We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Birmingham
Level Contributor
153 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights in February.

I sent 2 emails beforehand, asking for details about parking arrangements, but never received a reply or an explanation on check in. Nonetheless, the manageress was able to retain the last available space. Be warned: the car park is tiny and cramped and tricky to get out of if you have a large vehicle.

Overall, the staff are friendly and helpful and seem to cope well despite the place getting very crowded over the weekends.

There's always a great buzz here at any time of the day. We never tried the dinner menu, but the breakfasts were average; in fact the sausages were undercooked and portions quite small.

Our accommodation (room 10) was small, though clean enough; and at least there's plenty of power sockets available for all of the modern day travel essentials The Fleece advertises itself as having achieved 5 start accreditation, but trust me, having stayed at many 5 star establishments over many years, I can safely state that it's a very good 3 star, NOT 5 star.

Cost of room at £115 a night was on the high side. £90 - 95 would have been about right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fleece. I’m so sorry that you did not receive a response to your emails about car parking – I am currently looking into why this did not happen, and have spoken to the management team to ensure that we are replying to all emails as soon as possible.
I was sad to hear that you were disappointed by your breakfast – we know it is the most important meal of the day, and it should set you up for a busy day exploring the Cotswolds. I have spoken to our Head Chef regarding your comments, and we are currently reviewing our breakfast menu.
We are rated as a 5 Star Inn, much different to our sister hotels, which are 4 Star Hotels, and we offer a very different experience and service in that category. Thank you for your praise of the team here, I am very proud of the high standards of service they deliver, and I know they were pleased to hear your feedback too. We hope to welcome you back to the Fleece again very soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    200
    94
    44
    27
See reviews for
113
290
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with a family of four. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Friendly, helpful and not over the top or trying to sell extras. We found the food to be superb, having read a recent review, if this is not to your taste or of a good standard I am not sure what people expect. It was excellent quality, well presented and good value. Children's meals were excellent, not the usual fried junk. The room was lovely, well appointed, very clean and ready for an unplanned early check in. Good quality and generous breakfast. Is the hotel perfect, no, no where is! Do the staff do everything they can to give you a great stay,yes. A simple example is a sign in the car park offering de icer and scraper for frosty mornings. Free wifi always a bonus with a teenager. I think this is probably one of the best pubs I have stayed, in a town location with great value and high standards. The two female managers on duty for the majority of the stay were a great help sorting tables, helping to plan days out and generally ensuring everything was ok. Well worth a stay. We will go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mpjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments following you recent stay with us. I’m really pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and meals with us. We do our best to ensure that we help you to get the most out of your stay with us, and I will take pleasure in passing on your feedback to the team, who I know will also be delighted to hear your comments. We hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend, chose the Fleece based on TA reviews. Staff, room (23) and breakfast were great, evening meal was not so good! It wasn't really bad, but the root veg sheppherds pie was disappointing, some under cooked carrots and parsnips in a watery sauce, with a bit of tasteless mash on top! But the overall experience of the hotel was excellent! The staff and manager in particular we're very helpful, the manager seemingly forever on duty, but she always had a smile! Would stay here again and would recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynJaneWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Room 23 is one of my personal favourites! I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your evening meal, and I have passed on your comments to our Head Chef and we will look at improving this dish in future. I'm glad that you enjoyed breakfast and that the team looked after you so well. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We chose this place based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. A striking looking place with a beautifully refurbished interior. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful, our evening meal was outstanding and breakfast was wholesome and plentiful. Our beds were extremely comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. Perhaps we should expect this from any decent hotel, but what made this place special was the attention to detail, such as bringing a full flask of fresh milk to our room (as opposed to those tiny cartons of UHT milk, of which there are never enough) and the sheep-covered hot water bottle sitting on our bed.
This was our first visit to Cirencester, and despite the extreme cold, lack of sunlight and greenery, we thought it was delightful. Can't wait to go back in the summer to see it in its full glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CABWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I was really pleased to read your review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our menu, especially breakfast as it's the most important meal of the day! For us, good service is all about the attention to detail and making your stay as comfortablke as possible. So I was delighted that the team offered you the professional and friendly service I know they give on a daily basis. I hope to welcome you back again soon - Cirencester is beautiful in the Summer, but don't feel that you have to wait that long to visit again.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dss
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Simple lunch of sausage and mash with a pint. Not cheap but tasty and clearly of good quality. Warm, comfortable room with excellent and cheerful waitress service and the bill to be requested at the end. Warm welcome for those with a dog - really makes the place seem homely.

Think I will try and find an excuse for a stay there sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Fleece. We love that we're a pet friendly inn and 2 of our bedrooms also allow dogs so if you do think of an excuse to stay with us, you could also bring a canine friend with you.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having just returned from a wonderful romantic birthday weekend in the Cotswolds, i would highly recommend the Fleece in Cirencester.
Its location is perfect for exploring all the wonderful shops & the art & craft fayre that runs on a saturday.
Our Bedroom was spacious and beautifully decorated, with a huge bed, big bathroom, tv, Wifi, tea & coffee - all the usual. Plus some helpful leaflets on things to see & do in Cirencester.
The bar & restaurant are a variety of different rooms, all warm & welcoming.
The staff were very helpful & they told us that the restaurant was fully booked that evening for dinner, but we could eat in the lounge, which is what we did, by the big open fire.
The waiters & waitresses were very helpful & attentive & the food was devine.
There's nothing I could fault, it was just a shame that the weather was so poor - but on the up - side it means we will have to return to the Fleece in the spring! I cant wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments following your birthday weekend in Cirencester. It's great to read that you loved the food and service we offer - I know the team were delighted to read your comments too! We all hope to welcome you back again soon - and we are hoping for better weather too!

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited the Fleece again Sat 2 Feb for dinner and an overnight stay, some 10 months after the re-opening after the refurbishment. Glad to say we found that the same high standards of friendly service and attention have been maintained. In particular we were very pleased that despite the presence of a large celebrating party at dinner there were no noticeable delays in service to other guests - a fault we have found all too often in other establishments. Dinner itself was excellent. The bedroom and ensuite were clean and well prepared and the bed itself very comfortable. A nice touch, also still maintained, was the issue on checking in of a thermos flask of fresh cold milk to use in the room instead of the small UHT cartons so often found.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lescor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I'm really pleased to hear that you found our standards to have been maintained so long after your last visit. We take pride in our service being friendly and professional, especially when organising large parties alongside our residents. I hope we can welcome you back to the Fleece again soon.

Kind regards
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
3.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
536 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing