We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay At The Battledown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toyota, Japan
1 review
“Wonderful Stay At The Battledown”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 consecutive nights, which was really good decision for us. The room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Simon and Sarah were kind and a great help advising us for everything, such as a very good fish & chips restaurant and where to go in the town. Their breakfast was really delicious. We tried almost all menu! Their home made jams
are also good. We enjoyed especially sitting on the chairs and chatting in the beautiful garden. The Battledown made our first visit to the UK a wonderful memory. I highly recommend this B&B to my Japanese friends, too. We really hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden, which we enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiroko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
344
44
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
derbys
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great time here this weekend. The house and welcome far exceeded our expectations and we felt able to relax and wind down a little. The garden is beautiful for a bottle of wine in the evening sun. Try it. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved Room 3 as we could enter direct from the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Simon and Sarah at the Battledown are the most gracious and attentive of hosts in a gorgeous, private, and quiet property perfectly situated to explore the Cotswolds. We very much appreciated their recommendations for local food and drink, plus the beautiful backyard garden. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZephyrFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Couldn't have had a better stay at The Battledown. We stayed for 1 night. Sarah was so friendly and helpful upon our arrival. Helped us find a great place to eat that night and great suggestions for our trip the next day. Location seemed fine. It was pouring rain so we didn't walk/explore Cheltenham, but there was lots of parking. Our room was very clean and well decorated with free WiFi and a DVD player which we took advantage of that night. (DVD's in the Lobby). They even had slippers and hot water bottles for cold nights! We had a choice of 4 or 5 items available for breakfast (What B&B does that!?!) which was made fresh and tasted great! So good in fact that we took some of the homemade jam and marmalade back to Canada. Great stay, would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Simon and Sarah know how to make guests comfortable in their B&B and do so to the highest level! After a rushed trip from Australia to get to my ill father, The Battledown was chosen as it was the closest and best priced B&B which was closest to the Cheltenham Hospital where my father was. Well having no idea what to expect I was most pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I was impressed with the accommodation and amenities provided. I was most impressed by the level of genuine care provided by Simon and Sarah as well during my months stay. The Breakfasts are fantastic and the B&B is nicely located within easy reach of the Cotswolds and surrounds. My father also enjoyed and appreciated his stay at The Battledown once he was released from Hospital and he is greatfull for the service that was provided by Simon and Sarah over a three week recovery period. Thank you again for making our stay at The Battledown a very comfortable and memorable one. :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Grenville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in craven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Right from the onset, Sarah and Simon were very welcoming; both on the phone, to confirm arrival times, to the warm welcome entering this very clean and tidy establishment.
The atmosphere that was presented by the decor was very comfortable and stylish.
The rooms were very clean, precise and of a good size.
Wi-Fi was fast and free.
The grounds and garden are well kept.
Parking for cars at the rear is safe.
Breakfast was very nice (try their cooked full Battledown version of full English).
Very charming and well worth picking out as first choice in Cheltenham.
Local shops just 4 minutes down the road and a nice pub (Hewlett) in another 3 minutes too.
I am glad we stayed and made this our first choice! (We will do so again).

Room Tip: Very quiet in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samohung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Battledown on 17th and 18th May. The accommodation was perfect, bedroom was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly need. We had a friendly welcome and both Sarah and Simon had a lot of information about places to visit and where to eat. Lovely breakfast with homemade jams and marmalades which was a nice touch. Also, only a 20 minute walk into Cheltenham which just happened to pass by the newly opened Ale House which was a nice place to stop off for a spot of real ale. A lovely weekend at a beautiful bed and breakfast with a very personal touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resmith101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
538 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 68 in Cheltenham
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ravenhurst Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battledown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battledown Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 125 Hales Road, Cheltenham GL52 6ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battledown Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon, Sarah and their daughter Isabella welcome you to their home, The Battledown, a Grade II listed French colonial style villa built in 1855. We are conveniently located for all of Cheltenham's events, the Cotswolds and the town centre which is approximately 1 mile away. All of our bedrooms have comfortable beds with 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and en suite shower rooms stocked with fluffy towels. All bedrooms have a flatscreen TV, DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities (with fresh milk available) and a hairdryer. We provide free WIFI throughout our home and free parking is available in our private car park. Our home has a beautiful walled garden with patios which guests are welcome to use. The Battledown has been accredited 4 stars by the AA, has won their prestigious breakfast award and is the WINNER of the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Battledown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing