We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our third stay and as always a good one, having asked for a larger bed we were pleased to be given one, and very comfortable it was too. The breakfast choice is not extensive but more than adequate and enjoyable. Since our first stay some three years ago work has been carried out to the hotel and on the whole a good job has been made of it. I would recommend this hotel for a number of reasons one of which is having plenty of parking, another is its situation regards ease of walking into the town center as well as the obvious reasons of cleanliness, nice food, plus good service all at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Lower ground floor has newer freshly decorated rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Cotswold Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 493 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a fine old building which seems at one time to have been converted into a hotel. It looks like it has recently undergone a re-vamp and personally, I feel its such a shame that the bold use of dark colours around the place doesn't work. the bar in particular has dark purple and greys and isn't a very relaxing place to be. the room was at best average as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed one night here for our anniversary. Excellent little hotel, immaculately presented and nice decor. Great staff, very polite and helpful. The hotel provided a very nice cooked to order breakfast and had it's own small bar. Bedroom was spacious and well equipped, but we found the bed a little too soft! Overall, very nice and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Cotswold Grange Hotel (though I thought it more of a nice B&B) for one night. The Hotel looks very pretty from the outside and it's walking distance to the town centre. We ate out in the evening so I can't comment on the evening meal. The room was very nicely decorated but I thought the bathroom a little dated (the paneling behind the toilet/basin looked old fashioned), I didn't really mind though as the room was warm and the bed was comfortable. We found the breakfast was nice, cooked to order and served fairly quickly. Check in and out was easy enough and the staff were very polite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet location but only 10 minutes or so walk from the town centre (you'll need to get a taxi if arriving at the railway station). Our room was fine on the second floor. A bonus was the extra adjoining area which we used for extra storage.

Bathroom was of a sufficient size and has a nice, push button shower that wouldn't be out of place in larger establishments. There seemed to be a lack of hot water in the sink but this had resolved itself by the last morning.

The food was very good with an excellent fish and chips amonst other things on the dinner menu. A small but nice cold breakfat buffet was accompanied by hot dishes including eggs etc cooked to order and very quickly. The bar was also nice to sit in during the evening.

Be aware the hotel is a conversion of a Victorian villa so unfortunately there is no lift and to the second floor it must be 30-40 stairs though it didn't bother us. The owners and other staff we met were friendly and welcoming throughout.

Recommended overall and very good value for the winter package rate we managed to get which included two breakfasts and one dinner.

Room Tip: Be aware many rooms have a master switch for the TV on the light switch above the bed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfromessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I deliberated between staying here and some of the other generic chain travel hotels, as I was only staying for one night. In the end I was glad I made my choice to stay here.

The place was clean, tidy, staff friendly, breakfast was good. Free wifi, all mod cons. Comfortable bed, TV, tea making facilities. Decor was a little 70's in places but It added charm and character to the place.

I'd recommend staying here above the other hotels in this price bracket.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diabl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good location within walking distance to town centre, good sized comfortable room clean decor could be updated (refurbishment on first floor during our stay) we were on the second floor. This is an excellent building and when the refurbishment is complete will be hard to beat. Dining room very impressive and all staff were very friendly and helpful. Food selection was limited however standard was excellent. Good selection at breakfast made a good start to the day. Three night business stay in a relaxed comfortable environment thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_watson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: $106 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing