We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting our son. The room was very clean - standard Premier Inn decor but well maintained - and bathroom similarly clean - no chipped tiles or mould. There was a good selection of channels on the TV and for £3 you could get wifi for 24 hours. Staff were pleasant in the brief dealings we had with them - the young man who checked us in was very pleasant and efficient. We had no problems with noise and the hotel was within a short walking distance (15-20 mins) of Cheltenham itself. We would not hesitate to go back again.

We didn't have the breakfast at TGI Fridays next door - it didn't appeal

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. We are really pleased that your stay with us was a great one and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 672 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

As expected, the check-in was welcoming and the room extremely clean and comfortable. Despite being adjacent to the railway line, train noise was not unbearable but for the light sleeper, you may wish to have a room away from that side of the hotel. Breakfast was provided by TGIF's and we arrived at 8:00 am, midway through the published time. It was disappointing to find that the fruit salad had not been restocked and that they could not provide fresh supplies. After explaining that the menu offered little for someone who had a glutten intolerance, a fresh fruit salad was produced - clearly, they had fresh supplies but were rationing what was on offer. That apart, the breakfast was very pleasant. It would be nice to see more cheerful housekeeping staff but the reception staff were on the ball.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. I apologise that breakfast at TGI Fridays was not up to the usual Premier Inn standard. We are working together to ensure all guests get the great service that Premier Inn promotes and I am sorry on this occasion we let you down. I hope this does not deter you from choosing to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on 31st Nov & 1st Dec, very friendly staff and a good sized clean room. We were situated at the back of the hotel backing onto the train track but the noise was not disturbing. Breakfast at TGI's was good but felt it was a little overpriced if you dont want the full works. The hotel is only a short distance from Cheltenham by taxi and the whole weekend was very joyable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmudgerSJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Cheltenham Central Premier Inn and that you received the excellent service that we are committed to giving all our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked a few months ago at a good rate,nice clean hotel with good parking.About 5mins taxi ride in to cheltenham.Rooms where large and clean,could hear the trains rumbling by but nothing to disturb us.Didnt eat at tgi fridays because there is loads of nice bars and places to eat in cheltenham.Would stay here again if visiting the area

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you chose to stay with us at Cheltenham Central Premier Inn and think highly of the rooms and the hotel. Cheltenham has a lot to offer and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The rooms have been refurbished since I last visited, so this means new bathrooms and superb 37" (or 42" - they're wall mounted and huge) Samsung HD TVs.

The location is a bit out of the way - it's about a mile walk into town, but it's a pleasant walk along a tree-lined street with large Georgian-style houses.

I didn't try the breakfast, or go for a drink in the evening, as the associated place is a TGI Fridays, rather than a pub. It's always noisy in there..

Friendly staff, quiet rooms (no noise from trains or other guests) and usual comfy bed. £19 well-spent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pspr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Cheltenham Central Premier inn. The hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment and we are glad you think highly of our rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at the premier Inn Cheltenham for a business trip and it more than met my needs. It is close the the train station, the room was clean and comfortable and wifi is free for the first 30 mins. The girl on the front desk was very friendly and informative. I find the premier inn to be very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Cheltenham Central Premier inn. We are committed in giving all our guests the best possible service. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Usual high standard for cleanliness at PIs. Efficient and friendly check in/out. Not exactly in the centre of town; taxis a standard £6.00 fare into town. FABULOUS shopping venue. I met up with 2 schoolfriends for a shopping/ theatre trip. Had a great time. TGI Friday's next door. No bar in the PI itself and TGI does not open until 12.00. The receptionist made me a coffee while waiting for my friends to arrive!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaqsMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNewman_12, Manager at Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you chose to stay with us at Cheltenham Central Premier inn. We hope to welcome you back again in the future for another shopping trip.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Newman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
619 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel

Address: 374 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#8 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $64 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Cotswolds from this prime position in the heart of Cheltenham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing