We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who could ask for anything more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who could ask for anything more.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent customer service from all staff, nothing was too much trouble. Big car park with lots of spaces. Easy check in where staff gave lots of information regarding buses and taxis, where to eat and details of breakfast service at nearby TGI Friday's. Room was usual Premiere Inn space but well maintained,clean and had all we needed.The only suggestion for improvement I could make would be to have some bench seating outside under the reception canopy for people to use when awaiting taxis. We will use this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRUMMIEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Its great to hear you will be staying with us again next year. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you had such a good stay with us and appreciate the feedback you have given.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    255
    112
    29
    13
See reviews for
150
244
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

To call this 'Cheltenham Central' is in itself misleading; it's a good 25 minute walk to the centre.
We had an even numbered bedroom which unfortunately meant we were at the back of the hotel and the main railway line must only be 10 feet away. We spent an hour in the room between 4 and 5 and trains were going past at roughly one every 7 minutes. We went to reception to ask to be moved and were told this wasn't possible but that the station closed at 11 and there would only be freight trains through the night.
They weren't joking!
The room was so warm we couldn't possibly have not had the window open but this meant we had a very disturbed night.
The hotel was clean and the staff were fine but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spareroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel to be very well run. Check in/out was quick and easy. The room was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. The heating control didn't seem to work so the first night I was roasting but the next night it seemed a lot better. There was no noise from neighbouring rooms - it was so quiet - not even the sound of a shower running. I was disappointed with the limited wifi though - but otherwise, the hotel is well placed for the railway station and access to the town centre. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berengaria_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The housekeeping team are pleased to get such positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of the room as they work extremely hard to ensure high standards. Thank you for your feedback, we hope you visit us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night whilst attending a wedding. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. I had a room at the back and did not find the odd train a problem. The Hotel was conveniantley situated for both the train station and the town. I definatley would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Its great to hear that you had a good night sleep while you stayed for the wedding and we are thrilled to hear that you will stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night during the literature festival in a family room, due to previous reviews I requested a front facing room which was accommodated. The room was fine all as per the usual good premier inn standards albeit a little warm, the two fans in the room a testament to how warm it can get. Reception staff neither friendly nor unfriendly & breakfast at TGI was ok though the cooked food somewhat disappointing, the continental breakfast option would be sufficient. The hotel is set back from the busy road so traffic noise not an issue but its a good 25 minute walk into Cheltenham. We opted to drive in and park on the long stay at Shelbourne Place for £5.50 all day. All in all an okay stay but it is definitely not central

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank emmac1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us while visiting for the Literature Festival. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope you choose to stay with us again for next year’s festival.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family. Nice and comfy. Close to Cheltenham and Tewkesbury. Rooms are clean and comfy- very warm though even without heating. Tgi breakfast not that good but well priced if you get free kids meals

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a good stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night Friday 3oth August at the bargain price of £25! This is the 3rd or 4th time we have been to this Premier Inn. We love it because it is always spotless clean, the Staff are friendly and Cheltenham is a lovely town to visit! Its not exactly "Central" to the town, about a 25 minute walk if the weather is ok, but there is a Bus you can catch from the stop 5 minutes up the road.
Yes, the room was very warm, had to have the fans on all through the night, it didnt particularly bother us, I can see why it can annoy some people, though.
We also request a top floor room, not the railway line side and normally get a room that we want.
Always enjoy our stays here.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room, overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind, positive comments which I will pass on to the team. We are delighted you always have an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Sue Hughes
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
1.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
1.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing