We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Chance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monty's Brasserie

Monty's Brasserie
Ranked #46 of 440 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $62
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chipping Norton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy Chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We happened upon Monty's because we had parked opposite. We had a splendid lunch on a Saturday. We shared a seafood board and some gravlax. It was pure delight

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    152
    42
    33
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Anniversary Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went here for the first time for the Anniversary of when we first met. We had a lovely time, the food was great and we were offered speciality breads on arrival with our drinks, The staff were very attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, The room was a little noisy, so we found ourselves raising our voices to be heard.

The food prices were pricier than we would normally pay but well worth it. We will certainly revisit. Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dinner for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went to Montys for dinner for two and we were straight away greeted with friendly service. Complimentary bread came before our starters with a few different choices, we went for the lemon and thyme and walnut and raisin - first impressions were great! The wine list was quite busy but we went for an understated Vin de france pinot noir for £18 which was fantastic and a perfect partner with our mains. Overall the food very well presented and delicious. To finish we had 2 very interesting cocktails, one made with cucumber! And then two glasses of 1991 port which rounded off a fantastic experience of fine dining! If you're trying out this restaurant for the first time I would recommend you have booked a taxi as the cocktails, wine list and port is not to miss out on.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 03jamesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ate here on a Sunday evening, firstly the cocktail bar was not open, and the waiter looked like he had been out all night and suddenly realised he had to go to work.
The room is nothing special, and the tables are tightly compacted.
The starters were ok, the Goan curry was very good, and the beef in the beef Wellington superb, although why it's wrapped in a pancake spoiled a good dish.
The sweets were terrible, the sticky toffee pudding tasted like burnt treacle.
There are other restaurants in cheltenham far better .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank telali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at Monty's Brasserie, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed some elements of your meal, I am very sorry that you were disappointed by other aspects.
Monty’s Cocktail Bar is open Tuesday through Saturday, with live music on a Friday and Saturday. If customers do want cocktails on a Sunday and Monday then there several that we can make from the normal bar in Monty’s.
I was very concerned that you felt one of the waiting staff was really not fit for work. I have addressed this issue with the staff to ensure that they are presentable and capable at all times.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the Goan Seafood Curry and the Beef Wellington. For the Beef Wellington, the fillet steak is pan-fried, brushed with Dijon mustard, then wrapped in a mushroom duxelle coated savoury pancake, it is then wrapped in puff pastry and cooked in the oven. The reason a pancake is used is to hold the fillet’s juices in, otherwise the pastry would be soggy.
I have discussed your comments regarding the desserts to the chefs, the Sticky Toffee Pudding is normally a well received dish and I am sorry that it was poor on the evening you came.
I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience at Monty’s on this occasion, I can assure you that we are better than this and I hope you will revisit at some time when we can display to you our true levels service.
Kind regards
Jeremy Shaw
Owner/Manager
The George Hotel & Monty’s
Cheltenham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top food with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to monty's for our company Christmas meal and it was fantastic.

Relaxed but attentive service along side superb food.

Never been before but defiantly will be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Brasserie also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Monty's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing