We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Place”
other travelers have booked this property
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden Lovely garden seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden
Lovely garden seating
Open country views
Velvet sofas, low lighting and a log stove. Very cosy!
Dining area
A perfect bathroom with luxury toiletries
Lots of interesting designer touches
Luxury bed under the 17th century beams
Hand built kitchen with high quality equipment
Vintage china, crystal glasses, bone handled knives and silver plate cutlery
Red Arrows flying during Kemble airshow
The cottage viewed from the wild garden in the orchard
The thyme & lavender footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Miguel S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a beautiful cottage very well taken care. It provided us with a magical weekend. A mix of old/traditional setting with a few modern commodities just make it spot on.

We saw the cottage from outside and just got amazed, wanting to take many photos and at the same time looking forward and see the inside. A nice parking space on the side of the house and a nice garden are a couple of very welcomed features. We didn't make use of the garden as it was a bit cold but we still went there to take a few pictures.

As soon as we got into the house we were amazed about its beauty. The very comfortable sofas and the fireplace where some of the favourite features for us to use. The nice dinner table was a great setting for our meals.

We got upstairs via the beautiful (although care must be taken) stairs and loved the room as soon as we saw it. Tall ceiling and more than enough room for us with a beautiful decor.

The bathroom was a nice mix of modern and old making it just perfect.

We are more than happy to recommend this place as it is a great base for all the beautiful places you can see in the Cotswolds.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything. Fireplace was very special.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and loved the cottage as much as we do. We hope to see you again! Martin & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth P
Markhamville, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like visiting Bilbo”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I felt as a if I were in Bilbo Baggins's cottage, with low ceilings, stone floors, a twisty staircase and a huge fireplace. Out the small paned windows, we glimpsed passing horseback riders and cyclists; a lovely little bird sang to us every evening; Orion hung just over the hedge. Best of all, we could walk over the fields to the Tunnel Inn, a marvellous atmospheric pub with cask ale. Perfect get away for two!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and loved the walk to the pub (new maps being supplied!). We hope to see you again! Martin & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairytale Hideaway with Magical Garden”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A perfect little gem of a cottage that could have come from any fairytale or picture postcard. Lovely furnishings.. Great to be met by soothing music and a tea tray with biscuit goodies. We stayed here for a our wedding weekend and it was the perfect bolt hole. The garden is absolutely gorgeous - with the smell of lavender filling the air! Thank you!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again! Martin & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvatonLy...
Alvaton, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Like a Fairy Tale come true!”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the moment we entered Ashphodel Cottage, we were completely enchanted. There was soft light classical music playing on the radio (BBC Radio 4), the tea service ready on the kitchen table, with biscuits (chocolate chip cookies, maybe especially for Americans?), and a pretty Moroccan lamp glowing in the corner. This place is the perfect combination of old fashioned charm, with all the "mod cons" you could ask for. The kitchen is well equipped for the times you choose to stay in for a meal. The location is perfect for sightseeing in the south part of the Cotswolds. There are great places to walk, and a good local pub not far away. The bedroom and bath are nicely decorated. The bed is comfortable and cozy.
Only words of warning -- tall people beware of low ceilings and doorways, and the spiral stairway is steep and narrow if you have large suitcases or are not too fit.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness and small size
Liked least: The oven
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahkay7...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Anniversary break”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself and my husband had the pleasure of staying at this charming picturesque cottage to celebrate our anniversary. The cottage is stunning, but it is not just aesthetically pleasing but comfortable and with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Including a very thoughtful welcome pack of tea, biscuits and a lovely bottle of prosecco. There is also a fantastic information folder with recommended restaurants and places to visit, which we found very useful.
The garden is perfect for breakfast in the sunshine and the hamlet is lovely for walking off a big lunch. It's the perfect location to explore the Cotswolds and there are fantastic pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area if you'd rather eat out.
We will definitely be coming again. Hopefully for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and overall look and feel of cottage and garden
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enchanting cottage, perfect couples retreat”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a perfect birthday celebration at Asphodel Cottage. After a long journey we arrived at what can only be described as a picturesque location. The cottage was welcoming and homely with a bottle of chilled prosecco in the fridge, thank you! There was an unexpected festival in the local pub, The Tunnel House Inn, the next day with some well known bands playing - the weather was beautiful too! An added bonus due to the plentiful sunshine was being able to sit in the garden and appreciate the beautiful views. Will definitely return and would certainly recommend for a couple looking for a romantic break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An enchanting historic cottage, very atmospheric.
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
405hayley...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a four night stay in the Asphodel Cottage and it definitely lived up to the excellent reviews previously posted. The location is perfect being in a sleepy hamlet, yet within easy reach of Cirencester. It is an excellent base to explore the Cotswolds. The cottage itself is full of character and comfortable. I would imagine that it is lovely in the winter with the wood burner going. The highlight for us was the amazing garden with the beautiful views out into the surrounding countryside, which was perfect for relaxing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing