We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is our second stay and as we approached I remembered that parking can be an issue but we found a space on the front car park which was great. The hotel is beautifully fitted and decorated and hadn't changed much in the 4 years since our last stay. This time we stayed in Krug, a superior room with a massive bathroom, roll top bath and walk in shower...fantastic.
Some nice touches you don't find in other hotels, fresh milk for tea and coffee, iron and ironing board for re-ironing because of my rubbish packing, and a nespresso machine. The room was quiet, the bed was huge and comfy so all was great.
Dinner was fantastic, the service was great, prompt and friendlyand the Sommelier was really good and made us a great recommendation for a bottle of red and 2 dessert wines.
My only gripes would be that the service in the bar was slow and disorganised. I asked for a sherry and the (admittedly young) barman didn't have a clue. The timely entry of a more senior member of staff sorted the issue. Pre dinner cocktails were exceedingly slow, the bar was busy at that point but the wait was excessive. I got the impression that the bar staff were either new and/or inexperienced.
Small gripe though....everything else was great.
Hotel du Vin breakfast is always a winner, and the best end to a short but lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Service = 9, Room (cleanliness, amenities, space, position) = 10, food = 9

Throughly enjoyed our mini break. Great situation. Fab place to just relax and unwind. I love the bar area and the spiral stir case down to the restaurant. The main area would be great for a wedding or party.
Well worth the money paid.
Would I go again - yes definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A simple Friday lunch. Nice burger; well presented, tasty and with good fries. But what made the difference was the lovely service. Engaging. smiling and attentive. Makes such a difference when someone is clearly proud of their job.

It had been a while since I'd last visited and I always remembered that good service was a feature of the restaurant so it was nice to see the tradition was continuing. Hope the new manager keeps these standards high.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BroughtonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My Partner & I stayed in the Moët Vintage Suite for his a birthday a few weeks ago. My goodness, what an experience!!! As we entered the suite I was speechless at how incredible the room was. It had 2 roll top baths that were lay side by side and were dazzling white just calling your name. The power of the showers were refreshing & fabulous. The bed was enormous & so comfortable it made it very hard to get out of. After a few hours relaxing in the Suite we ventured to the bar for a few cocktails that were just fabulous & then enjoyed a meal that if I could sum it up in one word it would simply be 'divine!' I had the beef bourginon while my partner devoured the steak claiming it was the best he had ever had! Breakfast again was incredible, with such a wonderful choice of mouth watering pastries & scrumptious breakfast options. The surroundings were pleasant & calm with a warm & welcoming atmosphere. We will most definitely be visiting here again. Thank you so much for a truly wonderful experience !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_wilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The first time I visited Hotel du Vin for a group meal after racing was absolutely fantastic. Brilliant wine, fabulous service, and the food was wonderful. Could not have rated the place more highly. Expecting similar treatment, I returned with a smaller group at Easter. We waited nearly an hour before anyone took our food order. There were drinks on the table, but that was it. We were told that this was because of a staff shortage, but that did not appear to affect the other tables being served. I was very disappointed, having had such a positive experience previously. The food was still cooked beautifully, but having such bad service affected the whole meal. I will certainly not be returning, or recommending that anyone else does. Such a pity when the venue has so much going for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7SunSeeker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review.

We are obviously disappointed to hear such feedback, however I can assure you that since Easter 2013 the service has been improved as you will be able to see from the reviews since then.

I am very confident that should you choose to return again in the near future you will not be disappointed.

We hope that you do give us a chance to restore your faith within HDV Cheltenham.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a fabulous Sunday Brunch for only £24.95...FOUR courses....soup, followed by a splendid seafood platter (as much as you can eat), then the main course, finnished off with a mouth watering sweet. Not only is this the best in Cheltenham but chances are you wont be able to finnish your meal,(as we couldnt), it is just brilliant and so much of it....PERFECT.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent visit for our Sunday Brunch.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch with it's "French Market Table" recently. Since it's launch it has been a very popular offering within Cheltenham offering a wide variety of choices and great value for money.

We hope to see you again on a Sunday very soon.

Kind regards

Giles Hammond
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here on the Christmas package. The room was a little on the small size, particularly given some of the massive rooms I've enjoyed at other hotels in the chain. However, it was clean, nicely laid out and comfortable.

The restaurant and general environment of this hotel is fantastic. The aim of the group I think is to provide a boutique hotel experience at a realistic price, and they manage this perfectly. The staff are well turned out and extremely helpful. The bar and restaurant and beautifully designed and laid out. The details are well considered and well put together.

The quality of service is what puts it into the excellent category. From the first person you see at breakfast to the late night receptionists.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgecumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay with us over the festive period.

We were delighted to read such positive feedback as it is always nice to know when we have made a guests stay that much more memorable.

Our prices and details for December 2014 will be released very soon so be sure to keep your eye on our website for all the best deals and packages.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Cheltenham
Malmaison Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#11 of 23 in Cheltenham
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: $140 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Chris Thompson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing