We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”
Review of Vanilla - CLOSED

Vanilla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Found this restaurant by accident middle of the week was not to busy, nice decour friendly staff. Meal was excellent had a steak which was cooked perfectly good size portions the best surprise was the bill not very expensive. loved it try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thrombo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    65
    28
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food, good service”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went there for lunch on a Saturday and sat outside in the sun. Queried about eating from a different menu other than the lunch one which they were fine with. I had risotto which was delicious, my friend had ciabatta with roast veg, asked for mozzarella instead of houmous which they didn't mind changing. Good friendly, accommodating service. Will be dining there again soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went here for my work's Christmas party. The menu we had to pre-choose our meals from wasn't very Christmassy nor exciting to read. All was on offer was something basic with mash e.g. Steak pie, sausages etc.

The starters and desserts were nice but didn't really wow me. The main was a bit bland and without any culinary creativity, which was disappointing as I'd hoped they might put a slight spin on a boring menu choice seeing others I know that have dined their have rated it highly.

Glad my first visit was a free meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food but lacking attentiveness”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Enjoyed a good meal here last month but the overall dining experience was lacking attentiveness and something extra from the service staff. It was a Friday night and there didn't appear to be enough waiting staff to service the tables. The table next to ours asked the waitress what 'falafel' was and she didn't know. She had to go and ask the chef. This gives some indication how much the restaurant misses out by. The menu selection was good the food was well executed but the dishes perhaps needed more creativity to bring it together. Our scallops were served on a dish that spun around on a plate as soon as you teased a fork into it. But these are only minor criticisms and the food was nicely done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be Careful!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice restaurant with an ok standard of food...however be careful! We dined at the restaurant on Saturday 13th April and both ate 3 courses, we asked for the bill (which took 15 minutes to arrive) when it did the waitress bought the card payment machine over immediately we glanced at the bill all the items we had were listed correctly so we paid the £90 totalled. It was only when we were leaving my partner added up the bill to find we had been overcharged by £28!

We queried this and when they checked they found we were right, they then tried to give us £20 in cash....adding it up wrong again until we did the maths for them to show they owed us £28! No apology no compensation.

They add bills up manually and don't use an electronic system so be careful, I worry about groups dining who perhaps wouldn't think about querying the bill.

As we are from Cheltenham we were looking for a new place to dine, however this will not be it. Over charging customers is simply not on, the girl responsible for preparing the bills had no clue I can't believe this is a one off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallym77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Guiting Power, Cheltenham
Woodmancote, Cheltenham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing