We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay with a warm welcome and a sublime breakfast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bear B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cirencester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bear B&B
Ranked #13 of 30 Cirencester B&B and Inns
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay with a warm welcome and a sublime breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here as a stop-over on a long journey to the SW. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We had a lovely big room with plenty of space for us, our dog and two children. Our bed was very comfortable and once we dragged ourselves out of bed we were greeted by a sumptuous breakfast.

Would certainly recommend this as a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CirencesterBear, Owner at The Old Bear B&B, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Lovely review, thank you so much.
And very reassuring for me ( the landlady) that my stan-in ( husband) was fully able to keep the standards up. Sorry that I missed you, but hopefully I may have another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is a true gem. The owner is so lovely and accommodating, the rooms are large, warm and clean. It feels like you are staying at a friend's lovely country home. The breakfast... this could be the best part! Amazing.

I could not recommend this place more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CirencesterBear, Owner at The Old Bear B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it was such a lot of fun to have all your girls to stay.
Felt a bit like Sc. Trinian's for a night. Please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The old Bear is something special, it has tranquillity peace and relaxation as well as a high end boutique hotel feel to the rooms, it is so much more than a B&B it is somewhere special. The lady who runs it is a true host and you can see she really cares, nothing is too much, this is a real oasis and we recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HENDERSON12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CirencesterBear, Owner at The Old Bear B&B, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We really appreciate your lovely review and are so glad that you enjoyed staying here. You were great guests and we welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We re-visited The Old Bear B&B two years after our last visit. Our stay was glorious once again. Anne-Marie & Allan could not be more accommodating — Allan, for example, offered to shuttle us to the start of a hike (about 20 minutes’ drive away), so that we could hike one way if we wished to.

Both rooms are absolutely huge – we visited this time with another couple and there was plenty of room in the “Great Room” for all four of us to sit, read, play games, etc.

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. It’s location, the size of the rooms, quality of the breakfast and the uniqueness of staying in an antique shop make it a true luxury stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhorsfieldbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CirencesterBear, Owner at The Old Bear B&B, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for coming back to stay with us, and a huge thank you for your second lovely review.
The four of you are great guests, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodnewton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at "the Old Bear" and had a very satisfying stay: Wonderful accommodation; Large bedroom with good facilities; Brilliant breakfasts; Great location; Friendly and helpful hosts. We would highly recommend this B&B for a short stay in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stueriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CirencesterBear, Owner at The Old Bear B&B, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review-you were the perfect guests and we hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed for a night in August as I was going to a friend's wedding nearby. The room was huge and absolutely stunning! Very comfortable and had all amenities you could ask for, and lovely to see the antiques downstairs too. All in all it was a perfect stay - highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clo_2012__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

stayed here with my wife and friends over a log weekend
the house is stunning
the kitchen i wanted to take home
the bedrooms, so clean and homely, just felt like you were at home
the breakfast...so so much of it and really well done loved it
good atmosphere of the house
the family are so use to guests and so chilled
lovely little garden to relax in
the furniture...OMG i know where i will go when i win lottery to buy for my house!

just a brilliant experience, thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayoidowu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CirencesterBear, Owner at The Old Bear B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review-we really enjoyed having you to stay. Great when our guests make themselves at home and relax. Then we do too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cirencester
1.8 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.4 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bear B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bear B&B

Property: The Old Bear B&B
Address: Perrotts Brook, Cirencester GL7 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast in 17th century coaching inn in the Heart of the Cotswolds. The property is situated 4 miles from the beautiful market town of Cirencester, an area rich in natural beauty with plenty to explore. Beautiful and comfortable rooms with a mixture of antiques and modern furniture, en-suite bath/shower rooms, flat screen televisions, wifi, bathrobes, toiletries and bathrobes. Full English breakfast, newspapers and the benefit of owners huge local knowledge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bear Hotel Cirencester
The Old Bear Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing