We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Stream at the back of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stream at the back of the house
Part of the children's play area The Artspa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Stream at the back of the house
Part of the children's play area
The Artspa
Sunbeds at the spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
helenllaw...
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed April 20, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

This is lovely family friendly comfortable house in a gorgeous location,
It has everything one needs to entertain, relaxed and enjoy.
We will definitely be back to stay next year !

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenville...
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, beautifully equipped in superb location”
Reviewed September 21, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Songthrush surpassed our expectations in every way.
It is a superbly equipped house. The bedrooms are beautiful and the bed-ware is fantastic. The lounge and dining kitchen fully met the needs of our party of 10 from kids to grandparents. And there is ample space outside for dining and play.
The Lower Mill Estate is very attractive with some wonderful new architecture. It is a very pleasant place to stroll around with lots to entertain children and teenagers especially the Spa which is just two minutes walk from Songthrush. There are two heated swimming pools as well as a natural cold plunge pool.
The owner, Liz, was very helpful throughout and the on- site team also.

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine...
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Songthrush - a home from home”
Reviewed August 29, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A wonderful home with everything you could need. We had such a lovely stay, made even better by a wonderful host. The house was clean, well equipped and at an ideal location within Lower Mill Estate. Suitable for large families with or without dogs. The walks and on site facilities were really good too. Thank you for such a lovely stay. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2018
So pleased you had a great time at Songthrush. We are one of the few houses locally who welcome well-behaved dogs. They have a great time here as well as their families!

Hope to see you again in the future.
Best
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulW67
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely family weekend”
Reviewed July 17, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Ideal accommodation for our extended family weekend. The nearby spa pools were enjoyed by us all. The younger members of the family made use of the Astro football pitch and the tennis court. Plenty of water sports available.
We have stayed here before and will certainly be returning.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2018
So pleased to welcome you back, and happy to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves. I'm sure the warm weather helped, but Lower Mill is beautiful in all seasons.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Home in a Perfect Setting”
Reviewed April 13, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is our second stay at Songthrush and what a pleasant experience it has been again. This house is very well equipped and catered for all 3 generations of our family. We have had another lovely stay at Songthrush again this year and we would definitely book again.

A few minor adjustments we think would improve the house:

1. Get more teaspoons (with a lot of tea drinkers, they run out quickly!)
2. Get a bike rack (We took our bikes and there was no where to lock them up)
3. Some of the lights in the kitchen (under the cupboards) were flickering on and off when we arrived and throughout our stay.
4. The decking was very slippery and we had a lot of people falling over on it.
5. The key lock didn't seem to lock up properly when we tried to leave the key in there.

Our stay was very lovely and we would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking to stay here.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2018
Hi Sam

So pleased you had another great stay at Songthrush, we love to welcome our guests back and many come back year after year. We also really appreciate your recommendations.

Thanks for mentioning the bits that need attending to. I regularly top up the teaspoons, I'm not sure what happens to them but they consistently disappear. I'll just have to buy less tasty ones this time! In the recent extremely bad weather - snow then consistent rain - we haven't been able to do our usual early spring treatments of the deck. We will be attending to this, and the other maintenance points, that you bring up in the next week.

We hope to welcome you back to Songthrush again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm02...
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great for a family get together”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a great family get together at Songthrush, what an excellent place to achieve this, plenty of space for everyone including the dog, roaring fire on cold winter evenings, and in a great part of the world to visit some of the South Wests great cities. i would imaging this to be absolutely stunning in the summer as it was so good in the winter. We wanted for nothing as the property is so well equipped, with modern appliances plus outside BBQ also. I you want somewhere very pretty, super functional for a large party get together then this is the place, without a doubt

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenhU24...
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A home from home with the wow factor”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Songthrush provided our family with a rare opportunity to be all together for Christmas. This wonderfully comfortable home provided us with everything we needed for our stay, and its proximity to the Spa, Pool, Restaurant and wonderful walks around the estate made it a trip to remember. The wildlife and peaceful countryside makes it a special place and we have already recommended it to many of our friends. Even our dog Baz was made to feel welcome! I would not hesitate to go back there.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
We're so pleased you have a wonderful Christmas at Songthrush. It's a great place for families to come together to relax and enjoy their time together. Best wishes for 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing