We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hosting and a lovely room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyastone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wyastone
Ranked #7 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect hosting and a lovely room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a great stay at the Wyastone this Easter weekend. Our room was very spacious and excellent value, (we booked through Late Rooms) and parking wasn't a problem.

The location is perfect for a walk into the town and close to local restaurants (even if you're lazy, a taxi is no more than £5).

The building, room and general surroundings were very warm and comfortable. Our room was a good size, beautifully decorated with a huge bed, quality sheets and had really good black-out curtains making for an excellent night's sleep

The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful and customer service was excellent from all.

We were served a lovely breakfast in the morning, there was plenty of choice and good portions in a lovely dining room on the front of the property.

Thanks for a lovely stay, if we come back to Cheltenham we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a great review and we are delighted that you had a lovely Easter staying with us. We are so pleased that you had a good nights sleep and a great breakfast. Parking can be difficult in Cheltenham so having our own car park is an added bonus. Wonderful to hear you will be staying with us again if you return to Cheltenham!

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    44
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
170
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lovely period building just steps from restaurants and High St. Rooms well appointed and bathrooms are spacious. Morning breakfast service is sumptuous, varied and served in a delightful setting. Cosy lounge with fully stocked bar overlooks a splendid garden oasis. It's the staff that really make this venue. Genuinely friendly, helpful and gracious. A truly welcoming environment and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness facilities available off site. We quite enjoyed our top floor room. Quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review! You are right about our location - we are very lucky to be situated so close to the shops, restaurants, cafes and bars of Montpellier and within easy walking distance of the Promenade. All the staff were so pleased that you commented on our friendliness and helpfulness, we have a great team. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Cheltenham!

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Called the first hotel on my list and straight from the off, Lydia (the owner) made a great first impression; professional, courteous and down to earth. We arrived over two hours late into the evening yet she still gave the wife and I a very warm welcome. She runs this modern and warm decor'd hotel in an efficient yet relaxed manner. She even went the extra mile to ensure (and without our knowledge) that we were expected and 'to look after us' at a restaurant we booked ourselves prior to our arrival, and the service we received was outstanding! Will definitely stay here again if ever in Cheltenham. Keep up the high standards!

Room Tip: Room 15 in the courtyard was perfect; quiet and secluded, felt like our own flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DnA_Chauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Curry Corner Restaurant is a new favorite restaurant of ours too and we are pleased that the staff looked after you so well. You are right, Room 15 in the courtyard is a lovely quiet room and definitely provides an extra bit of privacy. We loved having you both to stay so please stay again soon!

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here prior to attending the funeral of a relative. Found it through Late Rooms. Got an upgrade to a lovely spacious room with everything you could need. The hotel is family run. The reception was excellent and clear information provided about the hotel and directions to the town. Gluten and wheat free food was requested for my wife in advance. They catered for this including appropriate biscuits in the room. The breakfast was great. Lydia found out about the purpose of our visit and was gently sympathetic. Nice touch was the availability of umbrellas for customers - useful because it was raining when we went out for an evening meal. My wife left her purse in the room and Lydia phoned to let us know. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would certainly use it again in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 17 in the courtyard only one other room next door. Beautiful room / no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so pleased the although visiting Bath under sad circumstances you enjoyed your stay with us. Wherever possible we like to be able to upgrade our guests to Larger rooms and we are delighted that you found Room 17 in the courtyard spacious. We are pleased that we could cater for your gluten free diet and that you enjoyed the biscuits in the room! We hope that next time you visit Cheltenham the sun is shining and our umbrellas will not be needed! We are all looking forward to your next visit to the Wyastone.

Lydia Thwaites

Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I normally use another similar style hotel on my regular stays in Cheltenham, but fortunately for me that was full this week and I selected the Wyastone as it was listed on Late Rooms as available. What an excellent choice, from the time I rang the bell and was greeted by Lydia the owner who made you feel so welcome to a terrific nights sleep in an extremely comfortable and very large room to the service and gorgeous breakfast that awaited me in the morning. Will definitely be using this hotel again and will also use it for a weekend away with my wife, thank you Lydia and the Wyastone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRDSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We too are extremely pleased that you have discovered us and we have gained a guest! We are delighted to hear that you will be bringing your wife when you next visit Cheltenham for pleasure, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyastone.

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on Saturday night with my husband and son. Everything about the hotel was just brilliant, our room was spotless, spacious and very cosy. The girls on reception were just lovely and the service they gave us was the best we had experienced in a very long time, I hope the owners of the hotel recognise what a credit they are to the business. I only booked this hotel because the Hotel du Vin was full, now I would never stay anywhere else in Cheltenham, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stass2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us last weekend and thank you for your wonderful review. Tina, Grace and Holly our room assistants will all be delighted with your mention of your spotless room so thank you!
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I found this hotel to be clean and the staff very friendly, and when asked for advise as to restaurants etc also very knowlegeable. It is run by Lydia who keeps everything running smoothly and efficiently. If we return to Cheltenham for anything we will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: All seem good, during the summer try to get one overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyb114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyastoneOwner, Owner at The Wyastone, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and thank you for giving us feedback on the restaurants you ate at during your stay- we just need to find the time to go and try them for ourselves now! Delighted to hear that you will stay with us again if you find yourselves back in the Cotswolds.

Lydia Thwaites
Resident Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyastone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyastone

Property: The Wyastone
Address: Parabola Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wyastone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in a quiet, tree lined avenue in elegant Montpellier with its stylish restaurants and boutiques, The Wyastone is only ten minutes walk to the Promenade, High Street, The Everyman Theatre and Town Hall venues. •Spacious, Contemporary Accommodation•Stylish, Relaxing Ambiance•Award Winning Service•Convenient Central Location•Complimentary Parking and WIFI The Wyastone in Cheltenham has been classified by Visit Britain as a 5 star guest accommodation, with a silver award from Quality in Tourism. The spacious, individually decorated rooms combine period features with a contemporary decor to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance. Luxurious features in our 16 en-suite bedrooms include 32" Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary WIFI, superking size beds and a handmade four poster bed. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest at The Wyastone Cheltenham. Lydia Thwaites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Wyastone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing