We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheltenham Races Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We got the last room in the hotel the weekend of Cheltenham Races - the price for the room had been bumped up considerably because of the high demand - £350 for a twin for two nights, with no refund if there was a change of plan. We had stayed at the hotel before and knew that the accommodation was largely fine, when we payed £200 for the same room in March, that seemed reasonable. What we got for the extra money was not something we were wanting - being kept awake for about 4 hours by very loud drunk Irish men who were swearing and cursing and literally falling against our door. When I told them to shut up they called me a very nasty name. The management did not do enough to sort the problem out, even though our room was about 3 doors from reception. Be warned!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 685Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 704 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Receptionist looked like he had been dragged off the street with breath that could strip wall paper. Hotel is worn and grubby with high noise levels from outside (single glazing not good for a city centre hotel) and ill fitting thin doors to the rooms which also let light in from the corridors. bed uncomfortable with ripped bedding. Nasty breakfast consisting standard cereals, toast concentrated juice but also stale danish and bad coffee with an option of dry looking sausage and bacon which not suprisingly I passed on. parking a car cost extra and if you have a large car you must park down an unlit, unsecure back street. Avoid.

Room Tip: if you want a good room choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your liking and that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during the Festival and so it was very busy. The best part of the hotel was the staff who were uniformly friendly, helpful and positive. It is a shame though that the hotel is so shabby - clearly past its best in terms of decor. The TV in my room didn't work very well, the ornamental bed drape was grubby and the bathroom needed a good scrub. Breakfast was very basic, but plentiful. Also, I was staying alone and didn't like walking back late at night - the hotel is on a road that is definitely not Cheltenham's chicest! I would stay again, but I'd pack wetwipes!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in here in one of the suites, which was nice and spacious having plenty of room to relax without sitting on the bed. Bathroom was a good size. Was a very clean and modern hotel with nice decor.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful.
Only 2 downsides to this hotel were that the parking was limited and some drunken idiot set off the fire alarm.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattandgemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham.
We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed her for two nights Oct 2012 in a twin ensuite room. Very easy to find ideal location 2 mins walk to shops etc. Great safe secure car park(small and fee payable). Room was very clean and yes, you did think you might be in ikea with the decor but it is a budget hotel so if you want 5star......... Bed was very comfortable, plenty of hot water etc. LOVED the wacky curtains!!! Breakfast was very basic, but plenty of it. Read lots of reviews about this hotel before staying here and was very sceptical about staying here but need not have worried. Overall was clean tidy good value and great location.Would use again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The one way system inot th hotel is a bit confusing as is the proces for getting inot the care park. Ther is limited parking and for which there is a charge - but I was allowed to park a motorbike in the car park for free - thank you.The rooms are clean and basic - it has all you need but no luxuary - but it does represent good value for money given the location.

Breakfast was surprisingly good and varied - soemthing I was not expecting at these prices.

The jotel follwoed up my visit with an e-mail to me and several other guests with all our e-mail addresses availabler to access. This is stupid as it willonly serve to increase the amount of junk mail I recieve - thanks so much Big Sleep!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked 3 rooms here for a hen weekend and it was just the job. We had the family suites which were ideal for groups as they have a fridge and sofas as well as massive bathrooms - all perfect for getting ready for a night out. The central location was a real boon and the price was right for the occasion. I quite liked the funky decor (although the furry curtains wouldn't be my choice!) and everything was spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful (much better than in the Cardiff branch!). Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but at the price it's nice to have anything provided! The hotel have deals where you can get discounts at local restaurants which we took advantage of which is a nice bonus. Can't really find anything bad to say, don't go expecting 5* service and facilities but for the price it does everything you want it to and has more personality than your common or garden Travel Inn Lodge places....

Room Tip: Family suites great for groups of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
681 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Address: Wellington Street, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $55 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing