We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food,”
Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Ranked #1 of 473 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $107
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his wife Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

November 8th lunchtime. Love food so it was a toss up between Le Champignon Sauvage or Lumiere as we'd been to Le Ch Sauvage on a previous visit to Cheltenham and just read revues in GFG and TA so tried Lumiere. Good choice.
wonderful food, something different from the normal this Chef knows his stuff. Attention to detail for the food was superb, tastes where gorgeous and just had to have some more bread, it was so good! Being Lunch time it wasn't full but a nice ambiance and lovely staff no pretentiousness at all which is something you sometimes get at this level of food. Loved it we'll be going again if in the area.

1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us, hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 561 of 718 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Friends had bought a voucher as a birthday treat - and what a treat it was. Really excellent food; pleasant ambience and friendly and efficient service - no wonder it's so busy!

Thank Cheltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us, hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited Lumiere in October and had the tasting menu. Before we even got there the taxi driver was raving about the place! Fantastic choice of wines with each course and the whole dining experience was terrific. Innovative cooking with such attention to detail and presentation. Loved the tequila shot with lime jelly and salt crisp. each course was a delight. We will visit again and look forward to feeling well fed and well looked after. Just try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Labute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed it, hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

went for saturday lunch with two old friends.........the staff were attentive, the food was absolutely lovely and we were able to sit and chat without feeling that we should have gone home......definitely recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank susiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are lucky enough to have eaten at Lumiere a number of times and it has always been excellent. I am delighted to report that the restaurant continues to evolve and is going from strength to strength. Our most recent meal was was stunning - from the bread to the nibbles of 'crackling' with apple sauce and tiny savory scones to the amuse bouche of a delicate cep foam to a starter of mozzerella 'ice cream' and then a main course of fabulously cooked sea bass with white beans. My husband's meal was equally excellent; the highlights being the partridge beautifully cooked with a really tasty puy lentil accompaniment and finally a damson souffle with yogurt souffle.

Jon's is able to create dishes that are delicate, full of flavour and with an array of textures. Dishes are unusual, very well thought through and executed. Nothing is out of place or on the plate just for effect and the quality of the ingredients used are of the highest standard.

The whole Lumiere experience is first rate - service is always warm, friendly and professional in every way, creating an ambience that is both calm and relaxing.

Just brilliant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WiltshireAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we are so glad that you love coming to see us!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing