We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Enjoyed a first rate Sunday lunch here today. Service was great, food delicious and the price is very reasonable. Lovely surroundings, clean and welcoming. Wouldn't hesitate. Have also enjoyed a work Christmas lunch here in recent months, again superb, staff make a real effort, seem genuinely happy to be working and very attentive but not overwhelming. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandPeterWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It’s great to hear you have enjoyed The Fleece over the past few months. Our Sunday Roasts are really popular, with Beef on the menu every week, along with another roast, and the team work hard to make sure everyone is looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    211
    100
    44
    29
See reviews for
116
304
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very warm and welcoming hotel, with very tasteful decor in the rooms and lots of attention to detail, e.g. a mini flask of real milk delivered to the room for your hot drink making, rather then the usual uht milk.

I paid just below £100 for the room for a night and though this was excellent value.

I would recommend this place to anyone, business or tourist travel.

The staff were great and gave a highly commited level of service, especially the very helpful receptionist. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cirianon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I was so pleased to read your feedback, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Fleece. I’m pleased you appreciated the fresh milk…it really does make a difference! We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went here 28th December Christmas present. What a great place. Good location in the centre of Cirencester downside hotel car park very small and not suitable for bigger vehicles, however plenty of public car parks nearby. Reception is in the busy bar of the inn but very helpful and quick. Room 6 on the third(top) floor very clean and warm great bathroom with plenty of towels. We had booked a table in the restaurant essential to book as restaurant is very busy. The standard of service by all staff in the restaurant was exceptional and quality of the food 1st class. After great meal up to bed for a very comfortable sleep.Breakfast served in the bar very nice table cloths however I did think that some of the staffs uniforms had seen better days. Quality of breakfast just OK included in the tarrif but being honest not the same standard of food we enjoyed in the restaurant. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to bedrooms ask if you need lower floor . Lots of stairs to room's no lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve in staffs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback following your stay with us. I was really pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the food and comfy beds!
I really hope we’ll be welcoming you back to Cirencester and The Fleece soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A really friendly, unique hotel. Food was excellent, accommodation clean and well maintained. Breakfast scrummy. Our room was a little 'cosy', but it was one of the less expensive and other rooms we saw were larger.

Room Tip: We were in Room 5. It was nice, but a little small. Room 6 next door was bigger. And also if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us, which I was glad to hear you enjoyed. We too love the breakfasts our kitchen team create – they really do set you up for the day! I hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a two night stay here this weekend and I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed in Room 23, a character suite which was huge. I'm a light sleeper and it was a lovely quiet room too away from the high street. The breakfast was delicious, with efficient and attentive service/staff and oh so cosy eating in the bar looking at the festive lights outside on the high street. We ended up having dinner in the hotel both nights after looking around Cirencester for other places to eat and couldn't beat the hotel's atmosphere, food and welcoming feeling. The food was delicious! This hotel and bar seems to be the hub of Cirencester; busy but they always make sure they have a table for guests staying which was welcome. The staff were top class, attending to our every need but not over bearing. It really was the most perfect, cosy, festive weekend. A wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoetravel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I’m really pleased to read that the team offered you the fantastic guest service that I know they do every day – and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fleece again sometime soon!

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at The Fleece in Cirencester to celebrate an anniversary and what a treat! Upgraded our room to quiet double overlooking courtyard. Really spacious with great bed and very comfortable. Two things that can be put right....bed linen nice but for price needs to be Egyptian Pure Cotton. Also can't stand shower over bath with clinging shower curtain. Bathroom needs to have walk in shower please! Lovely towels and spotlessly clean.
Young staff are fantastic. Michaela the dining manager was superb and Kate and Lee were very efficient and charming. All staff were well trained and very competent. Service in a very busy inn is fantastic.
Food is brilliant lots of choice,lovely linen napkins and log fires and ambience cannot be faulted. Adored the red check tablecloths at breakfast.
We loved it and will definitely return to this vibrant, homely and welcoming hotel. Well done Thwaites! More like this across our great country!

Room Tip: We upgraded to larger room at back.Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydiabirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us – I know the team were very pleased to read this too! Some of our bathrooms do have walk in showers – next time you come to stay just let us know, and we will ensure that you stay in one of these rooms. Thwaites Inns of Character are expanding as we speak – there will soon be more like us all over the country for you to visit, but make sure you come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel. The staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating; really smiley, happy, friendly staff. The hotel bar and restuarant were constantly busy and buzzy which I really liked. We ate in the restuarant [I had the risotto which was delicious] and then moved to sit next to the roaring fire for a few drinks. Our room was warm, clean and lovely. The hotel is old so there is some creaking around at night from other guests but this did not bother us at all. Breakfast was lovely and the location is perfect to explore. There's a pizza express just up the road and another lovely Italian restuarant but you do need to book else you wont get a table. I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a weekend stay in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel, which had lovely views of the town and we could just see the cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I’m really pleased to read your review of your recent stay with us, and I know the team were delighted to read it too! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the character and location of the Fleece, and we hope you’ll be back to visit us again soon!

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
565 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
900 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing