We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Value, nice room”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were helping relatives to get their house ready to move in to. We just needed somewhere to sleep with none of the trimmings, this was just the job. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with all that you need, the drinks tray was kept well supplied.

Breakfast is taken in the TGI Friday’s that shares the site. We paid for the full English option and had a thoroughly good breakfast on each day. There is the usually cereal, croissant, toast and drinks etc served buffet style – this makes up the “continental” breakfast option. With the Full breakfast the cooked component is served to order thus eliminating the age old problem of lukewarm food. The service was swift, portions were as big as you liked and, when I forgot to order my portion of scrambled egg a nearly full plate appeared shortly later. On the first morning my bacon was crispier than I liked, second day I asked for lighter cooked bacon, which was duly supplied. Great Value.

The car park is shared with the adjacent TGI Friday’s and can be crowded. We were at the front of the building and heard no sign of trains.

The wifi is only free for a short time before being chargeable, when I tried the connection was quite slow, so I used my 3G hotspot device instead and got an excellent connection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MercOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. The team at TGI Fridays are extremely pleased you have shared your comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    259
    112
    29
    13
See reviews for
153
247
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lillebonne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Easy to find even if the location is not exactly as Central as its name could indicate. Excellent budget hotel with a high standart as in other Premier Inn I have tried. Staff very helpfull.
Breakfast not served at the hotel but in a close TGI Fridays restaurant on the other side of the parking ; not really a problem except on a wet morning. However breakfast of an excellent quality : buffet and cooked at a reasonnable price. Very valuable for the money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a great one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This Premier Inn is not quite central to the town centre but busses run from outside the hotel regularly around every 10 mins. It takes around 25 mins to walk into the centre which is around one and a half miles away. lt was ideal for the Cheltenham Food Festival. The breakfast was lovely even though we had to wait for porridge as the staff were under pressure which wasn't an issue. The rooms were spotless as is usual for Premier Inn and the railway at the back of the hotel wasn't a problem at all due to the good standard of double glazing. All in all a lovely hotel and there are some lovely restaurants in the town if TGI is not your thing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
It’s lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable experience when you stayed with us for the Cheltenham Food Festival. Thank you for sharing your experience. I have passed on your comments to our breakfast team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A little bit daunted after booking to find out it was next to a railway line. With triple glazing, nothing to worry about. Staff very friendly and helpful. In a good location for 2 concerts I was going to. One in Gloucester and one at the Racecourse. Both were in minutes of the hotel.
Not a keen TGI Fridays person, but the breakfasts were one of the best I have had staying at a Premier Inn. The 2 night stay were faultless

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macewan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay while attending the concerts in the area. Our breakfast team are also extremely happy with your comments. We hope you will stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Premier Inn Cheltenham goes above and beyond what I would usually expect from budget hotels. Apart from being clean with cheap wifi and a very hearty breakfast it is manned by warm and welcoming staff who are very willing to help. Mark in particular, who welcomed us at reception, practically fell over himself to answer our questions and give us advice. He gave us a restaurant guide with some vouchers to we did not eat in TGI Fridays but did have breakfast there twice and it really is all you can eat with a decent selection.

The hotel is about five minutes' walk from the station and close to a bus stop, but we walked over to Imperial Square (we were in Cheltenham for the science festival) and this barely took us half an hour - very pleasant walk too!

Overall, if you're in Cheltenham on a budget this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I heard someone complaining about noise at the reception; we overlooked the car park and were undist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBlunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to have such positive feedback and Mark will be extremely pleased with comments you have shared. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have just stayed for a week at this hotel. Absolutely NOTHING to grumble about. Sparkling clean and exceptionally helpful staff. Before I decided to come here, some comments in these reviews about noise from train station made me rather hesitant and apprehensive. We can now say that we had a perfect stay without any traces of uncomfortable noises. The hotel lives up to its motto: a good night sleep is guaranteed! Prosit and keep it up!

George Falzon (Malta)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falzongeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are delighted you have shared such positive feedback, thank you. The whole team will be happy to hear the positive comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Middlesex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for one Friday night with two friends before a rail tour the next day. Being an easy short walk to the railway station, it met that objective instnatly. Comfortable, clean spacious rooms with all the basic facilities. I found the bed extremely comfortable. The two members of staff we met were extremely professional and friendly - top rating there. With a very early start in the morning, we did not sample breakfast. For convenience we did eat in the next door TGI Fridays for dinner. While the food was OK and fair value, it was extremely noisy. However, it was obviously popular.

Difficult to rate. As a part of a budget hotel chain, it met my expectations and exceeded them a bit, So, I recommend it. For a similar purpose in future, I would not hesitate to stay there again - but I'd probably go a bit further away to eat dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMCHarrow_Middlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while attending a rail tour. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager
Cheltenham Central Premier Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham North West
1.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
1.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing