We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Fantastic”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Children's playground
Artspa Indoor Swimming Pool
Local Pub 20 minute's walk away
Goose Nest House over the lake
Mill Village on the Lake
Artspa Gym
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bristol-U...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Looking for a family holiday home, to celebrate my fathers retirement, x 7 adults, 1 x 2 year old, 1 x 3 month old baby and delighted we found Goosnest, it really was the perfect find. The house is very well equipped, plenty of space, good sized rooms, lovely lounge with full glass aspect, onto balcony & lake view - simply stunning. Spa very nice and of high standard, definitely hope to return...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time at Goose Nest House to celebrate such a special occasion. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Madeleine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful, peaceful, luxurious”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Goose Nest House was a joy and we all had such a lovely week. The kitchen is well equipped and the bedrooms and bath/shower rooms all excellent. The Estate was very peaceful despite it being school holiday time. Somerford Lagoon on our doorstep was idyllic and it was wonderful to sit on the balcony watching a family of swans and cygnets on the grass below. We put up one of the blackout blinds and it really made a difference to the front bedroom where our three year old granddaughter was sleeping. There were just a few things that could do with some attention: the baby monitor was missing in the children's bedroom, the bath/shower rooms could do with some shelves as there's nowhere to put toiletries, towel rails for the bath towels as there isn't sufficient space for two bath towels on the radiator, metal handle saucepans aren't user friendly as the handles get very hot (one saucepan had a loose handle, which could be dangerous), the dishwasher had run out of salt and rinse aid, which we replenished (perhaps these could be checked between lets). None of the above minor matters detracted from our wonderful stay. Thank you Madeleine and Paul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and idyllic location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you couldn't find the baby monitor - we asked our local manager to check and it was in the cupboard with the baby feeding items. The dishwasher tablets we provide have salt and rinse aid in them so we don't add additional to the dishwasher between bookings but we do top up on a regular basis. We will look at providing shelving in the bathroom in response to your feedback.

We do our best to ensure that we meet people's expectations and are pleased that you and your family had a relaxing holiday. Best wishes Madeleine and Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndoMando
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Goose Nest is out of this 'wold'!”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A really stunning location and house in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park's Lower Mill Estate. Fantastic views over the lake were jaw dropping and the house was very well equipped and welcoming with lots of entertainment for kids. Just a few minor quibbles include the blind being a bit naff in the downstairs bedroom causing our 8 month old to wake up at 5am each day; a blind is required for the huge window upstairs as the morning sun was a bit overbearing and no batteries in the dvd remote...but these are minor. The estate was wonderful and swimming, walks, tennis courts and Lake to canoe on were just magnificent. We'd definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you for your review I'm sorry that you found the blind insufficient in the downstairs bedroom. We have put black out curtains in the east facing bedrooms but will look again at the quality of the blind in the other bedroom as it has not been raised as an issue before. We leave spare batteries in the drawer for remotes etc and again will check if they need replacing - it's not something we check every time so thank you for raising it with us. We are pleased you had a lovely stay and found our house well equipped for families. We would be very happy to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole T
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect !”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Goosenest for a long weekend over the Easter holiday. We were 3 generations and all were very happy
The house is beautifully maintained and is extremely well equipped, we even found candles for a birthday cake ! Only wish we had found the kiddie carrier before we pushed the pram on a very muddy very lovely walk around the lake....
There are lots of toys for the children and plenty crockery and utensils in the kitchen, which just makes everything so easy
The best thing, for me, was the view and the lake, it is just so peaceful and relaxing, I could never tire of it
Thank you Madeline, little touches make a big difference, the Easter egg and bunnies were a huge hit too !

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a relaxing time away with your family.

Madeleine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titabiba
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really child friendly house and gorgeous location”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great long weekend at the Goose Nest. We were a big group of friends with kids. The house is in great condition and has a lot of stuff for kids. There is plenty to do around the Lower Mill Estate. The spa was a bit overcrowded and full of kids, but there are times when it's adults only swim. All very clean and the location of the house is fantastic.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Thank you for you lovely review. The swimming pool at the spa can get busy during school holidays especially when it first opens in the morning but it does tend to quieten off in the middle of the day and of course, in the summer months the third outdoor swimming pool by the shop is also open and there are even the brave people who use the eco pool or even swim in the lake!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clbdolly
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing property in beautiful location”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We went as a family with 3 generations to celebrate a 40th birthday. The house was very well equipped and had everyhting we needed. It was expscially good for young children and babies as all the equipment you usually have to take was there. The free Spa facilities were excellent. We used the pools and the children had great fun. We went to the restaurant on site for lunch which was very good. Overall I would recommend this to those wanting to go to the Cotswolds for a weekend break or a longer holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wareekgir...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastically perfect - the house and the settings”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

this place is geared to cater for everyone. Well equiped and well organised to very high standards. A beautiful, restful and serene setting. Close to the main entrance, the Spa, the shop and the pub. We couldn't have enjoyed a better weekend. 5 star!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time. We work hard to ensure that our house is equipped for people to come away for a relaxing break and know that everything you need is there for you. Madeleine and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing