We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed here at the weekend for one night as we were in Cheltenham for a pamper day. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff on the reception were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and spacious and had all the amenities we needed. The bathroom was clean, however the curtains in the bedroom were a little bit dirty.The decor was a bit quirky, we had a blue room with blue fluffy curtains which gave a nice calm, relaxing feel to the room.There was a good choice of food for breakfast, toast, croissants, cereal, pastries and also some fried food! We thought it was excellent value for money. The only down side is the check out time at 10.30am is a bit early and you have to pay an extra £10 if you want to stay a bit longer and check out at 12pm. However, the friendly guy on reception said we could leave our luggage in a secure room at the hotel whilst we wondered around Cheltenham for a couple of hours before catching our train home. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and facing away from the road would have less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Owner at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, March 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    250
    142
    65
    37
See reviews for
72
261
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had booked this hotel as a stopping off place on a long drive. It was easy to find - but getting down late from Scotland was a little disappointed to find on arrival that the car park at the hotel was full. But there was a good public car park nearby with plenty of space. On checking in was greeted by two lovely girls at reception... they certainly were most welcoming... and even told me how beautiful my wee dog was. He was staying with me and one reason I chose this hotel. On getting to my room I was very surprised to find just how spacious it was - it was also very clean and also nice and warm. The bathroom was just as spacious and I certainly enjoyed the shower. A nice central location and not too noisy either - even for a Saturday stop over. Even though my little dog was staying ... the room was fresh and did not smell of dogs. Good night sleep... and loved the Orla Kiery inspired breakfast room. As a vegetarian was happy enough with the food... and had toast with marmalade, cereal, yoghurt and two nice coffees.. and a boiled egg - it certainly set me up for the rest of my journey. I would happily stay here again... and I thought that is was certainly excellent value for money. If you are looking for a nice, slick no frills hotel to spend a few days in when in the Cheltenham area... you certainly should not rule out the Big Sleep... we all had a very pleasant stay. Well done to all the lovely staff who were all so cheery as well!

Room Tip: Was in a large room to the back on the fourth floor - was certainly fine by me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeBasilRathbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, March 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed one night in the suite with my Girlfriend and it was what we expected and more for what we paid :) lovely deep bath nice and big, a rain shower and a huge bed not so much of a view but it was nice and relaxing. breakfast was what you expect in a hotel cereal, fruit, pastry's etc and a pleasant reception

Room Tip: Suite all the way we also stayed in a budget room which is called a budget room for a reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, March 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The plus points here were a good location and the idea of this hotel is fine but it has really seen better days. If you are going for a "no frills but fun" approach then the place needs to be clean and fresh, but this place is seriously battered and my room was not very clean, unfortunately. Staff were OK, and there was a LOVELY guy on reception this morning but the rest of the staff look a bit depressed, and no wonder as the first impression as you walk in is grubby, grey and a bit down at heel. The windows in my room were filthy, chunks had been knocked out of the desk and the beds are flat and like a student dorm, and the vibe of this place is just slightly "rough". The ironing boards in the hallway are so burnt and knackered that I am amazed anyone would touch them, let alone iron a shirt on them. Breakfast is just about OK but very cheap and not cheerful, and the whole breakfast room needs a lick of paint. Sorry not to be able to post a more positive review, as this sort of place usually suits me just fine, but ultimately - YUCK! All this for £60 for a Monday night. Had it been £39.99 I might have been a bit kinder!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shughes1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, March 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheltenham hotels

bristol
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ok so to start off, I stayed here as a freebie after my disgusting stay at the Big Sleep, Cardiff. Had the executive suite by way as a sorry so can't really comment on the standard rooms. However.... It's clean, its fresh, the reception staff were polite and helpful, breakfast was basic but plenty there (toast, pastries, yoghurts, bacon, sausage etc etc) the staff continually cleaned the food areas and topped up. Position of the hotel is ideal. The room was spotless, showers hot, nice big towels (really really really if I want to be pathetic the windows needed cleaning and the free shower gel smells like your nan, and that's being unfairly picky) you get discount at a few eating places by showing your room card abd paperwork.
Would I stay there again, yes. I really can't believe this hotel is part of the same chain as the Cardiff hotel, the contrast is remarkable! It's a budget hotel while a quirky deco twist (our room was pink with flamingo wall paper) give it a go!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bristol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, March 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great hotel for the price , spotless spacious comfortable rooms, and very helpful staff. The breakfast was extremely good for a budget hotel and the hotel is very central. Within easy walking distance of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIRDSTAFFORDSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, March 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here as part of a hen party. It's fine for this purpose as the location is really good - it's right in the centre of town. 3 of us stayed in the family room which was huge. This comprised of a seperate dining table & chairs and a seperate sofa area and then a double bed & 2 bunk beds. On first glance it seems ok, but when you look closely it could benefit from a deep clean. Everything was quite shabby looking and knocked about. The cream sofas were well worn (wrong colour in a budget hotel) and the furry curtains (as many have mentioned before) are horrendous and none of us wanted to touch them. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and unfortunately we didn't get a great night's sleep. It's fine for the purpose of a hen party, but if I was staying here for any purpose I would be extremely disappointed. The breakfast offering was pretty poor looking so we didn't bother. Parking very limited so get there early. Extra charge for this which I think was £6 for 24 hours so not too bad. Public areas were quite clean and tidy, just bedrooms need major renovations. Staff were very pleasant which was a major plus point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAGGIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review, March 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing