We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Charlton Kings Hotel(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaumont House(Cheltenham)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
$73
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
$70
$63
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
$165
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
191
10
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
10
1
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 206 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A perfect way to experience the Cotswolds! Vivien was a lovely host and made our short stay very enjoyable. She has put a great deal of care into the property both inside and out. The rooms have the touches of a upscale boutique hotel, yet the house maintains traditional old English charm throughout. She had an excellent recommendation for dinner at the Wheatsheaf in Northleach! The full English breakfast was fantastic ... be sure to try the homemade jams! We hope to be back again one day

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I were heading to a wedding in nearby Bilby and due to an error when we booked our hotel we were unable to stay at the place we'd researched.
The bride and groom recommended that we check out Yew Tree cottage as they'd stayed there previously and really liked it.
I wasn't to sure of what to expect, but when we arrived at the cottage I was pleasantly surprised. We were greeted on arrival by Vivian who owns the property she was very friendly and as you'd expect extremely knowledgeable about the local area.
The room we stayed in had a very traditionally cottage feel, but it also had a modern edge to it which included a flat panel TV and Freeview.
A breakfast was provided each morning of mixed fruit, cereal and a full English which was of a very high quality. Lunch is also available but it comes at an extra cost and to be honest it's probably worth doing some exploring as there's a variety of pubs and restaurants scattered around if you're prepared to have a look.
All in all I would say this is a lovely place to have as your base if you're planning a stay in the Cotwolds.

Room Tip: Only one of the two rooms has ensuite facilities so if its an issue for you make sure you request that room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DESd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was heading to a wedding outside of Northleach for the weekend, and was very excited to stay at this highly rated B&B. Due to the small size of Northleach, and a local wedding, I booked ahead so that would have a place to sleep! The day before the wedding I received an email stating that my reservation was cancelled with no explanation or reason why. Just cancelled. Needless to say there were absolutely no rooms left in the area for a last minute booking. We will now be sleeping in our car. Awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The spacious Beamed Room is set in the oldest part of the house and gave us a feeling of stepping back in time. The deep window seat was perfect for reading. Our view was edged by a honeysuckle vine that had been trained up the side of the house, the front garden, a road, and church property beyond. (Traffic was too light to be troublesome.) Modern comforts included a flat screen TV, DVDs, lots of books, and tea things.

The bathroom, across the hall, was large with a deep soaking tub, and an optional hand held shower head.

Rain did dampen our stay, but not our spirit of adventure… We took pretty walks along the marked public pathways that led through nearby farmlands. In the end, however, we very were fortunate that Vivien took pity on us. My husband had rinsed off the mud from our shoes, outside. But, we might have had wet (useless) shoes for the rest of the trip. Vivien invited us to dry our soaked shoes beside her Aga, and by the late afternoon they were dry and warm.

I had hoped to walk to the nearby town of Northleach for dinner, but it wasn’t practical. Again, Vivien came to our rescue by offering the number for a local taxi company – who charged 20£ roundtrip for the two of us. Dinner at the Whitesheaf (reservations recommended) in Northleach was lovely. The following day, we craved something light and casual, so we visited a few stores and cobbled together an al fresco dinner. Vivien very kindly laid the kitchen table for us, and we in turn were delighted when we were able to coax her into sharing our dinner.

Homemade jams, stewed fruit, and “Full English” breakfasts by Vivien were always very good. There was something heavenly about her Aga-cooked mushrooms.

Highlights of our drives and walks a bit further away from our Yew Tree Cottage home base included a riverside walk between Lower and Upper Slaughters, and lunch at the Trout Inn, in Lower Wolvercote, just next to the river Thames.

Room Tip: The pretty Gabled Room has an en-suite bathroom. The Beamed Room is spacious and full of character with atmospheric beamed ceilings and cozy window seating.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonposset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent three nights at Yew Tree Cottage Turkdean earlier this week (June 2012) . I would unreservedly echo the compliments of other recent guests. Vivien was welcoming and a very considerate and warm host. (For example, we did not have to ask to have the heating put on when returning at the end of a cold and wet English summer day. Vivien was always very mindful of the comforts of her guests.) The house is a quintessential English cottage located in a pretty and very quiet little village. It has been beautifully restored and and all the rooms are decorated and provisioned to a very high standard of comfort. Breakfast was excellent with Vivien's home-grown fruit on offer along with a wide range of menu choices. All food served was of the highest quality.

It is situated in a very attractive area of the Cotswolds. However, Turkdean is a little isolated so expect to have to drive to local pubs or restaurants which are numerous and of high quality.

We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years. We would rate Yew Tree Cottage as one of the very best B&B we have ever visited in England. Reading the other reviews, Vivien thoroughly deserves all the plaudits that she has been given.

Room Tip: One of the two rooms is en suite
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonCMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews