We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful getaway - Highly recommend”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leanne t
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful getaway - Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We hired Velvet Lodge for myself and 8 other family members for a get away and it was beautiful.
Velvet Lodge is well equipped and even had removable stair gates fitted to all of the stairs which was brilliant for my 2 yr old.
Velvet Lodge is spaced over 3 floors and each room is decorated to a high standard and each decorated differently.
I would highly recommend this for a family gathering and will definately be returning.
The grounds are kept beautifully, the outdoor pool was amazing as the weather wasn't brilliant when we went, luckily the pool was heated and we where able to use this for more or less the full duration we where there and the children loved it.
The restaurant onsite serves delicious food and the staff are very friendly.
All onsite staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and there are lovely little villages near by that you can cycle to and explore.
There are also lots of water sport activities that you can do at the nearby lakes etc for any thrill seekers.
Another bonus was that at the beginnig of the holiday we where able to do a grocery online shop and order all goods required for our stay which was brilliant as we didn'thave to waste time shopping at the nearby suppermarket when we arrived.
I would highly recommend Velvet Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAllingha...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The ideal spot for a pre-Christmas family get together. The Lodge is beautifully arranged and thoughtfully equipped. There was even sellotape for last minute present wrapping. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosun A
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Due to passport issues we were unable to travel abroad in the holidays, and having come across this destination several months previously I decided to take a chance and experience our holidays in the Cotswolds. Well where do I start the accommodation was great, fully equipped, the surroundings and environment were lovely. My party included 4 adults 3 teenagers and an 8 year old and there was plenty of space to accommodate us all. We hired bikes on sight, enjoyed the beach and its activities, we drove to Cirencester, and the on site facilities kept us all happy. I would strongly recommend Velvet Lodge !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the Lower Mill Estate
Liked least: The fact that I can't afford to spend all my holiday time here
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michellel...
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Amazing place. Couldn't ask for any better. The lodge is very well equipped. The owners are very helpful.
The grounds are very well maintained with friendly and helpful staff. Spa and 3 heated swimming pools are great for all. The Eco pool is an experience (not one I want to repeat so so cold)
On site shop quite expensive.
I have never seen outside swimming pools kept so clean.
Would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Lack of drink options at spa (not controlled by owners)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing