We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A well appointed, spacious house surrounded by...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
back of  house
Kitchen
Upstairs Decked terrace
Double bedroom
Sunset from Terrace
Bedroom 2 with doors to decked terrace
Terrace
Single Bedroom
Art Spa with Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools
Tennis Court
Gym
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cantwards
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We booked as three families for a new year 3 day break. We paid a considerable fee of £1800 which we accepted as a new year premium. The cottage was a disappointment. It is not a cottage but a town house which can accommodate many but just one allocated parking space. With three families with children this was a problem as the overflow parking was full. We first entered the cottage and our toddler found a bottle of superglue left on the stairs. The heating in the downstairs twin room didn't work. The mattress on the ground floor was bloodstained. The furniture in the dining room is damaged and worn and the living room ceiling was covered in cobwebs. The cottage didn't feel clean - stained carpets, stained ground floor bathroom and Christmas wrapping found from previous tenant. We contacted the owner immediately on our return and sent him the photos as requested. He said we should have contacted the site maintenance - this was not explicit but also in a weekend away would a maintenance team fix radiators and heating systems, replace carpets and furniture and also should this need to be the case? He said he would investigate - he came back with an offer of 10% off a future booking and a gift, this was later extended to the three families. We requested a 20% refund but this was refused and we have sought advice and are pursuing this further. We have been more than reasonable and patient with the owner and if you read previous reviews you can see that we are usually incredibly positive. A huge and expensive disappointment to us. Photos of concerns available on request

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
At Blueberry Cottage we take our guests opinions and feedback very seriously. In this case I immediately investigated the complaints in person, as it is our endeavour to keep Blueberry Cottage at a high standard, always. I was somewhat perplexed in this case, as the heating in all rooms was functioning, no super glue was left by housekeeping (so a bit of a mystery) and the cleaning following this guest was up to the usual high standard. The carpets are cleaned 4 times a year professionally and also, as and when required, and the property is maintained constantly to keep a high standard, which is reflected in 95% of reviews and our overall 4.5/5 rating. We have onsite housekeeping and maintenance who can be contacted to address any issues from a bulb replacement to more bin bags plus any other issues that may need attention. During the 4 days that this guest stayed at Blueberry neither myself nor housekeeping or maintenance were contacted at all to address any issues.
We have completed our January maintenance schedule and ensured that any small issues that may have occurred over the Christmas and New Year period have been addressed in full.
The true purpose of the review system is highly useful to both future guests, in informing them of what to realistically expect, and owners, to ensure they know what needs improving and what their guests love. It is misleading to both owners and guests, when the review system is used as a threat to exaggerate issues and experiences in order to coerce owners.
Lower Mill Estate, upon which Blueberry Cottage sits, has over 400 acres of private land and woodland, tennis courts, 4 swimming pools, a spa, gym and treatments rooms as well as a restaurant, shop, canoe and bike hire and its situated in an area of outstanding beauty. Blueberry Cottage is a 5 bedroom property with 3 metre high ceilings, copious natural light and direct views and decking over clearwater Lake, with Ducks, Swans and Herons swimming past. The quality of furnishings, artworks and equipment is top quality and the rooms are well appointed and spacious. There is 1 dedicated parking space and 3 overflow carparks on the estate as well as 24 hour security and onsite maintenance and housekeeping services
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A well appointed, spacious house surrounded by excellent facilities”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was a family gathering to celebrate a birthday with a wide age range to accommodate (13 weeks up to 89 years!). The house has lots of different sleeping options, a big sitting area with delightful view over the lake, well equipped kitchen (both on first floor) indoor and outdoor spaces. The estate offers nice walk, tennis and kick about, cafe, lovely spa - no need to get in the car for the whole weekend. Even with real downpours on the Saturday we had plenty of space and activity on hand.
The only downsides for us were:
Parking is at a premium which requires management for drop off and departure. Inevitably a group booking an 11 bed place will arrive in a number of cars. Be prepared!
No loo on the first floor (where all the daytime activity is) and the downstairs is the only loo not en suite. Steepish stairs were not a problem for our athletic octogenarian but might be for less mobile folk.
Downstairs bedrooms (8 beds) were chilly at night and duvets summer type.
Info pack provided was out of date and confusing - hopefully where will have addressed this by the time you go there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Variety of activity at hand
Liked least: Info pack
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanwN657...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful location for all the family”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family holiday group of 10 ranged from 3 to 67 years and everyone enjoyed the whole Lower Mill Estate experience. This location is a little known jewel in the Cotswolds that should satisfy most people. We had the opportunity to use 4 swimming pools, one of which is an eco pool along with gym equipment in the on site spa. A must try location.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn C
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely accommodation but NO information on getting into the place?!”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Nice, comfortable accommodation. We were three days in before we were aware of any information on how things worked in the house, hidden away in a box!! We had to ask the cleaning lady about the keys etc on arrival at the cottage, and followed another car through the main gate as we weren't given the code. It was not a good start to our holiday as we had all travelled far and wide and were tired and looking forward to getting in and relaxing with a cuppa or something stronger!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks, the swimming pools and the peacefulness and views
Liked least: The oven did not work properly and consequently a birthday cake was ruined.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Firtsly, thank you for booking Blueberry Cottage. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and Lower Mill. Due to the amount of information we provide (spa brochure, directions, entry instructions etc) we send a zip file. We have found that on some devices this zip file does not show up or cannot be opened. When you let us know you did not get it we immediately resent it. However, we can only imagine that the issue was to do with the zip file. We recommend all guests read the information on a PC. However, to stop this happening again we will also be sending the information to drop box.

We apologise that the directions and information did not reach you on this occasion. Thanks for your review.

Blueberry Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJW64MJW6...
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a wonderful place this was. Cottage is a misnomer; beautiful 3 storey spacious house. Fully equipped with everything you could need; we cooked in one night and ate out the other. Plenty of space for everyone to be together in one place, but equally with the two large decks plenty of space to move round and mingle. Would definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soopersta...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home for all ages in great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

8 adults and 3 small children spent a lovely week in this terrific house. Very well appointed throughout and with a great view over a lake. The owner kindly agreed to Wed to Wed rental and to allow us to have a dog with us. The complex has a great spa/swimming pool and play areas to amuse the kids and is well located in the wonderful Cotswolds. This is a great house for a large family get-together with ample bedrooms and bathrooms and large community areas.One drawback is parking with only 1 car allowed to park by the property and all others have to park in the overspill car park which is small. Wifi was free but patchy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Car parking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sushdhami
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our party consisted in age range from 1 to 77 and this holiday catered for all ages. The cottage was well equipped, with a large open plan kitchen/ living room. The balconies overlooking the lake felt as though we were really on holiday and the ducks and wildfowl amused the youngsters all day. The cottage was clean and decorated well and provided a good base from which to explore the Cotswolds.
We would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overlooking the Lake
Liked least: Parking - outside the property was very congested
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing