We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have a Michelin Star!”
Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Ranked #2 of 448 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $104
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his partner Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Should have a Michelin Star!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited Lumiere in October and had the tasting menu. Before we even got there the taxi driver was raving about the place! Fantastic choice of wines with each course and the whole dining experience was terrific. Innovative cooking with such attention to detail and presentation. Loved the tequila shot with lime jelly and salt crisp. each course was a delight. We will visit again and look forward to feeling well fed and well looked after. Just try it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Labute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed it, hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    56
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouthshire Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good choice”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

went for saturday lunch with two old friends.........the staff were attentive, the food was absolutely lovely and we were able to sit and chat without feeling that we should have gone home......definitely recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lumiere just gets better and better!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are lucky enough to have eaten at Lumiere a number of times and it has always been excellent. I am delighted to report that the restaurant continues to evolve and is going from strength to strength. Our most recent meal was was stunning - from the bread to the nibbles of 'crackling' with apple sauce and tiny savory scones to the amuse bouche of a delicate cep foam to a starter of mozzerella 'ice cream' and then a main course of fabulously cooked sea bass with white beans. My husband's meal was equally excellent; the highlights being the partridge beautifully cooked with a really tasty puy lentil accompaniment and finally a damson souffle with yogurt souffle.

Jon's is able to create dishes that are delicate, full of flavour and with an array of textures. Dishes are unusual, very well thought through and executed. Nothing is out of place or on the plate just for effect and the quality of the ingredients used are of the highest standard.

The whole Lumiere experience is first rate - service is always warm, friendly and professional in every way, creating an ambience that is both calm and relaxing.

Just brilliant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WiltshireAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we are so glad that you love coming to see us!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Almost excellent but one critical area for improvement”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I took my husband to Lumiere for his birthday as it was recommended by Harden's as the best place in Cheltenham (we were visiting the area). We had the tasting menu and a bottle of good champagne. The food was good but not as innovative as "serious" tasting menus at places like Anthony's of Leeds or SaQuaNa in Honfleur. Ingredients were well put together but on the inexpensive side.

I was a little disappointed that I had mentioned I'd booked for a birthday, there was no acknowledgement of this.

The most serious problem, that made me feel genuinely stressed during the meal, was how very, very long the food took to arrive. We had two very good amuse-bouches, but this didn't help us cope that the starter took an hour to arrive from when we sat down. We asked for the food to be sped up a little but the server said "it's about 25 minutes between courses". This is insane for a seven-course tasting menu! The message began to get through when we asked her to not pour more champagne because it would get warm while waiting. We were having to eke out our drinks (thank goodness they provided plenty of water). This is ridiculous - I did wonder if it was a ploy to make people order more alcohol.

After course five, the server said "we leave a gap between courses so people don't get too full". This was a big mistake as of course a well-conceived tasting menu is planned to avoid this occurring. Tasting menus not their forte.

Our taxi driver said that slow-arriving food was a regular complaint and pointed out another venue - we'd go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, customer feedback is very important to us and we love to hear what everybody thinks.

Although we are a fine dining restaurant, we do not serve a “serious” tasting menu… pork scratchings & apple sauce, cheese scones, ‘Milk and Cookies’ and even Tequila Slammers feature. In our very humble opinion, we believe good food should have an element of fun as well as tasting great, after all our customers are here for an entire evening and the food (alongside the company) should be the entertainment.

The ingredients we use are of the finest quality, they may not be the most expensive ingredients in the world; you won’t see fillet of beef, foie gras or caviar on our menu but there is a whole world of exciting ingredients out there which are much more interesting to explore. I’m sure you would agree the chervil tuber veloutè is outstanding and it isn’t everyday you are served hare. Turning the humble beetroot into what can only be described as a masterpiece, takes much skill and time on the part of our chefs, where as serving a beautiful beef fillet is oh so easy.

We love to celebrate customer’s birthdays when we are requested to, we are also aware that some customers prefer to let the occasion pass with as little fuss as possible- although you had mentioned it was his birthday you had made no request that we mark it in anyway.

Now to your most serious problem; our timings. All of our food is cooked fresh to order, approximately 20 minutes between each cooked course is what we would expect- smaller amuse courses, sorbets etc on the tasting menu would be sent from the kitchen at a 15 minute interval- the whole tasting menu usually takes between 2 and a half hours to 3 hours (2 hours and 33 minutes in this case); in our opinion a lovely way to spend an evening, but upon the customers request we will happily serve it quicker or slower (as you experienced when you requested it); especially if you have babysitters etc on a clock, just let us know. We like our customers to feel relaxed, your table is yours for the evening, with no time constrains, turning tables is not what we do, you are free to spend as long or as shorter period of time to enjoy our hospitality. Alternatively, if you are pushed for time our a la carte menu is also fantastic.

Just to clear up a small discrepancy in your review; after an hour, 8.36pm, to be exact, after your arrival at 7.30pm your fourth course was called away from the kitchen. As far as your comment regarding pouring your champagne goes, we offer a service of pouring your wines for you- as your glasses are a mouthful away from finished we offer to top them up; our customers are more than welcome to pour their own wine, again all you just have to say. Although we are a business, we are passionate about what we do, and your comments about my staff topping your wine up as a ploy to make you buy more I actually find quite offensive.

And finally to address your “Tasting menus not their forte” comment, I have no defense but to say to anyone reading this review to also read the rest of our Trip Advisor reviews before you decide…

Kindest regards,
Helen (your server)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellant”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food was amazing - try the tasting menu with selected wines the combinations were fantastic and I want to go back. Make sure you book in advance and enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrispk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we are so glad that you enjoyed your tasting menu with us.

We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you are back in our neck of the woods.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen & the team at Lumière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing