotch egg is nothing more than a boiled egg wrapped in pork, coated in breadcrumbs and deep fried then served warm with a runny yolk, how difficult can it be.
When asking the manager he said that’s just how they serve them.
Onto to the main course the very pleasant waitress served us. One of us had the last of the chicken and ham pies, the puff pastry was soggy and clearly undercooked, the contents of slimy chicken and ham were only lukewarm so we thought it was best to send this back to the kitchen as possibly would have caused gastroenteritis.
My partner had the gammon steak which was tasteless and rubbery.
Two of us opted for the fillet and sirloin steak, to be fair they were okay but both said we have had far better.
We just got the feeling all the meats were sourced as cheaply as possible.
The manager was okay but very defensive and didn’t really take our comments very well when we complained.
Not the best by any means - would not recommend or visit again.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

We stayed at this Inn for two nights this week. The first day we arrived in time for a sumptuous lunch. I had the chicken, ham hock and leek pie and my husband had a burger. Both absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfasts were cooked to order by the head chef both days we were there and could not be faulted. It was simple but absolutely well done and set us up for the day. On the first day also we had to be out at a function in the evening and had no time for supper so they made us ham, and cheese and pickle, sandwiches for collection when we got back to the bar at 10.30pm. I have never had such delicious bread and I am sure the ham was locally sourced. The room was spotlessly clean and charming and despite the proximity of the main road it was very, very quiet. The beds were comfortable and ample provision was made for accommodating out dog. The shower was a little eccentric but the bath was deep and glorious! Sadly our commitments made it impossible for us to sample supper/dinner in the restaurant but I am sure it would be excellent on the evidence of what we did have.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JasmineSimeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thames Head Inn also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Barnsley, Cirencester
 

Been to The Thames Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing