We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Superb historical museum

This excellent museum provides a journey through time for visitors bringing into play how the local... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
martinhH5865RD
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Amazing Roman Mosiacs and artefacts.

we spent almost three hours in this musuem , and were very impressed with the way the mosiacs were... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
jmmejoy
,
West Hallam, United Kingdom
Read all 682 reviews
  
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveler rating
457
189
22
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
189
22
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman mosaics interactive displays roman times civil war local history mosaic floors all ages well worth a visit well laid out anglo saxon fantastic mosaics iron age couple of hours on display surrounding area local area rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

This excellent museum provides a journey through time for visitors bringing into play how the local area was influenced by major events. The displays are excellent for people of all ages and the timeline is easy to follow and a great thread to bind everything together. There is also a very good shop selling items that can provide both an educational and a fun aspect.

Thank martinhH5865RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

we spent almost three hours in this musuem , and were very impressed with the way the mosiacs were laid out . We will return in the future to again enjoy this lovely museun.

Thank jmmejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement Officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello, thank you for sharing this wonderful review. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with three kids in tow. Aged 4,4 &6. The trails were good. Cute woolly Stone Age men to find. Kept their interest. Amazing mosaics and Roman artefacts. Mrs Getty v interesting too. Lots of nice hands on things for children too. Pitched at a good level for infant school age kids. Enjoyed dressing up, name tiles, spotting things in mosaics etc. Although you enter through old style building museum incredibly light and airy and well designed.

Thank ClearlyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement Officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. We are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit.

If you would like to know more about our children's activities and events please take a look at our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Haven't been for many years ( last time our children were both still small and they got bored ). Good points: very well laid out; detailed explanations of exhibits; some wonderful mosaics. Small negative points: no real atmosphere of Roman Times; yes there are Roman soldiers and Roman shops but there's no sense of the hustle and bustle that must have gone along with these, hence would recommend for those with young children. In their defence they are remodelling the pre-roman era rooms and I guess they don't have a large budget.

Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement Officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Martin, thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your return visit.

As you mentioned we are just about to start our exciting Stone Age to Corinium project to create new Stone Age, Bronze Age, Iron Age and Early Roman Galleries, as well as an inspiring garden space and a dedicated “hands-on” Discovery Centre. Two of our target audiences for the project are families with children under 5 and young people, which will hopefully enable us to engage with those age groups in future through programming and interactive galleries.

If you would like to know more about 'Stone Age to Corinium' please take a look at our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well designed informative museum of the history of Cirencester from Stone age to modern times. The recent development of the museum has made it a great museum for explaining the history in a modern interactive environment.

Thank arjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement Officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this brilliant review. we are delighted you enjoyed exploring the Museum. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was not expecting this museum to be so big, wide-ranging or well laid out. It is fabulous with a really simply explained history of the area. A bright modern interior with various ante-rooms taking the visitor through the ages of the development of the town and its surroundings.

Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement Officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Jennifer, thank you for visiting Corinium Museum and writing this wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed exploring the galleries, please do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great experience of museum focused on mosaics and local history of Cirencester through Roman Times.

Thank RanniaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement Officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear RanniaL, thank you for visiting and sharing this fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really good place to visit. It's a fiver and we spent an easy two hours plus browsing , Would definitely recommend. There were loads to do if you had children, games and tasks. Lots of archeological artifacts on display. Staff were helpful easy to navigate and plenty of chairs if you need a sit down.

Thank lesleygorman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement Officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello, thank you for writing this excellent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The museum is exceptionally well laid out and contains a large variety of exhibits from the area. Well worth a visit.

Thank DavidCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi David, thank you for this fantastic review it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit. If you live locally you might be interested in our Museum Membership which allows you free entry for a whole year and discounts on events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really good place to visit. It's a fiver and we spent a comfortable two hours browsing, playing the roman games etc. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinium M, Digital Engagement officer at Corinium Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Stuart, thank you for sharing this wonderful review. We've just introduced an new 'Nine Men's Morris' game in our Anglo Saxon gallery which is not to be missed. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews