We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing get away with friends”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
The amazing Luxury Spa complex at The Lower Mill Estate
The world class, award winning, private member's spa facility on The Lower Mil Estate
Beautiful jade green Welsh slate lined HEATED indoor pool, with views across the nature reserve
The fantastic brand new Balihoo onsite Restuarant & Club House, now fully open to all guests
The newly constructed outdoor children's play area - Just a few minutes walk from your villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing get away with friends”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Just come back from a lovely sunny weekend there. A great place for groups of friends and families.

The house is situated on quite a large estate of holiday homes so feels quite built up (more so than the website suggests) however many overlook lovely lakes and countryside and it's very peaceful.

The house is light and airy, with so much natural light, and is also really cosy. There is a woodburner although we were there in very hot weather so didn't use it. The contemporary decor is very stylish and minimalist - nothing twee like you get in many holiday homes!

The kitchen was a little under equipped, eg. not enough plates, glasses, serving spoons or shallow oven trays. However the dishwasher is a big help if you are staying with lots of people.

This house is in a terrace so if you went in high season you might feel a bit 'on top' of the neighbours, as the decking is shared with just some potted plants to separate you. There is no private space that's not fully visible to all your neighbours.

The lakes and nearby walks are very relaxing and there is a waterports place, cafe etc. but not loads to do. The spa is really lovely with a heated outdoor pool etc. and the price is included in the rental. It's open to families and has adult only times as well.

Kemble train station is a ten minute drive away and it's necessary to book a taxi as it's such a small place you won't find one otherwise.

The only thing that left a slightly bad taste was that we were given no choice but to installments, and were charged a 'booking fee' each time which seemed a bit sneaky. Also there are notices in the house saying if you accidentally leave anything behind you'll be charged £55+VAT + postage to have it back. And we were charged extra due to being a group of 6, and for bringing two cars. These added extras make it feel a bit money grabbing.

Also it's quite hard to find your way to the house once you're in the estate as it's huge and has no reception. This made it tricky for the supermarket delivery to find us - the best bet if you are doing that is to ask the van to come to the entrance gate and meet them there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself
Liked least: The cost of Internet connection
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: Not enough kitchen utensils or crockery/pots/pans
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: time to get there!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look of the house
Liked least: having to go home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SueTwicke...
Twickenham
1 review
“Lovely house spoilt by hidden charges”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I agree that the house and Lower Mill Estate are really lovely - we've now been back to the Estate 5 times and all the houses are luxurious and special. This time we were disappointed by all the extra hidden charges e.g. £38 booking fee, £75 for "multiple occupancy" when we were 2 below the permitted level, £5 booking charge for paying by direct debit (not credit card which was more), and they tried to charge for use of barbecue and Wii, though we didn't want them. Multiple occupancy also only entitled us to 4 teaspoons in house for 9! I suggest that, before booking, you look very carefully at the Terms and Conditions of the booking agency in order to compare the price with those of other agencies who say they have no hidden charges. That said, the house was lovely and comfy, and Jamie, who welcomes one, was a delight. So please, Tim, be more upfront with the full charge and include it in the booking price. £125 of extras for 3 nights was a bit stiff even though we got a reduction for a very last minute booking and I fought off the barbecue and Wii extras!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: The hidden extra charges
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2012
Thanks for taking time to post your comments, it is good to hear that you were pleased with the house and the estate, The Lower Mill Estate is a special place indeed and we are very proud to own a number of holiday properties in such a unique and tranquil environment.

Sorry to hear about your comments re the extra charges, we do try and be as transparent as possible and fully appreciate the importance of guests knowing all of the charges associated with their holiday, prior to booking.

The charges are clearly shown on the tariff page of our website and then again on the actual booking form, in clear bold text, so we are sorry that in this instance you appear to have missed them.

We do charge a booking fee to cover administration, which we think is reasonable when you consider the amount of paperwork needed behind the scenes for each booing, for the onsite security and the spa.

We do also levy an extra charge for larger party sizes as it seems unfair for a group of two, husband and wife, to pay the same as a group of 9 or 11. The charge covers the extra linen and towels required for larger party sizes and is quite common in the industry and we think it is both fair and reasonable to expect to pay more for larger parties.

This charge is clearly shown in large, clear bold text on the web site and then again on the booking form and you do have to tick a box to say that you have read it, before you can actually proceed with a booking, so we were a little surprised to hear that you might have missed it?

Reference the BBQ and the Wii, we have checked your booking and can see that you did actually order both of these items when you made your booking online, so not sure what you mean by having to fight them off ! – Having checked our records, we can see that two weeks after making your booking you did make us aware that you no longer required the BBQ, or the Wii and we can see that we then immediately removed the items from your booking and raised a new invoice which we sent to you, minus the cost of these items, without quibble or delay and of course without any charge for the extra administration for doing so.

You will be pleased to hear that we have invested in new teaspoons!!

We do apologise for any confusion and hope that we can welcome you down on the state again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
240TracyC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing break with good friends in beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at Nightingale Lodge on The Lower Mill Estate with another family of four.The Lodge was perfect for a short break being close to howells mere lake where our family enjoyed a days canoeing.The Artspa was great as it offered gym sauna steamroom along with swimming and we used these facilities every day of our stay.Jamie the manager was very helpful and could not do enough for us.The only criticism is that the lodge could have provided more towels for the bathrooms,however there is a washing machine which we did make use of.All in all a lovely place to stay with plenty of nice places to visit without having to travel far ie Bath.Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Carpets were stained in quite a few places
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing