We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I always love staying at a Premier Inn as I haven't been disappointed by one so far. The staff are nice and the rooms are as always nice clean and spacious. The only thing that I would say is that while fans were provided due to the hot weather the room would have benefited a lot more from having an air conditioner as although I slept well enough it was maybe still a bit too warm and the fans only alleviated it a little. Otherwise nothing wrong at all.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel face the railway.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We really appreciate all feedback as we continue to evaluate our standards and we are looking into additional methods in room temperature controls. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 672 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in the Premier Cheltenham Central hotel and we were not disappointed. The receptionist was very welcoming, the room was very nicely furnished and everything was clean.

We had extremely warm weather (around 30 degrees), so the hotel staff were thoughtful to leave two fans in our room. However, the room was still very warm (not the hotel's fault!)

We had breakfast (at TGI Fridays) twice: the first occasion was fantastic- excellent service and a great selection. On the second morning it was a completely different story- service was not good, staff seemed disinterested and a bad selection of continental breakfast- such a different experience.

We would recommend this hotel if you want a low price, good quality hotel near the centre of Cheltenham although around 3 miles away- we got a taxi into the centre at night (£6). There is plenty of free parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviews4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. The housekeeping and reception team will be happy to hear the positive comments regarding their service standards. I apologise that TGI Fridays was not up to their normal standard. I will pass your comments on to the Manager so we can address the issues you raised. We at Premier Inn are always evaluating our standards and additional methods in room temperature controls are being looked at as we have struggled with the heat recently. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in the Premier Cheltenham Central hotel and we were not disappointed. The receptionist was very welcoming, the room was very nicely furnished and everything was clean. We booked in advance and only paid £29 for the night's stay. We have stayed in several other Premier hotels around the country and have always been very happy with the quality of the rooms.

On this occasion (21 July 2013) we had extremely warm weather, so the hotel staff were thoughtful enough to leave two fans in our room. However, the room was still very warm and we ended up leaving the fans on all night.

We didn't have breakfast at this hotel as we had an early start but at other Premier hotels the breakfasts have always been on a high standard.

We would recommend this hotel if you want a low price, good quality hotel near the centre of Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewanddona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We do have procedures in place to help fight the heat, but unfortunately, it has become harder for us recently with the weather so extreme. Howevere we are glad that you were still able to enjoy your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel has no air conditioning 2 electric fans just moved the hot air around the rooms. Temperature was mostly 29.5 day and night. Window would only open a few inches for safety reasons. They need free-standing air con units for extreme heat such as this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I apologise that you found the room to be to hot. We are constantly evaluating our heating and cooling systems, which are in place, and your feedback really helps. We hope this experience hasn’t put you off choosing Premier Inn in the future.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel doesn't have air con but staff immediately put me into a ground floor room that was much cooler. Room was very clean and comfortable. Yes it's close to a train line but I didn't really hear the trains.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justincdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and found the staff very helpful.
The restaurant next door for dinner and breakfast was TGI Friday which was ok.
The hotel was just what you'd expect from a premier inn and was clean and had a lovely big TV screen, it was quite a treat. Usually with premier inn being a lone female traveler you are never placed on the ground floor but in this premier inn I was. I didn't mind but it was a little odd. All in all it is what you expect from a premier inn. The only down side was the train track but there was triple glazing to eliminate this and a fan in case the room is hot with the window shut.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We do try to allocate lone females rooms upstairs but this is not always possible. We are extremely happy to hear that we lived up to your expectations of a Premier Inn and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Arrived very late at night with my 9 month old baby for a stopover on a 400 mile journey. I was wondering quite how I was going to get the bags, travel cot and baby into the room all in one go when one of the reception staff came out to the car. He was really helpful and friendly, and took all my bags to the room for me. Just a nice surprise as you don't expect that level of service when you have only paid approx £35 for the room (got a cheap room rate online), I have stayed at much more expensive places and only recieved a grunt from the receptionist!!
The room was very clean and comfortable, the only small downside was the noise from the service road outside my window where vans seemed to be coming and going throughout the night. Most of the year this wouldnt be a problem though and it just happened to be quite a warm night so I had the window open. It wasnt loud enough to wake baby up though! It was easy to find and despite it's central title it wasnt far from the motorway at all. All in all though excellent service for the price paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are really pleased that your stay with us was a great one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $64 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing