We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but road noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fleece at Cirencester
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place, but road noisy”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Recebtky refurbished, this hotel is a great place to stay, except for one thing. If you get a room on the main road side (where market is held) the noise from late night revellers is extremely loud. This goes on well into the early hours and ear plugs do nothing to quell the shouting, singing and screaming. You will not sleep well. We couldn't move room as hotel was busy and we had the dog with us.
The staff at the hotel are really great and friendly. Very nice people. The food was ok, but could still improve. Getting a slab of pâté and one very small slice of briosh to eat it with wasnt great! Asked for more.
If you have a dog, well behaved that is, then they are very welcoming and are allowed in bar area too.
We really enjoyed our second stay there and are likely to stay again, albeit in a room off the main road!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always taken on board. We’re really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, and next time you visit us, please let me know directly and I will ensure you are allocated a room away from the Market Place. Your lovely dog will always be welcome – we’re all animal lovers here at the Fleece, and we also donate 10% of the fee we charge for pets to a local animal rescue charity, Teckles. We hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    209
    97
    44
    29
See reviews for
115
303
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am currently stayin in the hotel while working in Cirencester with my team of four. We have found the fleece to be excellent. The food is also outstanding, I am looking forward to the next 8 weeks in the fleece. Thanks for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review – we aim to make everyone feel at home at the Fleece, especially our long-stay guests are you are away for so long! We’re looking forward to the next 8 weeks too, with lots going on at the Fleece – you’ll feel like part of the family before you know it!

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When my wife and I wanted a short break in the Cotswolds, we decided to try one of the Thwaites inns that are part of the Shires group. We’ve stayed at most of the Shires hotels around the UK - we feel comfortable with the consistent style of the hotels, the facilities, comfort & cleanliness of the rooms, the ambiance of the dining rooms and quality of the food. We also like the fact that the majority of staff are British and that the hotel group appears to have resisted the trend in a lot of other hotels of employing many Eastern European people, presumably to reduce costs. Whilst I applaud the work ethic of many Eastern Europeans, it is refreshing to see British youngsters being given employment and career opportunities.
As The Fleece is an old inn in the centre of the town, there were obviously compromises that the main hotels, which are located next to motorway junctions, do not have to contend with. Parking is one issue which other reviewers have mentioned; we were lucky and always found a parking space in the cramped car park at the rear of the hotel. However, there is a municipal car park nearby for which the hotel can provide a permit to enable guests to park there from 4pm until 10am without charge. Tip: if you have a choice of cars to travel in, the smaller one will make parking much easier in the hotel car park!
We stayed in a standard room towards the back of the hotel. It had no real character, but it was comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. The shower was good and the windows all opened and closed securely, which is not always the case in old inns. As expected, there was no fridge in the room, but fresh milk was available in a flask on request – so much nicer than the little UHT pots.
Being mid August, it was warm in the room and there was no air conditioning. However, a fan was provided, although we don’t like using these at night because of the noise. With the windows open during the evening, we could easily hear chatter and laugher until around 10:30 pm, so if you have young children to settle down, it could be worth asking for a room that doesn’t back on to noisy areas. As is usual these days, the bed top cover was a duvet, which I always find too hot even in winter, but we were content just to sleep on top of the duvet without covers. I’m sure we could have asked for a light cover of some sort, but we didn’t bother. The pillows were good quality and there were extra ones in the wardrobe, which I was pleased to find.
The breakfast food was a commendable subset of the selection provided in the main Shires hotels. In particular, the fresh fruit salad and summer fruit compote was of high quality, as was the cooked English breakfast. Unexpectedly, we also ate there every evening of our 3-night stay; we were anticipating trying other eating places in Cirencester, but too many items on the menu at the Fleece appealed to us. Another draw was the delicious Half Nelson guest beer!
I concur with other reviewers positive comments about the young, friendly staff and also with the sometimes frenetic activity around the bar, which doubled as a reception. I guess it matches the general bustle of a town centre rather than the more restrained atmosphere of a typical hotel. We quite liked the ambiance it created, although I can see that if there was any serious discussion needed, it could prove difficult when it’s busy.
It was great being able to stroll out from the hotel right into the centre of town after the evening meal, which was a big plus point for us. At the main Shires hotels, there’s often nowhere appealing to walk once you’ve wandered up to the roundabout leading to the motorway or round the business park!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_from_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for all of your positive comments, we know that parking can be difficult here, but as you mentioned we try to ease this with the permits we have for an alternative car park nearby. As you know from experience with our sister hotels, it’s the small details that make all the difference – and our fresh flasks of milk are just one of many little touches we use to make our guests feel more at home. I’m pleased you had such a great stay here, and that you enjoyed our menu so much – our Head Chef Steve and his team work tirelessly to ensure we offer the best selection we can. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Arrived fresh from a stay in a wonderful four-star hotel so perhaps wasn't expecting too much from The Fleece. But, what a pleasant surprise! The staff (all of them seemed young) were friendly and helpful. We were taken to our room as the corridors were quaint and labyrinthine and giving directions could be a nightmare!
The room was clean and very tastefully appointed in a very modern style. With the windows open, the conversations from the inner courtyard below were sometimes difficult to ignore!
The restaurant was stylish, modern and evoked an easy and relaxed atmosphere. Even though it was mid-week, it was well patronised. Hardly surprising when we tasted the food. Very good fare. I refused to be fazed by the size of the Mixed Berry Sundae!
Two very pleasant nights were had by all; we shall definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Arrive early as there is limited close parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Fleece at Cirencester.
With a building with such history and winding corridors, we do try and take guests to their rooms, so we can help them along the way! I was pleased to read your comments about the recently refurbished bedrooms and bar, restaurant and lounge, we too are really pleased with the results. And I have to agree – the Summer Berry Sundae is a must on a Summer’s evening!
I really hope we can welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Arrived at 4 on a very hot Saturday afternoon. Parking available at the back of the hotel on a first come first served basis. All very friendly staff, but busy - so left waiting for a bit. Taken up to our rooms... Kids room which was a twin was very bright and airy (3). Our double room was a bit smaller and dark (2). Nicely decorated-all fine. Didn't stay for too long as we wanted to go out to the shops before they closed. Had a drink in the bar when we got back. Very slow service. 45mins till our drinks came. Went up to our room to freshen up. That is when we noticed that our two rooms overlooked the smoking courtyard. Dreadful! Sound and smoke travels straight into our rooms. Complained. But not very sympathetic. Did offer to move the kids to a different room. But that was all. Kids didn't want to move away from us. Told them that they should let customers know. Wouldn't stay again but food in restaurant was outstanding!

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms 2 or 3. Overlooking smoking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and all the very positive comments in it about our rooms and food. I am so sorry to read that you were disturbed by other guests on the terrace - we do try to ensure that this area is not used late in to the night, and I know the team did try to police this knowing that you had raised these concerns on the night.
Though on a more positive note, I’m delighted to read you found the food in the restaurant outstanding and I really do hope that you will come back and stay with us, if you call me personally I’ll make sure we allocate rooms away from the terrace for you.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a nicely renovated hotel bar in a beautiful town that was lacking anywhere other than pubs for city centre entertainment. But my, they need to train their well meaning and courteous staff in elementary bar tending. Have been four times this year. Each time service confused and slow. Wine not properly chilled. Staff cannot answer simple questions about beverages. Nadir was when I ordered a dry martini and was just given a glass of martini! When I explained what a dry martini was, the batman poured in a 25 ml shot of house gin and thought that was fine. Oh well, it's given me a story I suppose.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I’m really pleased you like the recently finished refurbishment here at The Fleece at Cirencester. I was concerned to read your comments regarding bar service during your visits, and it is something I have addressed with the team with regards to service standards and their efficiency.
My sincere apologies about the Martini confusion – we don’t currently offer cocktails, which means the team have little knowledge of what goes into them, or how to make them, which should have been communicated to you.
Please do ask for me next time you are in, so I can meet with you in person, and get you a drink with my compliments.

Best regards
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We're local to the area and admire the result of the rennovations to the hotel. I visited in the spring just for a drink with some "girlfriends" and we were well looked after. However, the restaurant didn't measure up in so many ways. The mixed fish grill was three tiny and tasteless pieces of fish, with a pile of thin chips in a bowl. Very poor value for £15+ with no veg. The puff pastry balanced on a "trendy" enamel bowl of steak and kidney was farcical. You know the pastry was cooked from frozen seperately. Quality of meat was very average. Cleaning and spraying tables when we were still eating was unpleasant. Somebody with the knowledge needs to train the nice people serving us, and to pick up many things to raise their game to match their prices.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happydays055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving a review and I am sorry that you felt that the atmosphere was pretentious as this is most certainly not what we’re aiming for. We work hard to create a relaxed and informal feel throughout all the areas – bar, lounge and terrace – of The Fleece and I’m disappointed to hear that on this occasion we didn’t live up to this. Thank you also for your comments about the menu - we take all of this to heart and will make sure it goes ‘in to the pot’ for the next menu review.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team at The Fleece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
724 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
559 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,472 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Property: The Fleece at Cirencester
Address: 41 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing