We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Cheltenham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time in Cheltenham”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

stayed at Cheltenham's Premier Inn as a good centre for exploring gardens and National Trust properties in the area. Good standard of hotel and good value for money. Much better than similar Travelodge experiences where a tiny extra such as a bathmat would make all the difference.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisN996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We are delighted you have shared such a positive review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to see you here at Premier Inn again to explore more of the Cotswolds.
Kind Regards
Justyna Jablonska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    259
    112
    29
    13
See reviews for
153
247
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Brilliant hotel,friendly staff, hotel room clean,quiet and bed was so comfortable, will definitely be staying again. So close to Cheltenham town you can walk. The TGI Fridays attached is the best, loved it all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are thrilled to hear you had such and excellent stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are all so proud of our site and it means a lot knowing we are getting it right for our guests! We hope you stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a pleasant Hotel but be warned the trains which go past can keep you awake at night.The staff were very nice and polite so were the staff at TGI Fridays where you have breakfast but they seem to be a bit slow and dont keep up with refilling the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkosteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I apologise for the disappointment caused by the noise from the trains. We try to ensure all our guests are aware of our location and this is under “Important Information” on our web site. We have triple glazing to minimise noise but I do understand this is not always sufficient. Quiet rooms can be requested by phoning us prior to arrival. I also apologise for your breakfast experience. I will pass your comments on to the Manager at TGI Fridays so we can address the issues you raised. I do hope this experience has not put you off choosing Premier Inn in the future
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

On arrival met by reception staff who were very friendly, room very clean and tidy, hotel was also very clean no problems with the room other than you could hear the noise from the trains during the night, but not excessively loud. Although pricey for what should be a budget hotel, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. The housekeeping and reception team will be happy to hear the positive comments regarding their service standards. We are all very proud of our site and its great to know you will stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This Hotel was perfect for our visit to Cheltenham. It was easily found and had plenty of free parking. The welcome was happy and informative. The room was very clean and I loved the huge flat screen TV on the wall! There was 30 mins free Wi-Fi. The bed was very cosy and firm. There was an extra bed already made up for my daughter (family room).
I cannot fault this hotel.
Also we booked the all you can eat breakfast which was served in TGI Fridays next door, with a great spread of continental, or you could pay li8ttle extra for the cooked breakfast to go with it! Kids eat free too :-)

Room Tip: this hotel is in the town so what ever room you have its not going to have any amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tray1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are delighted you have shared such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed on a Friday night, when visiting friends in the area. Despite the company's description of it, the Premier Inn is not really very central - over 20 minutes' walk to Montpellier and the town centre. It is a pleasant, uncomplicated, walk, though. The hotel receptionist (possibly Mark?) was exceptionally helpful. I hope that Premier Inn knows how valuable people like him are to the business. The room was the usual Premier Inn standard. In early April, we were fine, but the presence of two fans in the room suggested that it might well be a bit warm later in the year. The room was at the back and it overlooked the railway, but, the trains were not particularly noisy. Our room was an even-numbered one on the second floor. The odd numbers seemed to face the front of the hotel, so you might bear that in mind when you check in. Breakfast next morning, at the adjacent TGI Friday, was fine, but not exceptional. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the railway at the back of the hotel, ask about the position of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. I can assure you that Mark is recognised as an outstanding team member and I am pleased to be able to tell you we are having air conditioning installed over the next couple of weeks. We hope you continue to use Premier Inn and you do return and stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel's a half hour walk from the bus station which is bearable enough, though it's just off the A40 so no doubt easier for cars! The rooms are clean and modern & the staff very friendly :) One happy customer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PremierInnCC, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We are pleased you are a happy customer! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Justyna Rech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
1.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
1.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing