We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wyastone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wyastone
Ranked #7 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel and cannot fault it. The location is excellent - a quiet tree lined road but Montpellier shops, restaurants and bars, etc. are on the doorstep and Cheltenham town centre only a few minutes walk away. Karen and Michael were the perfect hosts along with their staff making us all feel most welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean with plenty of character. Easy to park your car. Lovely breakfasts. Thank you Karen and Michael we will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerEssexboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    44
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
172
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Wyastone with friends whilst attending a classic car event at Cheltenham Racecourse. The bedrooms have been recently renovated and were well up to standard. Friendly welcome, good breakfast and safe car park. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a great little hotel with newly renovated rooms, lovely common spaces, warm atmosphere, and great proximity to downtown. The hosts want you to enjoy the hotel and are most helpful with information about the city, restaurants, etc. We loved our room, one of the family rooms. If I were to make one suggestion it would be to vary the breakfast menu for those of us who stay for several nights more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWFVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Wyastone is in Montpelier a beautiful part of Cheltenham. When I got lost on the way there I called to give me clear instructions- when I pulled up in the car, the lovely Emily was standing there waving her arms- the best welcome I've ever had at any hotel. The room was ready even though I arrived early; all of the staff were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for me, giving brilliant advice on placed to go (John Gordon's wine bar and Daffodil); and the breakfast was great. The rooms were large, beautifully appointed with large LCD TV and extremely comfortable beds- will definately stay again- 100% recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Karen and Michael Reynolds and their staff team have created a fantastic small hotel near the centre of Cheltenham. From the member of staff on the doorstep waving to welcome us, to the time they took to chat and find a fantastic restuarant for our evening meal. The rooms are great and have all the things you need and would expect of a much larger hotel. Thanks to Emily for the waving welcome and great service at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattProsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed at the Wyastone with a large group and the hotel was perfect. The location is great - a short walk into town and the Montpellier area, with free parking at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and well decorated with modern bathrooms, wi-fi and plasma tvs in each room.
Undoubtedly though it was the service we received at the hotel that made our stay. We were a large group, with constantly changing requirements, yet the hotel accommodated all these without an issue. They did everything they could to make the stay perfect, and made some great recommendations for places locally (The Daffodil is a superb restaurant!)
Oh, and a great breakfast cooked to order!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0rthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

I just returned home from a 4 night stay at the Wyastone. When I arrived, I was met graciously by the staff and was promptly registered and in my room which was large and quiet. Breakfast each morning was made to order and promptly served. Parking was not an issue since either the parking
area had room or there was parking on the street in front of the B&B. All of the staff was friendly and courteous. Location is less than 5 minutes walk from downtown and has easy access to the A40
and M5.

If/when I venture back to Cheltenham, this would be a location I would highly seek to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snc_cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyastone

Property: The Wyastone
Address: Parabola Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wyastone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a quiet, tree lined avenue in elegant Montpellier with its stylish restaurants and boutiques, The Wyastone is only ten minutes walk to the Promenade, High Street, The Everyman Theatre and Town Hall venues. •Spacious, Contemporary Accommodation•Stylish, Relaxing Ambiance•Award Winning Service•Convenient Central Location•Complimentary Parking and WIFI The Wyastone in Cheltenham has been classified by Visit Britain as a 5 star guest accommodation, with a silver award from Quality in Tourism. The spacious, individually decorated rooms combine period features with a contemporary decor to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance. Luxurious features in our 16 en-suite bedrooms include 32" Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary WIFI, superking size beds and a handmade four poster bed. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest at The Wyastone Cheltenham. Lydia Thwaites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your The Wyastone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing