We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyastone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wyastone
Ranked #7 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed with our son and daughter-in-law for a couple of nights last weekend. It was superb with very friendly and helpful staff who made our stay quite special. The rooms were lovely and the bed was the most comfortable we have had in any hotel. We were lucky enough to be there to see the art exhibited in the hotel and, yes, we had to buy one! Although the one we really liked had already been sold, we actually met the artist and were able to commission a similar painting to our favourite. Can't wait to return to collect the finished item.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to everyone as I can't find anything to fault. From the moment we arrived (rather late I'm afraid) we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious - thank you chef - and Lydia was a star. Many thanks to you all for making our stay so great.

Room Tip: We had two courtyard rooms and both were very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardeners2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Open Art Studios 2013 was a real success and we were very fortunate to have 3 artists exhibiting their art work throughout the Wyastone. We would love for you to stay with us again when you return to pick up your painting!

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    44
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
170
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

A fine hotel in a charming town.
Comfortably located in the quiet and green edge of Monpellier District,few minutes walk from the busy center of the town,or nice restaurants and bars and the Science Festival grounds.
I stayedat Wyastone for 8 nights and everythihg was perfect even the weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was a delight having you stay with us for 8 nights and we understand that the annual Science Festival was a great success!

Hope to see you next year?!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

From arrival, the service here is excellent, just want you wish for. The staff clearly understand their guests needs, and are there for you at all times.
The rooms are very well decorated, and equipped to a high standard, even a good quality iron & ironing board. Standard of cleanliness could not be improved, in all 10 out of 10.
It is refreshing to find Hotel proprietors who clearly understand their industry, and do not cut corners.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Great comments about our staff and management- thank you! 10/10 for cleanliness, wow, that has made us all very happy especially the room assistants who work so hard to keep the Wyastone sparkling! We will continue to keep up the good work and hope to see you again soon.

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at The Wyastone twice so far and its been perfect both times. The rooms are really modern and stylish and the location is excellent, right next to all the Montpellier bars and restaurants but far enough to not be noisy. The breakfast is very good, with high quality products. Definitely my first choice for a night in cheltenham now.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaAndy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
So pleased to hear that your 2nd visit to the Wyastone was as good as the first. Our excellent location in Montpellier really could not be better and we have just had the annual food and drink festival at the end of the road in Montpellier Gardens which was wonderful! Looking forward to your 3rd visit!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Wyastone for 2 nights. The whole hotel is decorated and furnished to a very high standard and the rooms are large, light, clean and well equiped with everything that you could possibly need. The breakfast was excellent and the staff are welcoming, attentive and charming. You can also swim or use the gym in the Cheltenham Ladies College during your stay. We will definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard and loi pond are particularly relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The free use of Cheltenham Ladies College gym and swimming pool just down the road is a great extra that guests staying with us benefit from.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had hoped to stay more than one night at the Wyastone but due to hotel bookings and our schedule, could only manage one.

What a shame!

On our arrival we were welcomed in an incredibly friendly manner by Lydia who told us all about the hotel, and produced a map of places to eat. She also directed us to a book in the lounge with details of restaurants in the area, and conducted us to our room. We were 'at home' already!

Our room was large and airy and spotlessly clean. All the furniture and fittings were beautifully coordinated and solid (no DIY flat pack here). It was well equipped with all the essentials and a few more including TWO armchairs - how often have you been given a room with only one or even none?

We went out for a light evening meal, and returned to our room somewhat weary to relax after an eventful few days, which we did very easily in such delightful surroundings. Watched a bit of TV, then allowed the hugely comfortable bed to help us to sleep - which was accomplished very easily.

Breakfast was a very enjoyable experience. A good choice of cereals and fruit (I love figs, prunes and yoghurt); I chose to have a "full English" (minus the sausage) which was totally grease free, delightfully presented, hot and very enjoyable. My wife chose the "lighter option" which again was beautifully presented and which she thoroughly enjoyed.

Everyone we met at the hotel was very friendly, cheerful and helpful.

The hotel emanates and aura of gracious efficiency and attention to detail, and there is absolutely no quibble with the Five Star rating.

We would love to return, but suspect we might find it difficult to find vacancies as the hotel is bound to go from strength to strength with the present Management and Staffing team in place.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room away from traffic, but that is not necessary at this location. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melvillecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Wow what a wonderfully detailed review- thank you, all the staff are delighted with your comments.

We are very pleased that you found the bedroom comfortable, we appreciate that although it is nice to relax in our lounge it is also nice to be able to completely unwind in the comfort of your own room. We quite often get comments about how comfy the Superking beds in the Superior and Courtyard doubles are and are really pleased that you had a good nights sleep!

We will certainly pass on your lovely comments about breakfast- you must return soon as we now have a new selection of summer fruit breakfast options to try.

Although summer is approaching and we are getting busier we will always try and find a room for returning guests, so please come again soon!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We are a family of four and stayed in one of the family rooms. The hotel was just perfect; clean spacious rooms, lovely breakfast room and communal reading room and courtyard, all well designed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very relaxed and pleasant. Also, excellent location, quiet, yet near restaurants and shops. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4seasonslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
So pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us. We have just had the Cheltenham open art studio exhibition at the Wyastone which meant we had 3 local artists exhibiting in both the lounge and dining room which was great fun. Looking forward to your return visit to the Wyastone.

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyastone

Property: The Wyastone
Address: Parabola Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wyastone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a quiet, tree lined avenue in elegant Montpellier with its stylish restaurants and boutiques, The Wyastone is only ten minutes walk to the Promenade, High Street, The Everyman Theatre and Town Hall venues. •Spacious, Contemporary Accommodation•Stylish, Relaxing Ambiance•Award Winning Service•Convenient Central Location•Complimentary Parking and WIFI The Wyastone in Cheltenham has been classified by Visit Britain as a 5 star guest accommodation, with a silver award from Quality in Tourism. The spacious, individually decorated rooms combine period features with a contemporary decor to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance. Luxurious features in our 16 en-suite bedrooms include 32" Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary WIFI, superking size beds and a handmade four poster bed. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest at The Wyastone Cheltenham. Lydia Thwaites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Wyastone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing