We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place for a family celebration”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Children's playground
Artspa Indoor Swimming Pool
Local Pub 20 minute's walk away
Goose Nest House over the lake
Mill Village on the Lake
Artspa Gym
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
langs96
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a family celebration”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate a family birthday and Goose Nest House fitted the bill. With ages ranging from 4 to 70 there was something for everyone. We enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools; the tennis courts and walked around the pools trying to identify the birds or just splashing in muddy puddles (the 4 & 7 year-olds). It was all very peaceful. The accommodation was excellent: the house was warm, the beds comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped and it was great to have a table large enough for the 10 of us to enjoy lazy meal times. The complimentary Prosecco got the weekend off to a great start! Would love to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time and hope that you may return one day.

Madeleine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinaG6
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect baby/child friendly holiday home”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We really enjoyed our stay. We are a family group ranging in age from 10 months to 62 years and we all had a good time. The Lower Mill Estate is very well kept and the facility's are good quality. The children particularly liked the pools, we used both the indoor and the outdoor pool. They also loved the playgrounds where much fun was had.
We cooked for ourselves most evenings in the very well equipped kitchen and spent evenings looking out over the splendid Somerford Lagoon. There are many varied walks around the lakes and boats for hire should you feel the desire to row across to the small islands in the lake. We didn't, but spent time watching those that did.
Wildlife is literally on your doorstep every morning.
To sum up, this house has everything a family needs for a great break, plus the best view to wake up to in the morning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
We are so pleased that you had a lovey multi generational family holiday at Goose Nest House. We agree you can never get bored of the views and maybe next time you might venture out in a canoe on Somerford Lagoon!

Bat wishes
Madeleine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosbee48
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a happy family holiday to suit all ages.”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We came across Goose Nest House by chance whilst looking for a place where a family of three generations could stay and not be too far a drive London.
What a find - it ticked the boxes on all counts. Thoughtfully equipped accommodation set in a very special location. Swimming pools on site - indoor outdoor and eco. Not to mention cycling, boating and walking facilities to suit all.
The weather was kind to us too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you all had a lovely holiday and found the house to your liking.

Madeleine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetwood...
Nerja
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and well equipped”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I booked Goose Nest House for our multi generation Christmas family gathering. Delighted by our choice. House was tastefully decorated and felt welcoming and cared for. Extras had been left...champagne, biscuits etc along with the welcome tray. Nice touches that make a difference. Bedding, towels etc. we're of good quality. There was ample crockery, cutlery and a plethora of family games. The house was very warm and spotlessly clean on our arrival. The views over the lagoon were ever changing and glorious. The house is quite near the spa and restaurant area but still quiet and private. All of us enjoyed the spa facilities and various walks Lower Mill Estate afforded. Cirencester is a 15 minute drive away. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas at Goose Nest House. We feel it is a big responsibility providing a welcoming home for families at the special time of year and are so pleased you had such a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire G
1 review
“Fantastic facilities!”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Thanks very much for a great stay. We had 4 children in our party ranging from 5 months to 7 years. All the facilities provided for young children were excellent and made the holiday much more enjoyable. Great views and surroundings too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased the toys in the house kept everyone entertained.
Madeleine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol-U...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Looking for a family holiday home, to celebrate my fathers retirement, x 7 adults, 1 x 2 year old, 1 x 3 month old baby and delighted we found Goosnest, it really was the perfect find. The house is very well equipped, plenty of space, good sized rooms, lovely lounge with full glass aspect, onto balcony & lake view - simply stunning. Spa very nice and of high standard, definitely hope to return...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time at Goose Nest House to celebrate such a special occasion. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Madeleine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful, peaceful, luxurious”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Goose Nest House was a joy and we all had such a lovely week. The kitchen is well equipped and the bedrooms and bath/shower rooms all excellent. The Estate was very peaceful despite it being school holiday time. Somerford Lagoon on our doorstep was idyllic and it was wonderful to sit on the balcony watching a family of swans and cygnets on the grass below. We put up one of the blackout blinds and it really made a difference to the front bedroom where our three year old granddaughter was sleeping. There were just a few things that could do with some attention: the baby monitor was missing in the children's bedroom, the bath/shower rooms could do with some shelves as there's nowhere to put toiletries, towel rails for the bath towels as there isn't sufficient space for two bath towels on the radiator, metal handle saucepans aren't user friendly as the handles get very hot (one saucepan had a loose handle, which could be dangerous), the dishwasher had run out of salt and rinse aid, which we replenished (perhaps these could be checked between lets). None of the above minor matters detracted from our wonderful stay. Thank you Madeleine and Paul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and idyllic location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you couldn't find the baby monitor - we asked our local manager to check and it was in the cupboard with the baby feeding items. The dishwasher tablets we provide have salt and rinse aid in them so we don't add additional to the dishwasher between bookings but we do top up on a regular basis. We will look at providing shelving in the bathroom in response to your feedback.

We do our best to ensure that we meet people's expectations and are pleased that you and your family had a relaxing holiday. Best wishes Madeleine and Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing