We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #29 of 125 Restaurants in Cirencester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a fantastic meal tonight and thought the service was very friendly and efficient. Would thoroughly recommend. Food was brilliant with great choices , prices reasonable for the quality and choice. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caz71_abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    65
    10
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch spoiled at last minute”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I chose this as a Sunday lunch venue with two friends as it was equidistant for us to travel in the challenging weather. The décor and welcome was pleasant and cosy. Our table was perfect, rustic with comfortable seating.The smell of the wood fire was delightful. The food was excellent, I could not fault my roast sirloin of beef cooked rare to medium with delicious gravy, trimmings and fresh vegetables. The hake and roast chicken were similarly praised. We chatted over pots of tea and paid our bill during this time. We said goodbye to the remaining bar staff and stood in the car park chatting. We were talking about meeting there again. Unfortunately the manageress opened the door and asked us loudly if we were leaving without paying our bill! There were other customers in the car park at the time. We assured her we had paid and asked her to go and check. We remained by the door as the object of interest to others for some minutes. She returned to say she had payment with an excuse about the way one of her staff logged off the till. The apology was really minimal. I know my friends will not meet there again, I was less bothered by the accusation but annoyed by the half hearted apology. Great pity.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NIKKI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been here twice and have enjoyed both visits, the food is lovely and the dining room is so cosy and welcoming. We will be going back as its close to Cirencester and would have no qualms about taking quests here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a short detour off the A419”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Second meal in this village pub. Just as good as the first. Beautifully cooked fish with delicate flavoursome sauce and great veg. Duck breast, chicken and mushroom pie and venison burger all delicious too. Very good service. Nice room. Should be packed every day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KenSkehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Today we visited South Cerney and came across The Royal Oak for lunch...what a gem. We sat in the room at the back next to a beautiful Christmas tree. I had Chorizo & Cheese on Toast with chips, my partner had Traditional Sausage & Mash....both yummy & excellent presentation & value. The staff were great, the pub was so traditional but modern as well, the atmosphere was perfect. We will definitely visit again, want to sit in the lovely garden in Summer, wish we lived closer to visit more often.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LibraBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

South Cerney, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing