We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit different, but does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Central location in the heart of all the beautiful buildings of Cheltenham, but on a quiet side road. The building is a former tax office, and has been 'retro-fitted' in more ways than one. The theme is 1960s in an Austin Powers kind of way, but very basic. The owner was a formica manufacturer I believe, so most surfaces are formica. My room was a large size and covered in powder blue formica. o.k. double bed, though a bit low and again, formica round the sides. Furry blue curtains were in keeping with the theme of the room. Ensuite had a bath and over-bath shower; no problems.

Breakfast was 8-10am at the weekend, served in a bright primary coloured area near the reception. Help yourself to continental and a limited cooked range. No problems.

I wouldn't recommend this for a romantic getaway, unless you wanted a retro vibe; might be good fun for a 60s themed stag or hen do. The corridors were a bit loud with people coming in and out though at night. My keycard stopped working because 'they get wiped if they get in contact with a mobile phone or a credit card'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTwydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 723 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a Budget Hotel, it says it clearly at the entrance. It is in the heart of the town and its cheap, so if you don't want a bit of noise or some lesser facilities try The Queens Hotel and pay 5 or 6 times more. Cannot understand why people stay at budget hotels then expect all the facilities etc of the Ritz. The furniture /decor is basically blue and white and stark but perfectly acceptable for most people, after all you are not staying in your room all day. Bathroom is spacious and clean, no lock on the door so whistle loudly if you do not want to be distubed. Breakfast pretty much standard hotel brekkie but bacon just as I like it ,I went back for more - twice actually - the eggs were hard boiled but at least I did'nt get fried egg on my shirt. The hotel as you may have guessed, is in the town centre, the staff are friendly, helpful and pleasant, the bar is basic but it serves drinks at reasonable prices, what else could you possibly want. Duiring our stay the llft gave up the ghost and we had to plod up the stairs but the reception offered to help us with our bags, but she who must be obeyed, said I needed the exercise so the offer was refused. One final point, the curtains were out of this world, blue woolly curtains, beleive me, you could,nt make it up. Please Big Sleep Hotel can you send me a pair, 72 inch drop 60 inch wide. This budget hotel really cuts the mustard.

Room Tip: Presuming the rooms are basically the same any roomn will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tilmorelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Its very modern with almost wacky interiors (powder blue fluffy curtains). The rooms are a good size. The breakfast is simple continental. It has on site parking, its in a very good position in the town centre. The most impressive thing about this hotel is the price, £50 per room makes this good value for money (even if the lifts didn’t work!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is in a very central part of cheltenham and although it is a budget hotel it was perfectly suitable for our needs.The room was clean and the bathroom was nice and spacious. I loved the blue furry curtains! The breakfast room was bright and cheerful wlth plenty of choice to eat. I would say the bacon was the best i've tasted in a long while. For the price we paid we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is ok, that's about it. My double room was £50 and that's probably about the right price. The hotel has a great location and on site parking - note, if you drive a 4x4 you will struggle to park it! The open space decor and room decor are bright but not what I would call contemporary or funky - think more play school. That's it, it's a bit like a seven year olds understanding of contemporary! I had an ok night sleep, ok breakfast, and it was cheap and cheerful - didn't expect any more for £50.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jameslewis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

One night here and was given a twin room. Beds small singles which as a tallish adult is not a lot of use to me - how many adults actually sleep in single beds nowadays?
Room very sparse and basic but I guess that reflects in the cheap price.
Very noisy from the street outside - sounded like a club kicking out about 4am not what you want from a business hotel
Menu for food includes pot noodles and frozen pizzas
The saviour was the unique furry curtains which made me smile
Probably great if you just need a base but if you need a good nights sleep and something to eat forget it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booking a budget hotel you always have a moment of trepidation when you open the door to the room, whereas at the Big Sleep i couldn't have been more pleased. I had been upgraded to a suite, the room decor was stylish and funky, it would have a cost a couple of hundred quid for a similar room in London. At £44 it was excellent value, and so central for Cheltenham's bars and restaurants. I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EHobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel)

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $51 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citrus Hotel Cheltenham is located in the Centre of Cheltenham. The hotel offers a choice of 59 bedrooms, 2 meeting rooms, and on-site Bar and Restaurant. We offer great value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home – whether you’re visiting us for business or leisure. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham prides itself on being simple and very modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone – from the businessman or overseas traveler to families looking for a well deserved short break. Check out our great value short break offers and promotions – available to book direct. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs, broadband access*, WiFi*, room safes, hairdryers, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. The Citrus Hotel, Cheltenham is dog-friendly and charges apply, please contact the hotel for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing