We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleece at Cirencester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The bar area was heaving with people having lunch - always a good sign - we eventually found a tall table with stools and were quickly served. Great service and lovely food during a very busy time. The childrens meals were especially amazing value at £3.50 for a lovely big portion. The fleece fills a restaurant gap that Cirencester has been missing for a long time - we will be returning regularly and will highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Fleece. I’m pleased to read about your experiences with us, especially that your children enjoyed their meals! We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Best wishes,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    199
    93
    42
    27
See reviews for
113
289
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked for family Sunday lunch, first problem when they'd double booked our restaurant table and bumped us into the bar.
Problem with the starters, not the quality of the food or kitchen, but the waiting staff just don't pay attention to the correct order.
Problem with the main course......couldn't be simpler, three sunday roasts, two medium, one medium/well. When they arrived, we asked, which are the medium "ohh I don't know, I just took them out of the kitchen before the chef could say"
Problem with communication, waiting staff stood at bar talking to each other, with backs to the diners......very difficult to catch their attention and very frustrating.
Food was excellent, but all the hard work and effort by the chef and kitchen staff is being outweighed by the ineptitude of front of house team.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Fleece. We take on board all feedback that we receive and I sincerely apologise for the double booking that occurred on this occasion. We did try to rectify this by reserving you one of our nicest tables in the bar area, followed by a complimentary round of drinks. Having read your comments regarding service, I have spoken to the team at length about the importance of communication with the chefs and also how important it is to always be available to our guests so that mistakes like this do not happen. I would like to invite you and your family back to The Fleece for Sunday Lunch so that we can offer you the service I know the team give every day. Please contact me directly so that we can make arrangements. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Best wishes,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my partner visited The Fleece at Cirencester for a weekend out of London. All started well, we arrived on the Saturday and was greeted with a smile and our room was available early.

We decided to book dinner at The Fleece due to all the good reviews and this is where it all started to go down hill. We ordered the fillet steak but asked for thin fries rather than hand cut chips. We were told the food had a 30 minute delay which was fine but then the order came out wrong so we had to wait longer for the chips, where the chips were then cooked quickly they just tasted of pure oil. My steak was very quickly cold, maybe warming the plates could have avoided this. Our wine was the best part of the meal.

The room was as expected but it seems we were just unlucky as we had a guy in the room next door and was coughing all night and then at 7am they were having a conversation that felt like they were in our room with us!

All in all the stay was OK but fairly expensive for an average meal / nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, and I am sorry that on this occasion, your dinner experience did not meet our usual high standards. I have shared your comments with the team, to highlight the importance of clarity when taking orders, as a guest, you understand a wait for food when we are busy, but it should be correct when it does arrive.
The hotel has some great history, but that does mean we also have some creaky floorboards, and soundproofing is not as high as in purpose built, modern hotels. If you let us know when making any future reservations, we can allocate a room which where the noise of any neighbours should be a minimum.

Best wishes,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent the weekend in Cirencester and cannot wait to return to The Fleece. Rooms were spotless (which is quite rare in the UK) and the service from check-in to check-out was immaculate. Our room was at the back of the building so very quiet and we did not hear any noise from the street. The breakfast was good but the service was quite bad: we do understand that weekends can be hectic, but it is not in order to seat guests at a dirty table and not change the soiled table cloth or at least wipe the surface clean.
All in all we would definitely return but opt for breakfast next door at Starbucks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to read that you were so pleased with your room and the service – I know the girls in Housekeeping were also very happy to read this! I apologise for the service you experienced at breakfast – you’re right, Sunday mornings can be a bit busy but this is no excuse for dirty tables and we have passed this on to the team. We have also looked at staffing, and have made adjustments to ensure that busy weekend breakfasts run much more smoothly in future. Thank you again, and we hope you will come and visit us again very soon!

Best wishes,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My girlfriends and I had dinner here this week and we all loved it. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and made us feel really welcome as soon as we arrived. The menu is great and although we did wait some time for our meals it didn't matter because we were enjoying the buzzy atmosphere. Cirencester has been lacking a decent restaurant/bar and thankfully The Fleece is now filling that gap rather well! I will definitely be spreading the word and going back very soon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank loopylou712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review – I’m very pleased to hear that you were made to feel so welcome here at the Fleece. We have a wonderful team, who take pride in making our guests feel at home, and I know they will all be pleased to read your comments too! We look forward to seeing you and your friends again very soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itoshima-shi, Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited the Cotswold for the first time, and were so happy we chose Cirencester as our base, with enough going on and interesting shops and restaurants. The Fleece was wonderful, the service great and a very friendly manager (Rebecca) heads a team of friendly staff too.
The breakfast was great, full English first day, kippers and eggs Benedict the second, loved the Roberts radio and general atmosphere at breakfast. Dinner was excellent with good portion sizes and everything hot, the food really is top notch. Make sure you book for dinner, it seems a busy venue. Room was lovely, courtyard view, no noise to speak of. Only point for concern was parking space is very tight, but being in the heart of a busy town, I guess it's understandable. We would love to return and explore the area again, this is the perfect place to do it from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisMisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, and your positive comments. I’m pleased to read that you had such a great time in Cirencester, and that the team offered you the friendly, professional service I know they give every day. Thank you also for your comments on our food – our Head Chef Steve and his team work very hard to create such delicious meals, and they are very happy that you enjoyed them. We hope to see you at the Fleece again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Recebtky refurbished, this hotel is a great place to stay, except for one thing. If you get a room on the main road side (where market is held) the noise from late night revellers is extremely loud. This goes on well into the early hours and ear plugs do nothing to quell the shouting, singing and screaming. You will not sleep well. We couldn't move room as hotel was busy and we had the dog with us.
The staff at the hotel are really great and friendly. Very nice people. The food was ok, but could still improve. Getting a slab of pâté and one very small slice of briosh to eat it with wasnt great! Asked for more.
If you have a dog, well behaved that is, then they are very welcoming and are allowed in bar area too.
We really enjoyed our second stay there and are likely to stay again, albeit in a room off the main road!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always taken on board. We’re really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, and next time you visit us, please let me know directly and I will ensure you are allocated a room away from the Market Place. Your lovely dog will always be welcome – we’re all animal lovers here at the Fleece, and we also donate 10% of the fee we charge for pets to a local animal rescue charity, Teckles. We hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing