We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Golden Cross Inn
Ranked #20 of 31 Cirencester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

THis was an awessome place to stay. There were 3 adults and we had a separate bedroom, and a bed in the lounge area. Plenty of space and big bathroom.. Mark, Claire and the staff ensured we had a great time. Food was excellent. Fantastic english breakfasts and great dinners. Right in the heart of Cirencester. Highly recommend the Golden Cross. Great value and we would stay again in a flash.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimbohNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed for the weekend in Cirencester with my mum and very much enjoyed our stay, will definitely stay here again when we return to the Cotswolds. My mother is partially-sighted and all the staff were very helpful from the beginning: letting us know where we could park and assisting us to our room. We booked late and stayed in the family suite - airy and spacious and comfortable. One room has twin beds with a connecting door to the main bedroom which is useful if your mother snores!
Initially, there was no milk with the tea in the room - just when we needed one after our journey, but this was soon resolved and wasn't really an inconvenience.
The hotel is in the city centre but on a very quiet street and we slept very well. There was a band on Saturday night in the restaurant but it was over at a reasonable time and did not disturb us.
The food was excellent: we enjoyed our breakfasts and also popped down to try their dinner - which was very good too. We wish to return to try their fish and chips!
I was away one night and having the restaurant below was perfect for my mum to go down and have an evening meal. The staff were attentive and she had a good evening and very much enjoyed her stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Couldn't fault anything. The room was spot on along with the food. Stayed in a few b&b's on business trips and loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calumhardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Working away from home for 5 weeks in cirencester was made a little bit more bearable by the friendly staff and great food that awaited us each evening at the golden cross. The manager Mark went out of his way to sort us out with a good price that included breakfast and evening meal, I would advise anyone visiting his hotel to certainly try the food.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Spent two nights here, booked two rooms in order to attend family christening. We stayed in the 'Apartment' which we found excellent - like home from home. Breakfast was hearty and of excellent standard , the chef is very good and knows his trade well. An excellent gyspy jazz band played on the Friday night as we arrived & they were brilliant! Our late arrival was accommodated with no problems (delays on motorway travelling from Yorkshire) and the friendly bar staff quickly quenched our thirsts with excellent ale. We re-booked before we left - that says it all!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Have just spent 4 nights at this pub, staying in the single en-suite room. The room was cosy and exceptionally clean, with a nice comfy bed adorned with clean bedlinen which smelt clean and finished off with fabric conditioner! a nice bonus!

The en-suite bathroom was equally as clean with nice clean smelling towels topped off with some quality toiletries, a nice touch. Even thou it is a single room there is ample space for one, a bedside cabinet and an area to hang clothes more than enough.
I was surprised at the level and standard of the fixtures and fittings of a room of this price, they are of a standard that i would expect in a room costing double the amount.

The room was regularly made up everyday with new towels, and the tea and coffee supplies topped up!

The staff at the Golden Cross can only be described as 'Exceptional' in both friendliness, manner and politeness from the Landlord . bar staff, and kitchen staff, nothing was too much trouble when asked.

Even thou i didn't dine in,I could see that the quality of the food looked superb with a very good menu using locally produced products. However, i did have the pleasure of sampling breakfast, which can only be described as fantastic! those sausages!! The bar has a wide selection of spirits and whiskies and serves an excellent pint of local ale.
Well done the Golden Cross.


Will i go back -YES, DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttonsbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Cirencester. The town is really beautiful, but staying at The Golden Cross is really what made it so good. Fantastic location, a beautiful historic road full of nostalgia, right in the heart of the town. We received a warm welcome, from Mark and his staff, and that remained throughout our stay.

On the Saturday evening we enjoyed a relaxing drink in the well stocked bar. We were offered samples of their fine ales, in order to see which one suited our palates. It was nice to have a bar man who knew his beers!

We stayed in the apartment, which overlooked Black Jack St, it was very comfortable, fresh, clean and more than adequate.

On Sunday we enjoyed a delicious lunch, when we eventually decided what to eat!! Everything on the menu sounded mouth watering, it was hard to choose. I can highly recommend the "white and milk chocolate cheesecake with strawberry coulis", it was one of the nicest cheesecakes I have ever had the pleasure to try, and believe me, I am a connoisseur of them!!

Unfortuately due to the king size bed being so comfortable, we missed breakfast.........zzzzzzzz. And we had heard such good things about it.

The only downside to our stay was having to leave, however we have made it our aim to return in the near future, so Mark get the bacon and eggs on!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anto27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cirencester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
673 reviews
1 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Cirencester
Travelodge Cirencester
#7 of 8 in Cirencester
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#8 of 8 in Cirencester
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Cross Inn

Address: 20 Black Jack Street, Cirencester GL7 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Price Range: $92 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Cross Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short stroll from the town's historic market place, hidden up a picturesque mediaeval backstreet, you'll find The Golden Cross Inn.​This early-18th Century coaching inn offers a warm welcome to all, from those seeking a thirst quenching pint of real ale to discerning diners looking for gourmet British cuisine, and of course to weary travellers looking for a bed for the night.​​While the building itself dates from the mid-17th Century, landlord Mark Lindesay and his dedicated team have recently transformed the pub into a welcoming hostelry offering contemporary standards of service, great food, good company and comfortable, well-equipped bedrooms, suites and apartments.​​The Golden Cross Inn offers the perfect combination of contemporary sophistication and traditional charm with its exposed beams, classic pub ambiance in its snug bar, combined with a light, airy dining area, all tended by friendly and attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Golden Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Cross Hotel Cirencester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing