We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of The Spice Lodge

The Spice Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spice Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 477 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in the former old mansion house on Montpellier Drive, Spice Lodge- Cheltenham's premier Pan Asian restaurant - provides you with a new and exciting taste of Asia. The restaurant is divided into separate areas and dining rooms, each having its own unique style and atmosphere, giving you and your guests as much privacy as you like. We are also able to provide the following services: conferences, wedding receptions, banquets, private parties.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent authentic food, superb attentive service in an elegant, atmospheric building. A little on the pricey side, but you get what you pay for. I notice they have special offers on throughout the week (see their website) which enables anyone on a tighter budget to experience the delights of The Spice Lodge. We will be visiting again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear JRH,

Thank you very much for your review.

Regarding the higher price, yes we do develop promotions and change often and always keep that in mind that the prices are reasonable so that everyone can enjoy the experience of Spice Lodge. For example: Sunday All You Can Eat only £12.95. Indian and Thai, Mix and match, cooked when you order (CWYO) only.

I am glad that you have got our marketing strategy right. Appreciate it!

Look forward to serving you again.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 828 of 914 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Food was brilliant, service good waiters friendly, definitely would return and recommend this resteraunt strongly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cobra43win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. Glad you like our food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good food in a nice setting with good hosts. We're very accommodating to everyones requests and at a good price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne6707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicelodge11, Guest Relations Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you very much. I am glad you like it. Follow us on Twitter @Spicelodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had book a table for two on Saturday 23rd or February 2013.
I had a table booked for 8.00pm.
I had arrived at the restaurant at bang on 8. We was told our table wasn't ready we had to wait an additional 30 min for the table. How ever the staff were very apologetic.
The food took a whole to come out, we ordered king prawn on puri and malai chicken. The main then took close to an hour to be served after the starter. Food was very good disappointing factor was the portion size. I appreciate you pay for quality over quantity. But the curry sizes more close to a starter size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ash_ali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicelodge11, General Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ash_ali1,

First of all many thanks for your constructive review which will of course help up to look at the issues you have mentioned at the same time I again apologise for the inconvenience.

I am very glad to know that you at least liked our food quality and satisfied with our service. In terms of the quantity our main dishes, portion size are created generously by chefs also according to the Food Nutrition Data for Healthy Eating Choices. However, sometimes the calorie or nutritions facts don't work for everyone and we can always request chef to make a bigger portions only on request.

I will send you a direct message and offer you some discounts on your next visit.

Thanks once again and would look forward to serving you again.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have been using this restaurant for a few years, and the food is excellent, every time. The staff look after you from the minute you walk in to the time you leave, the best Indian Restaurant in Cheltenham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bestboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicelodge11, Guest Relations Manager at The Spice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Follow us on Twitter @Spicelodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Lodge also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Spice Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing