We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place right in the centre of Cirencester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleece at Cirencester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a place right in the centre of Cirencester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We chose this place based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. A striking looking place with a beautifully refurbished interior. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful, our evening meal was outstanding and breakfast was wholesome and plentiful. Our beds were extremely comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. Perhaps we should expect this from any decent hotel, but what made this place special was the attention to detail, such as bringing a full flask of fresh milk to our room (as opposed to those tiny cartons of UHT milk, of which there are never enough) and the sheep-covered hot water bottle sitting on our bed.
This was our first visit to Cirencester, and despite the extreme cold, lack of sunlight and greenery, we thought it was delightful. Can't wait to go back in the summer to see it in its full glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CABWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I was really pleased to read your review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our menu, especially breakfast as it's the most important meal of the day! For us, good service is all about the attention to detail and making your stay as comfortablke as possible. So I was delighted that the team offered you the professional and friendly service I know they give on a daily basis. I hope to welcome you back again soon - Cirencester is beautiful in the Summer, but don't feel that you have to wait that long to visit again.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    199
    93
    42
    27
See reviews for
113
289
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dss
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Simple lunch of sausage and mash with a pint. Not cheap but tasty and clearly of good quality. Warm, comfortable room with excellent and cheerful waitress service and the bill to be requested at the end. Warm welcome for those with a dog - really makes the place seem homely.

Think I will try and find an excuse for a stay there sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Fleece. We love that we're a pet friendly inn and 2 of our bedrooms also allow dogs so if you do think of an excuse to stay with us, you could also bring a canine friend with you.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having just returned from a wonderful romantic birthday weekend in the Cotswolds, i would highly recommend the Fleece in Cirencester.
Its location is perfect for exploring all the wonderful shops & the art & craft fayre that runs on a saturday.
Our Bedroom was spacious and beautifully decorated, with a huge bed, big bathroom, tv, Wifi, tea & coffee - all the usual. Plus some helpful leaflets on things to see & do in Cirencester.
The bar & restaurant are a variety of different rooms, all warm & welcoming.
The staff were very helpful & they told us that the restaurant was fully booked that evening for dinner, but we could eat in the lounge, which is what we did, by the big open fire.
The waiters & waitresses were very helpful & attentive & the food was devine.
There's nothing I could fault, it was just a shame that the weather was so poor - but on the up - side it means we will have to return to the Fleece in the spring! I cant wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments following your birthday weekend in Cirencester. It's great to read that you loved the food and service we offer - I know the team were delighted to read your comments too! We all hope to welcome you back again soon - and we are hoping for better weather too!

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited the Fleece again Sat 2 Feb for dinner and an overnight stay, some 10 months after the re-opening after the refurbishment. Glad to say we found that the same high standards of friendly service and attention have been maintained. In particular we were very pleased that despite the presence of a large celebrating party at dinner there were no noticeable delays in service to other guests - a fault we have found all too often in other establishments. Dinner itself was excellent. The bedroom and ensuite were clean and well prepared and the bed itself very comfortable. A nice touch, also still maintained, was the issue on checking in of a thermos flask of fresh cold milk to use in the room instead of the small UHT cartons so often found.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lescor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I'm really pleased to hear that you found our standards to have been maintained so long after your last visit. We take pride in our service being friendly and professional, especially when organising large parties alongside our residents. I hope we can welcome you back to the Fleece again soon.

Kind regards
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

A pleasant hotel for a 2-night stay, well situated in the centre of town. The rooms were comfortable and the food was quite good. The restaurant service on a busy night was a bit hit and miss, but the overall impression was still good. Bar prices are definitely on the high side, though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that you found the Restaurant service to be a bit hit and miss, this is something I have addressed with the team and we will focus on this as we continue to develop our training plan. I'm pleased that you had a comfortable stay, and that you enjoyed our food. We hope to welcome you back to the Fleece again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at the Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucestershire.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I went to the Fleece with a group of friends for dinner last night and came away at the end of the evening feeling disapointed.

Firstly the upside, the establishment has obviously had a major refurbishment, but not sure if it was to my taste. My starter however, the Mushroom soup, was excellent. Very tasty, and very warming on a cold winters night with snow outside. Served with some lovelly bread, there are just not enough superlatives to describe the dish.

Came to the main course and I was very disapointed. I opted for the homemade burger and I dont like food that is served on wooden boards! A shame they dont serve on proper plates, it doesnt seem very hygienic to my way of thinking. Add to this, the burger was cold, the chips luke warm. If I had been on my own rather than a group I would have said something at the time, but when you are with a large group you dont like to spoil the evening for everyone.

Looking around the other main dishes that the other members of my group had ordered, the only one that looked really good was the beer battered fish and chips, and my friend who ordered them said that they tasted as good as it looked. Of the other dishes, the portions all look on the small size, very noticeable with the lamb which is served on a very large plate so you get large gaps on the plate - all rather pretentious. Several of the other dishes were served in these retro looking enamel bowls - all rather 1950's! The staff on the whole are trying to do a good job, even if earlier in the evening when two of my friends were in conversation and the waiter wanted to join in!

At the end of the evening, I came away feeling disapointed. The food is expensive compared to the size of the portions and quite frankly I have had better food and quality at one of the large pub chains such as Whetherspoons!

Just a word of warning to anyone wanting to stay at this hotel - since the refurbishment they no longer have a hotel reception. Guests have to check into their rooms, with all their luggage at the bar!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Standard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your meal here at the Fleece. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the soup - the Chefs work hard to prepare fresh dishes, and I know they were pleased to hear your comments. The fish and chips is one of our best sellers so we're also pleased that your friend enjoyed it. We try to incorporate a wide variety of dishes into our menu, ranging from traditional pub fayre such as the Fleece Burger, to modern classics including the Oxfordshire Lamb or the Brixham Cod, and as the dishes vary so does the presentation.
We do serve some of our dishes on wooden boards, as we feel that it enhances the presentation. I would like to assure you that our kitchen team take cleanliness and hygiene very seriously and would not use the boards if they were unsuitable. I hope that we can welcome you back to the Fleece again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Live close to Cirencester, just popped into the Fleece for a Coffee. Very nice! Clean, friendly and very reasonably priced Will return. Cirencester has many coffee shops, this was just a little bit more up market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit to the Fleece. We take a lot of pride in the service we offer, and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon, maybe for lunch next time.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing