We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delicious”

Le Champignon Sauvage
Ranked #14 of 449 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a way to spend my 30th Birthday! I was very kindly treated to a meal here and it was just delicious, down to the smallest details. The first hurdle was trying to chose from the menu, it all sounded to good. In the end we decided to go with the set lunch menu. As well as our orders we were treated to canapés, bread and an amuse bouche all of which added to the experience and indulged my taste buds.

I wasn't sure what to expect, but the portions were all well sized, enough to feel satisfied and get the full flavours but without spoiling the next course. I left feeling pleasantly full but not uncomfortable at all.

The service was really friendly and attentive but without being intrusive and all the courses came out in perfect timing and flowed well.

It was a special occasion, but already I'm wondering when I can go back again in eager anticipation. Also very reasonably priced for such a high standard of food and whole experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Novice_Traveller_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    118
    64
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Returned again not having dined here for several years, the quality and attention to detail had not changed and we experienced the most fabulous food and service. David and his wife run possibly THE best restaurant ! It was faultless and a lesson to all those over priced, trendy so called high class restaurants. I believe David has never missed a service in over 25 years and it shows, his team, both back and front of house produced an evening to remember. Various menu options to take, making it very affordable and why not ........when a dining experience is this FAB...!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCAKE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wild About Le Champignon!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have dined here a couple of times and found the food absolutely delicious and the service discreet and extremely good. Excellent, in fact. The lady maître d' is probably the most charming and professional I have seen. It is expensive, but worth a visit for a special occasion - or just because....!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicnac13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best meal I've had”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The restaurant is beautiful, the service perfect and the food the best yet.
After looking through Essence, Beyond Essence and Desert I've been extremely interested in David's food, and after eating at lunch with three friends I can't name a single fault. Never before have I tasted lamb that tasted so much like lamb or sea bream that tasted unbelievably fresh despite being miles from the sea. From the gorgeous blue cheese cookie canapé to the unbelievably good petit fours the meal was perfect. If I had paid 100 pounds I would have left happy, but for less than 40 pounds including a beer and wine (fantastic by the way), plus petit fours I have never experienced such great food at such a fantastic price. Easily the best in Cheltenham, and I eagerly anticipate a better dining experience in the future throughout the rest of the UK- they have their work cut out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butchersapprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have been here twice. The first time we had the tasting menu which was incredible. Each course really was better than the last.
On the second occasion we chose from the carte and had a wonderful meal.
Service is great glasses refilled promptly, with the staff discreet but attentive.
All dishes are great from the sweet game to a bitterness on some of the desserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickHurlstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Champignon Sauvage also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Le Champignon Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing