We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”
Review of The Daffodil

The Daffodil
Ranked #43 of 563 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $85
Cuisines: European, Seafood, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Rail: Cheltenham Spa
Description: As Cheltenham’s most dramatic restaurant, The Daffodil with its Art Deco influence offers an extensive Brasserie style A La Carte menu which is seasonally changed, with an excellent choice of wines. Independently owned The Daffodil with it’s award winning conversion from a 1920’s cinema into a restaurant never ceases to wow all who visit. So whether you are planning a romantic night, a corporate event, a party or a memorable wedding, The Daffodil offers an experience not to be missed!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an amazing meal with friends. Visited a few times over the last two years. Bar upstairs serves the best cocktails, I personally recommend a Porn Star!! to kick off your evening! Service was very good too. We are looking forward to having Dinner here again soon.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 254vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used to be regulars here with the previous owners, and thought we'd try going back. It seems the only thing that's been updated in the 3 years in between is the carpet. They seemed understaffed... trying not to be too critical as they all did their best - but they seemed really up against it. Having to chase for ordered drinks, some of our food was cold albeit I think perfectly cooked before being left too long (chateau briand). But the saddest point was the salmon tartare starter, with a total of 5 thumbnail sized chunks of salmon. They removed this from the bill when we complained... but this isn't what a restaurant of this level, or at least the level they used to be and still maintained by their price level, should be trying to get away with.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 826paulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Housed in what was once an Art Deco Cinema, the ambience is excellent. Always busy and a good buzz going on. Reliably good food, albeit a bit pricey, but worth it.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 539bobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We visited for a birthday celebration. Venue superb & service was vey good.
I had souffle to start, top light & fluffy, bottom half not so much. First time having one as usually don't go for vegetarian options, so maybe that's how they are supposed to be. Good but nothing special. That would be the overall motto of the evening. Wife had scotch egg whilst friends had ham hock terrine. All said they were very nice.
Most of us had steaks, Sirloin, Fillet & Ribeye. My med-well ribeye was tasty but still full of gristle, not like others I have had. My wife's sirloin was not as good as some either. But our friends loved the fillet & lamb, so maybe we were just a tad unlucky with our cuts of meat.
Dessert we all had chocolate fondant & no-one was disappointed here whatssover.
Overall good, great service, at that price though, I want them to check each cut, so not great.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Xpeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

I have to say the service was five star and the waiter was lovely.
I ate here with wife, my son, his girlfriend and two daughters just before Christmas. My daughters had the fish, my son and his girlfriend had beef and my wife had the curry so I went for the burger. The food was good to very good but then we had the attack of the tiny black flies (maybe fruit flies) they seemed to like the fish best.
They ended up in my daughters mushy peas and tartar sauce making both inedible.
The fly thing is not new and has gone on for a while (read earlier reviews).
The waiter was most apologetic and knocked loads off the bill after talking to his manager).
Apparently pest control had been summoned and were due to call the next day.
I would say 6.5/10 was a fair score but for me no burning desire to return.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Silverfox54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Daffodil also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Daffodil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing